We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cava

Cava
9713 Traville Gateway Drive, Rockville, MD 20850
301.309.9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 332 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice little Greek place tucked into a shopping plaza. Atmosphere was very nice. Service was superb. The food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend the beet salad and French toast dessert. Also, it was very smart of the waiter to offer us cucumber instead of pita with our dip sampler. The cucumber was so crunchy and didn't fill us up as much as bread would. Great place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lamb Burgers Oh MY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

went here for a quick holiday lunch with co - workers. I had a nice lamb burger slider with salad combination. The place was very busy but service was not slow in fact they were on top of everything.
I would love to come here for happy hour. Even though the menu is Greek and it is defiantly Greek owned and operated the bar area to me reminds me of an Old English Pub. Can't wait to go back for a beer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I've visited Cava on several occasions, including a weekday lunch and a dinner with a large group. For lunch, prices are reasonable and service is relatively quick. The lunch menu is small, with a limited selection of salads and sandwiches, but has options for both vegetarians and omnivores. The atmosphere at dinner is decidedly noisier. Patrons pack the tiny bar area and every seat in the house. We tried the flaming cheese appetizer just for fun (it looked more exciting than it tasted) and several other vegetarian mezze that were quite tasty. I plan to return, though perhaps not at the restaurant's busiest time. It's great to have a dependable place in this area that serves fresh Mediterranean fare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Everything on the menu is delicious, but if you never ordered the green beans, it's a must! Food comes out when it's ready, so always piping hot. Nicely presented, too. The only negative, the place is Very small, and the tables are jammed in. Very noisy,. so a great place for friends, but not a date. Waiter said they are going to open another Cava in FL, near West Palm

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Small, but great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We dropped by this place right after work minutes before it suddenly became jam packed with people. We ordered a few appetizers, tapas, and sliders. I washed it all down with a few bottles of Mythos and my so had a couple of their signature cocktails.
The atmosphere is great, awesome bar scene, but beware that space is severely limited. The food is pretty good, but it's the first time I saw greek spanokopita deep fried in oil. A big no-no! Otherwise, we definitely enjoyed it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cava also viewed

 

Been to Cava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.