We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Concert Venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mainstay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Mainstay
5753 Main Street, Rock Hall, MD 21661
410-639-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 attractions in Rock Hall
Type: Performances, Theaters
Attraction Details
Eastern shore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Concert Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The best. A funky old fashioned concert venue with great performers from all over the world and amazingly affordable prices for tickets. Not fancy, but brings the audience together for all the right reasons. Great variety in acts!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“107 year old Venue encapsulates the soul of every past performance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Mainstay housed in a building that has witnessed 107 years of Eastern Shore history on Main Street in Rock Hall is a treasure supported by art conscious residents, headed up by the well loved local character, Tom McHugh, that attracts a variety of performing artists. Looking just at the building from the outside, history catches your eye, but when you enter and take in the rows of jauntily mismatched chairs and sofas with pictures and memorabilia of past performaners covering almost every inch of wall space the place grabs you and your imagination. And the performance hasn't even begun!
We attended a play called Stretchmarks, Growing Into Motherhood, written by Christine Armand and performed by four Actresses from San Francisco, CA. The show was a hoot bringing the entire audience to both tears and howls of laughter with a standing ovation at the conclusion!
Wine is sold before the show and during the intermission. The Mainstay can seat over 100 with natural acoustics musicians and audiences love. On other occasions we have enjoyed wonderful musical events.
If you're in Rock Hall, check the blackboard out front of the Mainstay to see who is appearing and be sure to call for reservations as this popular gem frequently sells out!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

When you arrive in Rock Hall, drive down Main Street and check out the sign to see if there are any performances during your visit. If there is something going on, I recommend calling for reservations. You will be amazed at the quality of the music and the friendliness of everyone there. Tickets are usually $15 or $20, but some performances are free. Get there a few minutes early so you can pick your favorite mismatched and random chairs--but don't take the corner of the church pew because that is my favorite seat.

You missed an amazing show last night of duelling pianos and a fun history lesson of boogie woogie, some jazz, rock and roll, blues, but I promise you the next show will be fun also.

There is a bar to buy beer,wine,soda,water and great homemade baked goods as you enter from the deck on the back. Go in, buy a snack, pay your admission, find a seat and start talking to your neighbor. This is a unique place that shows the charms of the town.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Mainstay. The musicians were amazing, and it is clear that a lot of thought and energy has gone into shaping this performance space. I just wished we lived nearby so we could go to every show!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Difficult to describe the Mainstay. It reminds one of a jazz club. Authentic jazz is probably there most popular offerrings but they address the entire music spectrum. We've seen many of the giants of jazz (our favorite genre) who come from all over to play at the Mainstay. An evening of music is usually $15-$20pp. Call for a rez and pay-at-the-door. No credit/debit cards. No food but they have a beer/wine cash bar. Don't expect lushly decorated surroundings; seating is a hodge-podge of chairs, sofas, and even a couple of pews.

If you can, go there when Sue Matthews appears. Her vocalization is excellent.

The Maistay's roots go back about 11 years when they had the unexpected surprise of having Charley Bird play there. Those were the days when they literally had to dig hard to get entertainment and an audience. Now, agents call them and it's becoming unusual no to have a sell-out for most performances.

If you like music, you can't miss the Mainstay.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mainstay also viewed

 

Been to The Mainstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mainstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mainstay to your Saves list