We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch strip mall gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grilled Oyster Company

The Grilled Oyster Company
Tuckerman Lane, Potomac, MD
301-299-9888
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grilled Oyster Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Potomac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tuckerman Lane & Seven Locks Road
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top notch strip mall gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very good food and service. A great improvement from previous restaurant n this space. Get crowded on weekend. The trifle desert is not good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Have visited several times. Recommend the crab stuffed oyster, it's pricey but tasty. Have had the rosemary chicken and the Chesapeake something (forget the actual name) and both were good. Usually go with what's the special that day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Oysters yes, otherwise not so sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This restaurant had had a favorable writeup by the Washington Post food critic a few months ago, so when in the neighborhood we wanted to give it a try. Reader, please do not regard this as a significant review, as we only had a lunch. My raw oysters were excellent, a selection of varieties made by the restaurant and explained to me when served. On the other hand, my wife's "jumbo shrimp" (excusing the oxymoron) were overpriced at $2 each and distinctly underjumboed; shrimp that in both size and quality we'd expect from the supermarket frozen foods section at a fraction of the price. I was served a very good chowder, she a crab soup with tomatoes that should rather be described as a tomato soup with crab. This is not "he said/she said", as we sampled each others meals and concur. Prices were medium-to-high. Service was excellent but overdone with conversations interrupted by too-frequent queries from many staff "how is your meal?"

My recommendation is to stick with their specialty, which is unique in the locality. If I were not specifically seeking oysters I would do better elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Finally a good Neighborhood Restaurant in Cabin John Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We've been waiting for ages for this type of restaurant so close to our home. We've been missing a good neighborhood restaurant since Jade Billows closed and was replaced with a barely mediocre Asian substitute. Next door opened exactly what was needed. Grilled Oyster is so enjoyable and friendly that I could go there every week and be happy. The food, which is mostly seafood, is top notch and the service is quite good. The Oysters are fresh and even their Hamburgers are very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oysters and much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

With an imaginative kitchen and most attentive serve staff, this gem found in a strip mall elicits taking the extra time to enjoy their varying menu. The chalkboard announces the chef's creations of the day and we've yet to be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grilled Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to The Grilled Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grilled Oyster Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.