We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC

Save Saved
You added EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD 20852 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location: right across Rockville Pike from the metro, close to lots of stores and restaurants, and not far from the Beltway if you're driving. Most of the desk staff needed to go back to charm school, but Jake was particularly helpful with suggestions and attentiveness.

Their HI Express "Smart Start Breakfast" will never win any awards, but even the cereal and bagels can beat the $10 that many other DC area hotels charge for their breakfasts. If you really don't like it, there are many local options available at reasonable cost (diner, pancake house, Panera, etc.).

Room Tip: If you want quiet, especially if you're trying to sleep in, you want the ends of the hall. The e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
5
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I could not get in the Hilton on the other side of the street for that night, so this was available. Did not really see the hotel by day since I arrived at midnight. Parking is lower level of the next door commercial parking, easy walk (8$/night).
Seventh floor room was quiet and clean. Shower was chest high for someone tall (1m90 or 6'4"), bend the knees!!
AC is fixed between the windows (luckily I did not need it).
Breakfast was free and available in a cramped meeting room on the lobby level. I went to the Hilton were the conference I attended was providing breakfast too...

Room Tip: Avoid seventh floor, if you do not like small windows (like a pidgeon house)and chest high shower (f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Axel8807,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Rockville is an older, and somewhat tired hotel which is conveniently located near the Metro Twinbrook station. The staff was adequate, but hardly focused on customer service. Breakfast was poor and available in a crowded small room with inadequate space to sit down.For the money, you can do better.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear OlympicWest,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and food selection. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights for business and was really happy with the hotel. The staff is so sweet and really helpful. I'd forgotten an umbrella on a particularly rainy day and they not only offered me the hotel umbrella, which turned out to be broken, so they called the shuttle to drive me around till we found one. The rooms were spotless and the bathrooms were really nice, huge shower and everything.

The location was great. Five minute walk to the metro and 30 minutes to DC from there. There are also a ton of restaurants and shopping centers within walking distance from the hotel and the staff has great recommendations. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

In town for Gonzaga's graduation and the nearby Marriott and Hilton were booked so we spent 4 nights at this Holiday Inn Express and it was a pleasant stay. It was great having the metro stop across the street and many walkable shops nearby including a nails place and a pizza restaurant that some of our group enjoyed. The hotel was quiet, the maid service solid, and the included breakfast was pretty good. The only issue we had was the T.V which was hard to work. If you need to be in Rockville, Maryland, this is a good solution with a better price than the Hilton across the street.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked in on our points for a weeklong vacation, spending most of our days in Washington, DC. We arrived late on a Saturday and things were fine until Monday night. (I think it was Monday.) We had our disabled son with us. The fire alarm went off twice in the early morning hours of Tuesday. We had to walk down 7 flights of stairs. We knew there were lots of people booked in the hotel but not many came down for the first alarm. I asked where all the rest of the people were and the man who was there simply shrugged his shoulders. The second alarm was a repeat of the first, except this time the fire department indicated this property is a repeat offender, they are called out there all the time on false runs and they actually suspended the alarm until it could be fixed. We also found out the alarms were only going off on the 7th floor. It was very difficult on our son who has trouble walking, that after spending the day in DC, he had to walk down 7 flights of stairs twice. From the people on duty that night there was no explanation, no apology, nothing offered to repay us for the inconvenience. They offered to find us a room on another floor the next morning IF anything was available. The alarm went off again for the third time but was immediately shut down. I would not stay at this hotel again and definitely would not recommend it. We have stayed at many Holiday Inns, and as far as cleanliness this one was fine, but the customer service leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Donna B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stale air in a clean room is still a room I won't enjoy staying in. Nice staff but won't stay here again. Air con was difficult to figure out and the breakfast was not very healthy. Lots of traffic in this area took 30 minutes to drive 5 miles

Room Tip: Good luck finding the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Manager at EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC

Also Known As:
The Legacy Hotel And Meeting Centre
Legacy Hotel Rockville
The Legacy Hotel Meeting Centre
Address: 1775 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD 20852 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, we're EVEN™ Hotels and we're bringing healthy travel to everyone. We want to help you Eat Well, Keep Active, Rest Easy, and Accomplish More while you're on the road. Just a few minutes from Washington, D.C., with easy access to all three major airports (IAD, DCA, and BWI) and a short walk to the Metro Rail's Red Line with its strategically-located stops, the wellness-minded traveler finally has a haven at EVEN™ Hotels Rockville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EVEN Hotel-Rockville/Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.