We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on July 19th for 1 night. I was a little worried about how the inside might look because the outside looks dated (circa late 80's/early 90's) but the inside is nice and very up to date. The people at the counter were very friendly. The room was very clean. The only thing that wasn't great was the 2 elevators. 1 wasn't working and the other one was really hot and humid inside which was strange. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on Tripadvisor on Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your one night stay and we did meet your expectation.

I do however apologize for the elevator issues you had when with us. We are always looking for ways to help boost our guest morale. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Once again thanks for your review.

Best,

Amit P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    65
    32
    24
    20
See reviews for
47
36
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

As is standard with the Crowne Plaza name, this location delivers what you would expect from the IHG brand. A well-decorated, well taken care of establishment that is the perfect place to stay if you are hanging around the DC area.

This location is only a five-minute drive from the Shady Grove Metro Station which will connect you with downtown Washington DC after a 35 minute train ride. Utilize I-270N toward I-370 to access the two large parking garages on the East side of the station. The hotel operates a shuttle which may be useful to you.

It is located in a commercial park, so it will be difficult to walk anywhere. However, there are extensive dining options within a mile drive; don’t be afraid to explore.

I will always stay at this location when I need to get to DC for business or fun due to the outstanding quality of the hotel and proximity to one of the more convenient metro stops in the entire system.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I travel to the DC area every 6 weeks or so and have stayed at the Crowne Plaza before, as well as other local hotels. On my last trip which lasted a week, I stayed at another hotel only to have horrible housekeeping. I moved out of the hotel and went over to the Crowne. I had forgotten what a good hotel it was. From the time I checked in, by an extremely nice and courteous young lady until the time I checked out, I had nothing but a pleasurable stay. Excellent room, clean and nicely furnished. I will definitely be staying at the hotel on my next trip. I highly recommend it when staying in the Rockville area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really mediocre hotel - but also not very clean - the make up mirror in my bathroom was so dirty I could not use it. Breakfast included but it is not very good. Definitely find a better option if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We rely on our guests, to know how we are doing and how we can better meet their needs.

We at Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville aim to consistently achieve highest level of Guest satisfaction through quality services and hospitality.

Please be assured that your comments have been seriously reviewed with all department heads concerned and all possible corrective actions are in place to address the issue.

All of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you the true Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville experience expected from us on your next visit to Rockville (D.C area).

Thank you once again for taking the time in writing your experiences.

Sincerely,

Amit P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm in the hospitality industry myself so I know a thing or two about customer service. The Crown Plaza delivers it in truckloads. From the second you walk in the door till the second you check out, they do their utmost to put a smile on your face and make your stay a joy. When you're there make sure you stop The Atrium Cafe next to the lobby. Their menu is incredible and their wait staff is 2nd to none. Especially Rich from Boston who is phenomenal at what he does. He and the rest of his wait staff make you feel like family and treat you like royalty every time you show up for a meal. I highly recommend you grab at least a meal or two there. Coming from Miami, where customer service seems to be dead & a long forgotten concept, this was truly a refreshing experience. -Doc

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff is professional and courteous. They are ready to help with any concerns you might have. I found the room to be clean and spacious. They have drivers ready to take you and pick you up from the Metro train line. I was greeted by a smile whenever I went to the front desk with questions. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a suite. It does not cost much more and you have plenty of room to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I travel a lot for work and therefore need to stay at a safe, clean quality hotel. My hotel visits are usually filled with stories of bad food, poor service or dirty linen....This was not the case at the crown plaza. My business trip lasted a little over 6 weeks and I was incredibly impressed with the professionalism of the staff. Everyone who works at the crown plaza is courteous and friendly. The staff go above and beyond to ensure that you are happy and have a pleasant stay. Richard and the other restaurant staff made sure that I felt at home every morning at breakfast and the food was excellent. The front desk staff ensured that I had everything I needed at all times and most importantly the manager Earl Raven did not treat me like a number, he took the time to get to know my name and ensure that my stay was pleasant. I have stayed at several hotels in the rockville Gaithersburg area, however this is the only hotel that I have told my company I now want to be booked in everytime I'm in MD. GREAT HOTEL...LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#8 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Shady Grove Metro Station Offers a Suburban Retreat If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in Rockville, MD, be sure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 and is just a short drive from Washington D.C. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to businesses, including DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin and IBM. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to the White House, Sugar Loaf Mountain Winery, the Strathmore Music Center and both the Lakeforest and Montgomery Malls. The Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville, MD is 'The Place to Meet'. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Guests can choose from the Remington Ballroom, the lovely Terrace or one of our six breakout meeting rooms. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. You can enjoy a Health Club with a yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant with room service. For the very best in Washington D.C. accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rockville
Rockville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.