We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Piccard Dr, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Rockville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Jerseyville, Illinois
1 review
“Christmas visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My son (from Seattle, WA) and I (from Illinois) stayed in your hotel for 3 nights over Christmas. We were visiting my daughter who lives in Silver Spring, but her kitchen couldn't handle Christmas dinner this year. You gave us a BEAUTIFUL suite: bedroom with 2 beds (felt like extra length, which we both appreciated), living room big enough for all 4 of us to sit comfortably, full kitchen (we could have cooked our own turkey in the oven, but we didn't!) It was a lovely quiet room, great beds, plenty of space in the refrig. for the food my daughter brought in. The free breakfasts were great too -- lots of variety. Thanks for making it possible for us to celebrate Christmas all together this year -- first time since 2008! It was a really happy experience.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet renovated room with full kitchen. There's a highway on one side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in 2013!
Happy New year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
18
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located in Rockville. We stayed for 8 days. The hotel is udergoing renvation so when we checked in we were told the fitness center AND the restaurant were both closed....I think this should have been noted when booking as we had planned on using both those facilities. Thankfully we had a car. The room was very well equiped and beds were great. The TV was new and although mounted on one of the kitchen cabinets looking very strange worked very well. The grout in bathroom flooring was crumbling and not enjoyable to walk on each day, and the marble threshold was cracked in multiple places. Again renovation is needed in those areas.
The free breakfast was very good and better than most in variety and freshness. The management was obliging and actually discounted our bill for the inconvenience of the facilities being unavaliable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your sincere comments. We would be thrilled to see you back next time when the hotel improvements will be completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Once I arrived to Washington , DC from Miami we took the train located downstairs of the airport and transferred to the metro (redline ) until shady grove station. From there the hotel shuttle pick us up!!! Awesome. They also took us back to to any where else we wanted to go with in a five mile radius. We actuality used it all the time to get to and from the train station, it was very convenient !! The staff was super nice and helpful and the rooms were spacious and very clean

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much Mr. T first for staying with us and second for your nice feedback. We hopefully see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent the weekend here and have to say that it is horrible in every way. The wallpaper is from the 70's, the carpets are black with dirt (just check the bottom of your feet), every faucet drips, everywhere you look it needs a makeover and the breakfast consists of the cheapest and most unhealthy food to be found. To boot, housekeeping does not change your sheets, they just male the bed and replace towels. The front desk people are quite nice though and happy to apologize for the shortcomings of the property.

With a hotel layout that resembles a prison, my bet is they are thankful to be hanging on by a thread. Oh, and did I forget to share that the exterminator needs to be a resident as the bugs are out of control.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Choose the Sheraton across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am very sorry that we did not meet all your expectations. We are glad that you brought this issues to our attention. However, after investigating the matter, we found no evidence of dirty carpet, dripping faucet or any issues with our housekeeping service . We are also getting positive reviews on our complimentary breakfast provided daily. We are taking your comment very seriously, and hope that you will stay here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I am an extended stay business guest of this hotel which recently affiliated with Quality/Choice Hotels. I have been here since June. While the facility is over 30 years old, upkeep apparently has improved since quality took over. It has easy access to I-270 and a shuttle that makes regularly scheduled runs to Shady Grove Metro. It is located in a quite residential area within a mile of supermarkets and restaurants.

Pros: Large updated suites with full kitchens and 2 large screen tvs.
Courteous and responsive front desk staff and management
Full breakfast, eggs, waffles etc
Excellent housekeeping, very clean rooms
Extremely comfortable beds
Great rates for extended stays

Cons: Most rooms open to the exterior.
Traffic noise from I-270 on the west side of the facility, request a courtyard room
Frequently malfunctioning door locks due to exposure to the weather
My first room had Mickey & Minnie mouse, but I was quickly switched to another room with
no other sightings in over 4 months.

Bottom Line: I trave a lot, and if I wasn't extremely satisfied I would have changed hotels immediately.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are looking forward to having you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed there a couple of days, hadn't the chance of staying much in the hotel since I was most of the time out. I was in a suite with two queen beds, kitchen, sofa and bathroom. We like the stay, although most parts of the hotel were in bad state. The pool was out of service. The breakfast was okay but not so healthy and well prepared.

