We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to Order for a Large Family Gathering!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Osprey Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Osprey Point to your Saves list
Inn at Osprey Point
20786 Rock Hall Ave., Rock Hall, MD 21661   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Rock Hall B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Made to Order for a Large Family Gathering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I decided to write this review because I know that out there, somewhere, a person is searching for the perfect place to have a "destination" wedding. Rock Hall, Maryland, and its adjoining town, Chestertown might be just what you're looking for.

Our son was married at Running Fox Farm in Chestertown on October 23, 2010. I may write a review about that, too---it was fabulous!

This area is loaded with lovely inns and B 'n B's, but most of them will not accept small children. I was not about to leave my grandchildren out of the wedding festivities. By accident, I stumbled on the Inn at Osprey Point in Rock Hall. What luck!

The Inn itself doesn't take children. But just down the road, the Inn bought and renovated a building in a marina called "The Annex" which does. We rented all five rooms in the Annex for the younger members of the family. The rooms in the Annex were attractively decorated, pristine and perfect. Two of them share a porch that hangs over the dock so the little ones could watch the boats come and go.

The older relatives got to stay in the Inn which is spectacular. Built I imagine in the 19th century. Right on the water. A long winding driveway leading up to it. A first class restaurant on the premises. Plenty of parking. In a word---gorgeous!

I wish I'd taken a picture of our room called "Carina. It was a large, bright room, tastefully decorated with "antiques" and a bed that I didn't want to get out of. The bathroom was not exactly modern, but it was clean and had both a tub and a shower. For a little more money, I think I could have gotten a room with a fireplace. I peeked in on one as we left on Sunday. Breakfast was included for both Annex and Inn guests.

There's one thing I should point out before I sign off. There is no handicap access to either the rooms in the Annex or the rooms in the Inn. If your family members are able to climb some stairs, you'll thank me for recommending the Inn at Osprey Point.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ospreypoint_10, Manager at Inn at Osprey Point, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you for the time you took writing this wonderful review. Your glowing comments are very much appreciated. One thing I would like to address is the comment about the main Inn not allowing children. The Inn does welcome children at all three of its locations (main Inn, Annex and Farmhouse). I am sorry the impression was given that we do not allow children in the main house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Took over all the rooms at Osprey Point for transatlantic family reunion and birthday celebration. Every room was perfect; we all loved the marina views, both at the main Inn and the annexe half a mile away. The farmhouse was perfect for us all to gather and the kids loved the pool. Terri and her housekeeping staff were wonderful and Abbey served up a fabulous feast for the birthday; we were a party of 31 so it was a considerable achievement. Pictures of the Inn on the internet were what made me book it for our trip but the reality is even better. It was a magical 4 days. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ospreypoint_10, Manager at Inn at Osprey Point, responded to this review, September 5, 2010
We were delighted to host your family reunion! It was great having your family take over the whole Inn. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Stayed at Osprey Point over Memorial Day. It's a lovely inn which has a popular restaurant and a very busy habor--this place is bustling! The grounds are lovely and the harbor is quite picturesque at sunset. Boaters can dock at the harbor and come in and use the pool and other facilities alongside inn guests, very different from a B&B. The continental buffet breakfast was nice and the free usage of the bicycles was great, we were able to explore Rock Hall and visit the beach every day! There is a restaurant onsite but since it was a holiday weekend we were told there were no dinner reservations available the entire weekend.

We stayed in Cotton Blossom--the room was very large and beautifully decorated!

Just an observation, but I got the impression this place tends to host more boaters and their guests rather than traditional overnight guests who are looking for a weekend getaway spot...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ospreypoint_10, Manager at Inn at Osprey Point, responded to this review, September 5, 2010
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Osprey Point. As you can tell our restauant is becoming very busy. If you are thinking of coming here to dine, we strongly advise you to make advanced reservations. We do not like turning people away. Also, our Inn does host some of our boaters and/or their guests, but most of our guests are coming for getaways, events in the area and weddings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Osprey Point is wonderful. We got married there in Oct 09 and the whole thing went beautifully. Our family rented all of the rooms at the Inn, and everyone was quite pleased. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are big, the bathrooms are very nice, and they even give you delicious cookies when you check in. The staff there is very nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was more than I expected and well attended - so there was always plenty of food.

Our wedding went very smoothly. Throughout the entire event, the staff was excellent, helpful, and very pleasant with our guests and other vendors. Every time we asked for something, we were met with a smile and whatever it was got taken care of very quickly. The food was beyond delicious. The location was a perfect setting for the wedding - tons of beautiful photos. We keep hearing from our friends and relatives how nice the whole thing was. The only downside was communication regarding planning was sometimes fustrating. We found it worked best just come by the inn and talk to people in person - then we got a lot taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Simple beautiful! Osprey Point is a great place to get away. Great views, delicious food, and very relaxing. We may even get married here because we loved it so much!

  • Liked — The bar and grill at the beautiful pool area.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Osprey Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Osprey Point

Address: 20786 Rock Hall Ave., Rock Hall, MD 21661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rock Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Osprey Point is an Eastern Shore waterfront property with three distinct accommodation venues. The Main Inn, colonial-style throughout the whole building, envelops seven charming rooms and a fine dining restaurant.The Osprey Annex, located right on the Bay just 1/2 mile from the Main Inn, boasts five contemporary-style rooms. The beautifully renovated Farmhouse is just a short walk from the Main Inn. It has become very popular for groups and gives the privacy and space they want. Room amenities can include a fireplace, whirlpool bathtub, king beds, and excellent views of the Chesapeake Bay and romantic sunsets. Come in the quiet season for a romantic getaway or just to relax from your hectic work life. If you have an adventuresome side, enjoy kayaking, swimming in our large pool, or participating in area activities such as visiting the nearby Eastern Neck Wildlife Refuge, fishing and sailing charters, shopping, and jogging/walking/biking our historic town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Osprey Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Osprey Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.