We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay - good location for the metro” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Piccard Dr, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Rockville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Rockville
England
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay - good location for the metro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October as we were visiting Washington DC. Quality Suites is in what appears to be a good safe location, it's not too far from the Interstate, is on the edge of a decent housing community and situated within a business park.

There is plenty of free parking outside and the surroundings are very quiet, our room was in the courtyard so we were away from any Interstate road noise.

A shuttle service is provided and leaves the hotel every hour, it runs from 7am to 10:30pm, it takes less than 10 minutes to get to the Shady Grove metro station. We found out after our first trip that there is plenty of parking at the metro station, free at weekends and $5 all day Monday to Friday (pay on exit using a Smartrip card or credit card). Bear in mind there are less spaces available Monday to Friday due to reserved parking and commuters so get there early! Each day thereafter we drove to the metro as it was just a little easier than phoning the hotel and waiting for shuttle when we returned.

The metro takes about 40 minutes to get to Metro centre station in Washington, a single journey costs $4.50 off peak, an all day travel card costs $14. The trains run very frequently.

There is a Safeway not too far from the hotel (on the way to the metro) and a couple of petrol stations.

The hotel, for us it had it's good and not so good points.

Good points:

- The room was very large, very spacious, had a kitchenette, lounge area and a separate bedroom
- The king bed was very comfortable with lots of soft, fluffy pillows
- The bed had spotless white bedding with a quilt
- The room was very clean
- Fast & reliable in room wifi
- Breakfast was available until 10:30 at weekends and 09:30 weekdays

Not so good:

It's not one major thing, more of a catalogue of minor things:

- The in room safe was tiny, will only hold passports, small jewellery items and maybe an i-pod, no way can you store a laptop or camera. When we went to reception to get the key for our safe we were advised that the previous guest had taken it with them and they needed to get another one cut. As we couldn't really use the safe due to its size we didn't worry about it. A bit disappointed though as this is one of the main reasons we booked the room but we didn't realise it would be so small.

- There was an annoying noise in our room, when reported to reception it turns out it's the water pipes rattling - sounds like quite a loud dripping noise and it was continuous. We were offered to swap rooms but we couldn't be bothered to pack up our stuff and as apparently half the rooms in the hotel suffer the same issue, we could have ended up with louder pipes! We did get used to the noise after the first night and were advised that the hotel will be undergoing renovation to address this issue.

- The room is advertised as having a stove top and dishwasher. We had no dishwasher but 2 fridges and the stove top was a convection oven. Not an issue, the oven did what we needed it to but is different to that advertised.

- A tea towel for drying up was provided but there was no dishcloth, or washing up liquid and there was no plug for the sink so we couldn't wash up properly

- The temperature of the water in the shower didn't remain consistent - would go too hot or too cold.

None of the above majorly impacted our stay but these little things could be improved to make it better.

Breakfast

It was ok but needs a bit of improvement. The cereal had 3 containers all filled with cheerio's, a variety would be good. The breakfast changed from day to day every day there was - juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, waffles and one of the following meats: ham, sausage or sausage patties. Some days there were either bagels or bread and muffins, biscuits and gravy and fruit. Breakfast did get busy at times so you had to wait a short time for a re-stock and on occasions it did take some time for the tables to be cleared. The cutlery was also a mix of metal and plastic - a metal knife with a plastic fork!

As stated in previous reviews the entrance doors to the room are external but wasn't an issue for us.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, I do think things could run a little more efficiently (e.g. the taken safe key and breakfast) apparently the hotel has only just been purchased so hopefully efficiency will come with time.

We would recommend the Quality Suites and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments that will help us improve.
We are looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
18
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during memorial day weekend, as a part of my east coast tour. The hotel ambiance and decoration was very nice. Very good front desk and good rooms as well. The location was not bad too.

There was a sweet story about our visit to this hotel. When we booked this hotel - it was named as Chase Suit, we thought it would be one of the worst hotel in DC area. We were bound to take it becoz no budget hotel was available by that time near Rockville from where our tour scheduled to start at 5am. I booked this hotel very cheap and expectation we set very low after surfing their website. But the time we visited, it became Quality Suites, change of management and we were pleasantly surprised. Though for this name change we faced a hard time to find this hotel, but finally all worth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are looking forward to having you back. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my first time to try this facility or brand and I was impressed. The staff were very friendly like Mohamed at the FD and Mr. Duwor in their restaurant. Both of them were very accomodating and knowledgeable of the area. The room is very good for a family like ours, very spacious, have sofa bed and all the amenities for a long term stay or short one. Very clean bathroom and updated fixtures in the room. WiFi is free and they have a complimentary breakfast with a very variety of food for guest that starts early which is very good for business people or the one who is always on the go. Complimentary shuttle to Metro along the RED Line and a short travelling time to downtown DC.

Room Tip: I did stay on a corner suite and very spacious for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments, we are really looking forward to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very disappointed with Hotwire for getting this choice of an hotel. Good location for Rocville, Maryland, but the facilities are so old that I asked for a room change to a better room. The staff was accomodating and gave me a better room but still the gym was the worst gym I have ever encountered, no a/c, none of the machines worked and they were all broken. Looks good from the outside but not worth the time nor the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. The fitness room is closed for renovations and the treadmill was sent to the fitness equipment company for replacement.
We are into renovation process for the entire hotel after taking over from former ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Was attracted to this hotel due to larger rooms (suites) for same price as area hotels. The rooms were large, roomy and clean. The facility was older and showed signs of it but staff more than made up for that with their polite and efficient demeanor.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms in the rear of hotel as they border along a major highway and vehicle noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We are still in the process of improving the quality and comfort of our guests stays.
We hope to see you again in the future and we will have an entirely refreshed hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, Ontario
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

When looking for a hotel for our Washington trip, we wanted a nice room to come home to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. Our expectations were met! The free hot breakfast is nice. Our room was a suite with a separate bedroom and a kitchenette in the living area. Everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Above all, we found the service exceptional. Our requests were filled quickly and with a smile. Shuttle to the Metro was prompt and so convenient. We stayed here for three nights and found nothing to complain about. We would highly recommend this hotel - and wish it was closer to home so we could stay more often.
Be aware that if you are planning a visit to the National Mall, the Metro ride is about 40+ minutes with a change of trains at Metro Centre. If you are a senior you can get a Senior Smart trip card which lets you ride for about half the usual fare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
On behalf of the staff and management team, we want to say thank you for satying with us
and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of August while we were moving to Rockville. For about $70/night (including tax), we had a clean room that was the size of a full apartment, and all of the appliances seemed like they were brand new. We were very impressed, and will definitely be recommending this place to visitors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments!
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Address: 1380 Piccard Dr, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Rockville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Suite Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;