Room Tip: I stayed at the suite with two queens and it was really good. The one I stayed was facing the highw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. the outdoor pools in the USA (East Coast) close on the 1st Monday of September. You should try us again in the summer and ask for a room in the patio.
looking forward to seeing you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October as we were visiting Washington DC. Quality Suites is in what appears to be a good safe location, it's not too far from the Interstate, is on the edge of a decent housing community and situated within a business park.

There is plenty of free parking outside and the surroundings are very quiet, our room was in the courtyard so we were away from any Interstate road noise.

A shuttle service is provided and leaves the hotel every hour, it runs from 7am to 10:30pm, it takes less than 10 minutes to get to the Shady Grove metro station. We found out after our first trip that there is plenty of parking at the metro station, free at weekends and $5 all day Monday to Friday (pay on exit using a Smartrip card or credit card). Bear in mind there are less spaces available Monday to Friday due to reserved parking and commuters so get there early! Each day thereafter we drove to the metro as it was just a little easier than phoning the hotel and waiting for shuttle when we returned.

The metro takes about 40 minutes to get to Metro centre station in Washington, a single journey costs $4.50 off peak, an all day travel card costs $14. The trains run very frequently.

There is a Safeway not too far from the hotel (on the way to the metro) and a couple of petrol stations.

The hotel, for us it had it's good and not so good points.

Good points:

- The room was very large, very spacious, had a kitchenette, lounge area and a separate bedroom
- The king bed was very comfortable with lots of soft, fluffy pillows
- The bed had spotless white bedding with a quilt
- The room was very clean
- Fast & reliable in room wifi
- Breakfast was available until 10:30 at weekends and 09:30 weekdays

Not so good:

It's not one major thing, more of a catalogue of minor things:

- The in room safe was tiny, will only hold passports, small jewellery items and maybe an i-pod, no way can you store a laptop or camera. When we went to reception to get the key for our safe we were advised that the previous guest had taken it with them and they needed to get another one cut. As we couldn't really use the safe due to its size we didn't worry about it. A bit disappointed though as this is one of the main reasons we booked the room but we didn't realise it would be so small.

- There was an annoying noise in our room, when reported to reception it turns out it's the water pipes rattling - sounds like quite a loud dripping noise and it was continuous. We were offered to swap rooms but we couldn't be bothered to pack up our stuff and as apparently half the rooms in the hotel suffer the same issue, we could have ended up with louder pipes! We did get used to the noise after the first night and were advised that the hotel will be undergoing renovation to address this issue.

- The room is advertised as having a stove top and dishwasher. We had no dishwasher but 2 fridges and the stove top was a convection oven. Not an issue, the oven did what we needed it to but is different to that advertised.

- A tea towel for drying up was provided but there was no dishcloth, or washing up liquid and there was no plug for the sink so we couldn't wash up properly

- The temperature of the water in the shower didn't remain consistent - would go too hot or too cold.

None of the above majorly impacted our stay but these little things could be improved to make it better.

Breakfast

It was ok but needs a bit of improvement. The cereal had 3 containers all filled with cheerio's, a variety would be good. The breakfast changed from day to day every day there was - juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, waffles and one of the following meats: ham, sausage or sausage patties. Some days there were either bagels or bread and muffins, biscuits and gravy and fruit. Breakfast did get busy at times so you had to wait a short time for a re-stock and on occasions it did take some time for the tables to be cleared. The cutlery was also a mix of metal and plastic - a metal knife with a plastic fork!

As stated in previous reviews the entrance doors to the room are external but wasn't an issue for us.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, I do think things could run a little more efficiently (e.g. the taken safe key and breakfast) apparently the hotel has only just been purchased so hopefully efficiency will come with time.

We would recommend the Quality Suites and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments that will help us improve.
We are looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Address: 1380 Piccard Dr, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Rockville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Suite Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.