We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Peruvian food in a suburb of DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Limena

La Limena
765 Rockville Pike, Ste A, Rockville, MD 20852-1148
301-424-8066
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 342 restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,404 reviews 1,404 reviews
584 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 282 cities Reviews in 282 cities
734 helpful votes 734 helpful votes
“Good Peruvian food in a suburb of DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a Peruvian friend and it seems very pop with Peruvian community in DC.
We had the ceviche de pescado for starter and it was quite good. We specially liked the toasted maiz.
Since it was Sunday they had the special chicharron sandwich which we tried. It comes with sweet potato within the sandwich. It was very tasty and at $8 an excellent value.
Finally we tried the seco de cordero (lamb shank). It was good but we had better in El Chalan, DC (check my review and pics about it).
On the whole we liked it but if you have to come all the way from DC it is not worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    30
    20
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

You can spend a lot more money elsewhere if you're into ambience. If you're looking for freshly prepared, authentic and incredibly tasty food (with a very good pisco sour!), however, this is the place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Come here for the food, not the ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent rotisserie chicken - some of the BEST I've ever tasted because of the fact that they use charcoal grilling. You just can't get that flavor without charcoal. $11.95 for whole chicken

Black beans are the real deal, tastes like it's been cooked for hours in real pork stock.

Salad with the dressing has a delicious tangy dressing.

Service is satisfactory.

The restaurant is more of a lunch or take out place - ambience is a bit tired and casual, but they do serve bottled cerveza's, mixed drinks and wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Peruvian/Cubian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Usually we get Peruvian chicken for take out but the dine-in menu looks great too. This is a great restaurant hidden in the back of a suburban shopping plaza. Family owned and authentic. Best fried yuca. My only negative point is that they charge for extra sauce. I can see how people would like to take advantage of the great sauce but they should double the portion that comes with the food!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'm not an expert on Peruvian food, but that was freaking good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

La Limenia is a small, friendly Peruvian restaurant that serves traditional good food with a Cuban twist. The staff is very helpful - always ensuring your glasses are filled and you have everything you need. Our waitress, Elena, was especially sweet and attentive. We shared some appetizers including the Anticuchos (beef hearts) and ceviche de pescado, which were both great. The ceviche was fresh and bright, and anticuchos were nice and flavorful (but a tad overcooked). Their green sauce is delicious and a bit spicy! I got Ossobuco for my main course which was nicely cooked and tender, falling off the bone, and laid in a wonderful rich sauce. It came with an interesting sort of rice/white bean fried "cake" that was a nice starch element for the dish. Finished off the meal with some alfajores and coffee - you HAVE to eat those sweet petite cookies after your meal or you might as well have not come in at all. Overall a great place, hence the long line I walked past as I was exiting. Buen trabajo La Limenia!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Limena also viewed

 

Been to La Limena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Limena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.