We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Recent stay for one night. Everything went smoothly, especially the incredible young lady at the front desk, Himani. She was a multi-tasking wizard (wizardess?), who went way beyond the call of duty, filling us in on all pertinent info, even as she was helping someone else to check in. Also helped us locate a nearby pharmacy....just wonderful, super-friendly service!

We ate a late dinner after check-in and lunch the next day at the hotel restaurant, being pleasantly surprised that it was open until 10 pm, which saved the day. The atmosphere was excellent, service and food very good, especially the Cajun Gumbo soup that had the right amount of spiciness, plus nice pieces of sausage and shrimp.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Rest assured i will share your comments with our team

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    72
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
49
38
24
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week end of April beginning May. Positives - rooms clean and decent size, courtesy bus drivers great, cleaning staff and some reception staff helpful. Negatives - some reception staff and waiting staff quite miserable and very slow service. Gym machines fairly poor and in need of maintenance. Food quality/variety at breakfast and dinner poor and service v slow. Advertises open at lunch for food but twice we went for lunch and were told lunch not being served. Likewise bar only opened at 4 30pm and if quiet at night would close early. If you are staying for couple days for visit to DC fine, if staying for longer and wanting facilities and good service find somewhere else. More geared up for business stop overs and conferences, not a holiday hotel at all. No atmosphere or ambience in dining/bar area, more like a large waiting/reception area.overall for a first visit to USA very disappointed with hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We rely on our guests, to know how we are doing and how we can better meet their needs.

We at Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville aim to consistently achieve highest level of Guest satisfaction through quality services and hospitality.

Please be assured that your comments have been seriously reviewed with all department heads concerned and all possible corrective actions are in place to address the issue.

All of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you the true Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville experience expected from us on your next visit to Rockville (D.C area).

Thank you once again for taking the time in writing your experiences.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet_Earth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Rockville becuase we had to take care of some business in Washington DC. The hotel is very near to the metro that takes you right into the heart of DC. It is by far the easiest way to get into the city.
The hotel itself is very well taken care of, and has a friendly, professional staff. The check-in was very simple and completed very quickly.
The bar/dinner area is a little small but the staff is very friendly and quick to take care of your needs.
Our room was clean and well appointed. The cleaning staff did an excellent job of taking care of room each morning we were there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Rest assured i will share your comments with our team

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Nice hotel, shuttle to ShadyGrove Metro starting at 7:00am. Friendly driver. Friendly staff but not enough of them. Front desk was one person and also took reservation and answered calls did check-ins. Rooms need some deep cleaning. Restaurant is fair.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor on Crowne Plaza Washington D.C. - Rockville!

The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the positive remarks on our hotel and staff. However we are disappointed to learn of your experience with regard to our rooms. Please be assured that the points you have raised have been taken seriously and raised with our Management. Feel free to contact to let me or the Manager on Duty know what we could do to move you to a 5 Star review. We look forward to making your next stay even more memorable.

Best,

Amit P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

First time staying at this property - room was clean, comfortable bed, and nicely appointed washroom. I enjoyed the Buffet Breakfast, and Fitness Center was clean, well lit, and equipment was in good working condition. Most importantly, service staff was attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Rest assured i will share your comments with our team

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here recently (April 2014) for a business trip. The hotel is tricky to find to start out with as the sign is very small - I passed it as I pulled down the street. I was told before the trip by my company that they needed a card to charge for any incidentals. I got checked in and they swiped my card... shortly after, I got a message from my bank saying the FULL AMOUNT OF THE ROOM was charged to my card!!! It was supposed to be charged to my company's account, not mine! I went back to the front desk and told them this and both girls working looked at the computer and said, "Ohhhhh! ..... Well, it's just a hold and it will go back on once you check out." I told them that was $300+ that I needed to use to travel back home and that it wasn't acceptable. Upon checking out, I mentioned the same thing to the girl at the desk and she apologized, but no one offered any type of compensation for the error. (Not good customer service in my humble opinion)

My room was spacious and clean (except for a few stray hairs - two in the bathroom and one on the bed), HOWEVER, the window opened up to the second floor ballroom - I had no privacy with the window open! WHO DESIGNS A HOTEL LIKE THAT?!?! The noise from the dining area on the first floor carries through to the rooms with windows like mine. If you stay here, ask for a second or third story room on the outside of the building, unless you don't mind random strangers looking in your windows.

The bed was too soft for my comfort level and there are no power outlets near the bed - that's one of my biggest complaints about many hotels. There was also no fridge or microwave in the room. I didn't bother eating there as there was no complimentary breakfast.

Overall it was an OK place to stay, but I'm sure there are better hotels in the area. I would not recommend this one.

Room Tip: Again, IF you decide on this one, ask for a room that faces the outside, not the ballroom. There'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest

I am very sorry that you credit card was charged. You are absolutely correct, we had your companies credit card on file for room and tax and that is what should have happened. Rest assured I will address this issue with our front desk agents and make the necessary changes.

Sincerely

Earl Raven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel on a repeat basis. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfy (particularly beds and bedding). Bathrooms are well lit and appointed. Most important, the manager and his staff can't do enough to make your experience terrific. Two thumbs up for the Crowne Plaza in Rockville.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Rest assured i will share your comments with our team and we hope to see you again!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rockville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#6 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Shady Grove Metro Station Offers a Suburban Retreat If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in Rockville, MD, be sure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 and is just a short drive from Washington D.C. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to businesses, including DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin and IBM. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to the White House, Sugar Loaf Mountain Winery, the Strathmore Music Center and both the Lakeforest and Montgomery Malls. The Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville, MD is 'The Place to Meet'. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Guests can choose from the Remington Ballroom, the lovely Terrace or one of our six breakout meeting rooms. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. You can enjoy a Health Club with a yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant with room service. For the very best in Washington D.C. accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rockville
Rockville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.