We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed just one night, but were treated like we stayed long and often (have stayed here before). Personal welcome at checkin, upgrade to an excellent king suite, very comfortable bed and room, great bathroom and amenities. Did not use the onsite restaurant, but it is just a short drive to Washingtonian Center (Rio), where you have an excellent choice of eateries and shopping, all with either a lakefront view or close to it. Simply a wonderful, though short, stay.

Room Tip: First floor down the few steps to any rooms, especially the king suites. Especially good if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I will make sure I share your full review with our team.

We do hope to see you in the not too distant future

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    32
    23
    20
See reviews for
45
36
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for a few nights to get caught up on work and school to escape the noise of home as there was remodeling going on. Booked the room through Hotwire...got a cheap rate...

Room itself was good except that the steam from the shower set off the alarm. Gym was good...both restaurant and room service food were horrible...you will need a car as not really close to anything...good for biz...quiet/sterile/clean

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Rockville Md quite frequently--about one week a month for several years. We have always found the rooms very clean and in good condition. The staff are outstanding from the housekeeping staff, to the front desk staff to the management. I find it particularly useful that they offer a free shuttle to the Metro stop. I use that often and they are very prompt in picking me up on my return to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding and we had a really good experience, staff was very friendly they allowed us to check in early since we had to leave NYC due to Sandy. Room service was great and friendly. One thing I didnt really like was the breakfast, not good at all! In place we were going to First Watch and their breakfast was out of this world especially their waffles.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Crowne Plaza, Rockville, Maryland was immaculate.
The front of house & bar/restuarant staff members were all extremely warm, welcoming and always ready to assist at the drop of a hat!
THANK YOU!
The shuttle service was prompt and a massive bonus - catered to local shopping & business areas.
THANK YOU!
Room service & cleanliness was spot on - my only observation was (and this is only because I love my coffee...) I would have loved more instant coffee and condiments.

THANK YOU CROWNE PLAZA, ROCKVILLE for making my stay comforable and memorable!

-Rolien van Heerden- (ROOM 207)

Room Tip: Rooms facing toward the outside of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location right next to highway but still quiet. Clean with good-sized room. Front desk helpful and welcoming. A good choice for hotel in this price category. Has ton of room for events but didn't see any events while i was there -- could make it noisy though i suppose.

Room Tip: face outward
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is in a quiet commercial area of Rockville. Close to the highway, and to the offices around, but a drive if you are going anywhere else.
The hotel is nice, rooms are comfortable and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful.
We had a one bedroom suite which was spacious, comfortable and lovely. While the closet was huge, the bathroom was tiny, as there was barely any room to put all our stuff. The lighting in the room isn't so great either. Felt very dark.
You should note that there are interior and exterior rooms in this hotel. The interior rooms look over the hotel atrium where there is a restaurant below and an open event hall as well as hallways leading into closed event halls. The weekend we spent there, there were non-stop events at the hotel (which is a great sign, I think!). We returned to the hotel with our young children on Saturday night at 11pm and there was a party downstairs with music, people talking loudly, etc. Parties end at midnight. Everything quieted down soon after midnight.
There were 3 things that disappointed:
- on our second day we spent the whole day out and about, returning at 3:30 pm to get ready for a family event that night only to find that our room was not yet tidied up. When we called the front desk their excuse was that they were sold out the night before. Not my problem.
- My kids found a pair of Q-tips on our first morning at the hotel in a corner of the room (not ours!). The Q-tips were still there the next day... and the next.
- $20/night for a roll-away bed!! We thought that was a little extreme

Room Tip: Choose an exterior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Shady Grove Metro Station Offers a Suburban Retreat If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in Rockville, MD, be sure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 and is just a short drive from Washington D.C. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to businesses, including DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin and IBM. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to the White House, Sugar Loaf Mountain Winery, the Strathmore Music Center and both the Lakeforest and Montgomery Malls. The Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville, MD is 'The Place to Meet'. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Guests can choose from the Remington Ballroom, the lovely Terrace or one of our six breakout meeting rooms. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. You can enjoy a Health Club with a yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant with room service. For the very best in Washington D.C. accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rockville
Rockville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.