We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Normandie Farm

Normandie Farm
10710 Falls Rd., Potomac, MD 20854
301-983-8838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Normandie Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 46 restaurants in Potomac
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Democracy Blvd
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We came here twice in one week - one night for dinner and then for Sunday Brunch. For dinner we both ordered fish - it was just okay and nothing memorable. The Sunday Brunch was a little more memorable - the oysters were very good and fresh. The rest of the brunch was just okay. The atmosphere is nice and it's close to home but the food is just overall okay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    14
    30
    9
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hospitality and the wait staff. Beautiful restaurant. I would go there anytime, great place for parties. Birthday, all special occasions. Love the food. Good variety.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bet our "old friend" is older than your "old friend" in our absence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Three for lunch: A not there in 5-6 years; B not there for 35 years; C not there for 45+ years. This was a return to classic old-standby French dishes which we all thoroughly enjoyed. Would agree that service wan't the most attentive (even though we were the first to arrive for lunch), but Hacene certainly was attentive and welcoming, and yes we agreed that it could be spruced up some. I sat facing the fireplace and looking at the painting above the mantel wondered why the rip had never been repaired; however, I was looking more carefully at the copperware and equally wondering if these were leftovers what was the kitchen using. I'm biased in that I love this food and I would pretty much overlook everything else anyway. Everyone comments on the popovers but the gaufrettes are probably harder to make and are a nice side-note. A minor criticism would be the chocolate truffle cake was too large a portion and was somewhat too dense. Other than that I would rent a motel room in Potomac and eat there twice a day until I completed the menu. Not having seen the dinner menu, I don't know what that pricing is like, but many of the luncheon dishes were well underpriced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brunch gone bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had not been to brunch in some time, buI I had been there for lunch a few times and it was good. The Easter brunch was not good. As others have said the interior needs to be repaired; worn carpet, drafts, uneven floor boards, no hand rail on steps, dingy lighting, etc. The buffet left a lot to be desired. The food was not promptly replenished. The raw oysters were flat and partly dried out as if they had been open too long. What used to be a mountain of raw bar was now a 2 foot square section of the one table. No omelet station. On the hot line, the veal marsala was made from veal shank, not scallopini and was in the same brown sauce as the beef strongonoff. The beef in the stronganoff had obviously been cooked on the dry side before being covered with the the bland brown sauce. No pasta available for either - just over browned oven potatoes and saffron rice. On Easter they had but one small plate of thinly cut, cold ham squeezed in next to the beef. The beef was a "steamship round" which was mostly carved away - I saw them put out a new one, which was partly carved away as well when put out. At times there was no one there to carve. I am not a fish eater, but what I saw looked dry and overdone. The desserts were better but people were standing around waiting because it was not being replenished except it seemed when someone asked for a specific item they had seen but was not absent. The lemon pie was great but the chocolate mousse was not chilled, and had apparently been sitting out for some time. The wait staff seemed attentive and pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Revisit an Old Friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It had been a while since we had been out to the Normandie Farm restaurant on Falls Road in Potomac. Sunday evenings are a wonderful time to go enjoy the pop-overs and soak up the atmosphere while you wait for your food to be prepared. The staff is accommodating to guests of all ages, but I was especially pleased at their deference to my aged in-laws. Bring all the generations of your family for a lovely meal in a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandie Farm also viewed

 

Been to Normandie Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandie Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.