We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Recently stayed two nights at this hotel for business, and had an overall nice stay. Nice, modern decor.....wonderful food......and great location. My only complaint is that my room had a very musty/mildew type smell whenever the air conditioner was running. It almost smelled like there had been water damage at some point that had not been properly cleaned. I did not complain, but feel that staff would have been accommodating had I requested to move. Upon returning home, had to clean EVERYTHING.....clothes, bags, shoes, etc....to remove smell. Other than that....no complaints!

Room Tip: Say "no thank you" to room 279.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear kerust,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am very pleased you liked the modern decor and the great location of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the unusual smell you experienced in your room during your stay and any inconvenience caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    72
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
49
38
24
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

just fine - exactly what you should expect. The price is right. The breakfast is a little better than most hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed a couple nights at this hotel as I was visiting relatives. Good rates, decent rooms. The bed's comforter is pretty amazing. Nice and thick, perfectly heavy enough - almost as heavy as the x-ray jacket the dentists put on you for your bitewing films. Great for a winter evening. Nothing to write home about, but room was decent. Internet was spotty. Food was good - didn't have it this time but last time I was here it was good. Something to note from last trip - I had a saloon room (I think that's the name of the room) - which was huge and ideal for families but had no outside facing windows - the windows faced the center of the building. When the bacon starts cooking for breakfast, we knew! The suite I had this time was pretty big as well. Room key didn't work (seems to be my luck with US-based Crowne Plazas) but the front desk guy told me the secret to getting it to work. Unfortunately, didn't work the second time around. Then at some point the front door to the building wasn't sliding open. Can't remember how that was remedied...I think I went through a side door. Not so convenient if you don't have a car here...of course, you are in Rockville so if you don't have a car in suburbia it's going to be inconvenient in general. Parking is aplenty. May return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Couldn't be happier with the hotel and staff. The room was large and comfortable but is a little worn in that the doors to the bathroom were a little difficult to close, but pretty minor. The A/C worked the first day we were there, but my wife said the fan was too noisy to sleep so we turned it off. The next morning it wouldn't work. We told the staff and by the time we arrived back at the hotel it was working fine. The pool isn't very big but for adults it works just fine to cool off after a hot day in DC. We had family who live nearby so we opted to stay in Rockville and take the Metro into DC. They run you over to the Metro in their shuttle so you don't have to drive and park when using the Metro to visit DC. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here during the power outage that left over 1 million in the area without power. After Saturday night, they jacked up the price by $60, more than $30 or $40 more their usual Sunday night rate. When asked about this, the manager said it is their prerogative, and everyone else was doing it. Not everyone else was doing it. And it is our prerogative never to stay there again. The manager seemed unconcerned about losing our future business or that of anyone who should ever visit us in the area.

We stayed here because it was 100 degrees outside, and we had no power. Yet the AC in our room stopped working the second night. The "free wireless" was equally useless as we couldn't connect to any of the networks.

Moreover, the room was noisy because just outside was a terrace area, underneath which was a poorly sound-proofed conference center. Only one elevator was working on our half of the building. And in our room, the carpet was dirty, and the desk chair was half-broken.

We will never stay in another Crowne Plaza, and we will tell anyone else to avoid them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear J J,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am very sorry you were not satisfied with the price you paid. Room rates do vary depending on the market. I have noted your comments regarding the air conditioner, the elevator and housekeeping. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused you. This will be addressed with the proper departments.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a typical suburban hotel. The room and the bedroom were clean. However, I found hairs from the bed. It seems that they did not replace the bed covers.
The hotel is just next to Slee Inn hotel, and is surrounded by office buildings. There is no place to go within walking distance. Malls and grocery store are not located near the hotel. A good thing is that the hotel provides complementary shuttle to the grocery and Shady Groves subway station.
I used the hotel shuttle to buy water and juices at Safeway. The shuttle driver told me to call the hotel for pick-up. After shopping, I called hotel for pick-up. The hotel front desk told me that the shuttel driver is busy and I have to wait 20 minutes. I waited more than 20 minutes. The hotel front desk told me the same thing that I have to wait 20 more minutes. So,I waited more than 40 minutes for pick-up. It was not easy to catch a taxi near Safeway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Chul A,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the unacceptable service you received that did not live up to your expectations. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience due to the fact you need to wait for our shuttle service to arrive. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Rockville, MD.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel is clean enough but it needs updated--old decor and a little threadbare. The biggest problem is the service--I called for the hotel shuttle from the Metro, was told it would be there momentarily. 15 minutes later, I called back and was told I had just missed the shuttle the last time I called but the shuttle would be there soon, 15 minutes later from there (now 30 minutes), I called again and the shuttle was "on its way". It took 45 minutes from the time I arrived at the Metro and called to the time the shuttle dropped me off. If I had known it was going to be that long, i would have just taken a cab. Unfortunately, my experience was common among the others I was at the hotel with so it was not unusual.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear drizzly7609,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience. We are delighted you found our hotel clean. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to our services and hotel interior. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rockville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#6 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Shady Grove Metro Station Offers a Suburban Retreat If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in Rockville, MD, be sure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 and is just a short drive from Washington D.C. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to businesses, including DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin and IBM. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to the White House, Sugar Loaf Mountain Winery, the Strathmore Music Center and both the Lakeforest and Montgomery Malls. The Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville, MD is 'The Place to Meet'. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Guests can choose from the Remington Ballroom, the lovely Terrace or one of our six breakout meeting rooms. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. You can enjoy a Health Club with a yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant with room service. For the very best in Washington D.C. accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rockville
Rockville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.