We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thoroughly Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rensselaerville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Thoroughly Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 9 days while visiting with a new grandchild, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a beautiful ground floor room with chaise lounge and king bed, and were just steps from the restaurant, bar, and comfortable public seating areas. The staff was friendly, welcoming and very professional. We also enjoyed the area, minutes from Rockville Center with its ice-skating rink, shops and eclectic restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    65
    32
    24
    20
See reviews for
47
36
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The room was really clean. I liked the layout, furniture, and decoration. I felt very comfortable during my stay and found the staff very nice. I felt very welcome during check-in, check-out and anytime I needed assistance.
The staff is very nice and professional, except a couple of cleaning ladies that are lazy.

The hotel is located in a business area, so it's very quiet at night but the downside is that the area is a little scary at night. You really have to be mindful of your surroundings.

A couple of negative things:
- the internet is extremely slow
- the hotel is too far from restaurants: you either need a car or be a person who doesn't mind walking about 15 minutes to have more options at the shopping center on the other side of the highway.

One of my best experiences at hotels and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We've stayed here more than once and especially enjoyed our stay this time. The breakfast buffet manager, Natalie, was very welcoming and the morning sausage was particularly tasty. The hotel is a good value.

The room was spacious and the front desk personnel were helpful with every request. It's conveniently located, right next to 270 at the Shady Grove exit with easy access to our Rockville, Bethesda and WDC destinations. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I love this hotel! After researching options in the area, I chose the Crowne Plaza in Rockville because of the low price and high quality. It's a relatively new property so the furnishings and decor are contemporary and in great condition. The bed and pillows are phenomenal! I slept great, even the first night. The staff was helpful and went out of their way to be sure I was comfortable. I cannot say enough about this hotel! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza when we were in town for medical appointments. It was hard to find at night. It's in a office park. When we arrived, there were not many cars in the parking lot. The lady that checked us in was very nice. Our room was standard for Crowne Plaza. It was very quiet. We ate the breakfast buffet and there was only one other person there. We never did see any other guests. The buffet was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Rockville on business in late February. The hotel is in a quiet office park location but very convenient to I-270 and a large shopping area just down the road where you'll find Starbucks, Panera, etc. This is an older property but is in really nice shape and features larger rooms than newer hotels. I had a very quiet room in the back corner on the second floor with easy access to the parking lot via a locked side door accessed with the room key. Room was in nice shape, only nits are heating unit a bit noisy and hallway carpet near the room could have used a vacuum. Front desk staff were very friendly on check in and check out. Will stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Recommend second floor on the back if you like quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I spent the entire Valentine's weekend at the Crowned in Rockville. We stayed in one of the executive suites, and the service, staff, food, and room were beyond my wife's and I expectations. I couldn't have asked for anything better for our weekend. Accommodating to the both of us in every way possible. Mr. Amite(hotel manager)was very professional and friendly at all times. We will be going back there soon.

Room Tip: Corner suites are extremely spacious and quite. Easy access to the elevators, as well as the bistro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#8 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Shady Grove Metro Station Offers a Suburban Retreat If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in Rockville, MD, be sure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 and is just a short drive from Washington D.C. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to businesses, including DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin and IBM. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to the White House, Sugar Loaf Mountain Winery, the Strathmore Music Center and both the Lakeforest and Montgomery Malls. The Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville, MD is 'The Place to Meet'. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Guests can choose from the Remington Ballroom, the lovely Terrace or one of our six breakout meeting rooms. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. You can enjoy a Health Club with a yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant with room service. For the very best in Washington D.C. accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rockville
Rockville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.