We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely better options in the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“definitely better options in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really mediocre hotel - but also not very clean - the make up mirror in my bathroom was so dirty I could not use it. Breakfast included but it is not very good. Definitely find a better option if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We rely on our guests, to know how we are doing and how we can better meet their needs.

We at Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville aim to consistently achieve highest level of Guest satisfaction through quality services and hospitality.

Please be assured that your comments have been seriously reviewed with all department heads concerned and all possible corrective actions are in place to address the issue.

All of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you the true Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville experience expected from us on your next visit to Rockville (D.C area).

Thank you once again for taking the time in writing your experiences.

Sincerely,

Amit P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
48
38
23
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm in the hospitality industry myself so I know a thing or two about customer service. The Crown Plaza delivers it in truckloads. From the second you walk in the door till the second you check out, they do their utmost to put a smile on your face and make your stay a joy. When you're there make sure you stop The Atrium Cafe next to the lobby. Their menu is incredible and their wait staff is 2nd to none. Especially Rich from Boston who is phenomenal at what he does. He and the rest of his wait staff make you feel like family and treat you like royalty every time you show up for a meal. I highly recommend you grab at least a meal or two there. Coming from Miami, where customer service seems to be dead & a long forgotten concept, this was truly a refreshing experience. -Doc

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff is professional and courteous. They are ready to help with any concerns you might have. I found the room to be clean and spacious. They have drivers ready to take you and pick you up from the Metro train line. I was greeted by a smile whenever I went to the front desk with questions. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a suite. It does not cost much more and you have plenty of room to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I travel a lot for work and therefore need to stay at a safe, clean quality hotel. My hotel visits are usually filled with stories of bad food, poor service or dirty linen....This was not the case at the crown plaza. My business trip lasted a little over 6 weeks and I was incredibly impressed with the professionalism of the staff. Everyone who works at the crown plaza is courteous and friendly. The staff go above and beyond to ensure that you are happy and have a pleasant stay. Richard and the other restaurant staff made sure that I felt at home every morning at breakfast and the food was excellent. The front desk staff ensured that I had everything I needed at all times and most importantly the manager Earl Raven did not treat me like a number, he took the time to get to know my name and ensure that my stay was pleasant. I have stayed at several hotels in the rockville Gaithersburg area, however this is the only hotel that I have told my company I now want to be booked in everytime I'm in MD. GREAT HOTEL...LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a Director of Programs, I travel a lot and I understand the true significance of customer service. With that said, I felt it absolutely necessary to recognize the Crown Plaza and its wonderful staff. Thanks to their exceptional service they made my extended stay (30 days) a breeze. They were very professional, greeted my co-worker and me with a smile each day, and they always went out of their way to ensure we had the amenities to feel right at home. The General Manager was even out-and-about greeting everyone to guarantee customer satisfaction on a daily basis—for that I must really commend him!
The hotel is not brand new; however, it is a beautiful relaxing place to stay. There is no doubt this will be our corporate location (not to mention my family hotel spot) anytime I return to the to the Gaithersburg/Rockville area. There is no comparison for the price, elegance, and customer service for this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings! Thank you for the superlative feedback. We are not only delighted, my team is very excited and pleased with such great words of appreciation from you. We deeply appreciate your taking time off, and write such a detailed feedback on Tripadvisor on Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville! My team and I look forward to your future visits, and assure you that we will continue to strive to live up to your expectations.

Best,

Amit P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The location is good but quite a distance from downtown DC. The hotel itself is quiet. The staff are fantastic and Maxime ( and the other lady ) took great care of me. The room is large and comfortable. The exterior looked industrial but the interior is elegant and tasteful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in 328 and rooms along that corridor are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First impressions are everything. I checked in May 22nd around 1:30 pm; the lady at front desk was very cold,rude and not welcoming. I asked about a mini fridge for room, she responded we don't have those here. On my way to room, what do I see outside another room a mini fridge. Basically, the desk clerk lied to me. Thanks priceline! I made another request for a fridge; however, this time it was $20/night. Give me a break, first you charge for coffee now 20 bucks/night for a fridge- that's unheard of at other hotels. Anyway, the hallways are dark and very loud at night, wi-fi doesn't work- luckily I had cellular service on my IPAD. As far as restaurant, food is ok. The lounge staff is very helpful ie Richard, Ace, Jose and
Filipina bartender were all very customer friendly and professional. Food and drinks are pricey, then again, I expect this at most hotels. In a nutshell, I placed a bid on priceline, so that's how I landed at this hotel. I agree with others, it's a 2 star hotel at best. I WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN!

Room Tip: If you are brave enough to stay here, do not stay in rooms facing the atrium- it's very loud at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

I do apologize for the inconvenience and lack of service that you faced during your stay with us. Whilst we spend a lot of time training our staff, feedback such as yours only means we need to try harder and prevent such feedback from reoccurring.

Once again, please accept my and the team’s sincere-most apology for the obviously distasteful experience you have had, we promise you things will not be the same when you visit us again.

Looking forward to another chance of setting things right.

Please contact me directly for any assistance, I remain

With warm regards,

Amit P
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rockville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#6 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Shady Grove Metro Station Offers a Suburban Retreat If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in Rockville, MD, be sure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 and is just a short drive from Washington D.C. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to businesses, including DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin and IBM. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to the White House, Sugar Loaf Mountain Winery, the Strathmore Music Center and both the Lakeforest and Montgomery Malls. The Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville, MD is 'The Place to Meet'. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Guests can choose from the Remington Ballroom, the lovely Terrace or one of our six breakout meeting rooms. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. You can enjoy a Health Club with a yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant with room service. For the very best in Washington D.C. accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rockville
Rockville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.