We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings and Comfy Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bolger Center to your Saves list
Bolger Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Surroundings and Comfy Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Although the rooms are smallish, they are comfortable and nice. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed both stays. The surrounding grounds make it especially nice as it is like a beautiful college campus, complete with a nature trail surrounding the entire property. It has all the amenities I usually look for, including a real 25 yard pool, fitness center, plush towels and FREE wifi which is not a given in even top of the line places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are very happy to learn that this was you second stay at the Bolger Center and you enjoyed both of them. We are also glad to know that you liked our grounds and had a chance to enjoy our natural walking trail, swimming pool and fitness center. We look forward to your third stay next time you travel to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    74
    48
    17
    17
See reviews for
72
27
29
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was impresed by the Bolger Center. The class I took was easy to find and I had all the conveniences that I needed. The room was a little small, about 180 sq feet, but for a nominal price I could have received a larger room. Not too far from the METRO, and then very easy to purchase a METRO card and go into town. It was a great Hotel.

Room Tip: I did not get a suite, but next time I will. I was onthe Third floor of Building D and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. It is great to learn that you had a great stay at the Bolger Center for your class. We look forward to your return if travel brings you to this area!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

In the 11 nights I stayed at the Bolger Conference Center, I only encountered the most friendly, gracious, and helpful staff....from the custodians and maids to the front desk and chefs at the restaurant. The grounds were beautiful, food was excellent, and even the exercise equipment well maintained....if you are in the DC area you must stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and recommending us. It is delighted to learn that you had a great long-term stay with us at the Bolger Center. We are very happy to know you liked our ground, food and fitness center and found our staff friendly, gracious and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purdue-Indiana
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for a two day conference, where obviously the point is to work, not enjoy time off. The rooms are quite small (10 x 12?) as are the bathrooms. Kind of like some European hotels. No special amenities. Same with the Stained Glass Hall (obviously a former chapel) where we held our workshops. I will say that the Internet wifi was quite good. Breakfasts were plentiful if plain, but with made-to-order omelets. And grits. One great feature was a plethora of umbrellas left the doors as it rained the entire time we were there. There was a very loud band (old guys playing Doors) in the bar, which seemed out of place for this quiet retreat (but since it's a separate building from the sleeping quarters, no harm).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. It is nice to learn that you liked the varieties of our breakfast buffet and complimentary WIFI. The live band was for a special event – a fundraising for Breast Cancer Charities of America. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bolger Center in Potomac, Maryland. What a pleasant stay I had! I normally stay in the District. At the Bolger Center with its serene grounds I had the opportunity for reflective calm between meetings. Yet, I was never isolated and transportation to and from the District and the airport was excellent.

The staff was very pleasant and the room was exceptionally clean. The window opened, a true miracle! I recomment the center to anyone holding a group meeting in the DC metro area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Bolger Center and sharing your experience with us. We are very glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed a quiet and calm time between your meetings. It is nice to know you liked our ground and found the room exceptionally clean and staff pleasant. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Came to DC for the first time in 20 years. Took the metro, and was picked up by relatives who'd never thought of the place. Fabulous grounds, great beds,please staff. GREAT BARGAIN.
Found it on Tingo. Thank you TINGO!
I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a suite for a fabulous weekend rate! Thank you TINGO
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and recommending us. It is great to learn that you liked our grounds and beds and found our staff pleasant and helpful. We look forward to your return if travel brings you to this area!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just returned from a social event held at the Bolger Center and were a bit disappointed. Our party was spread out throughout the facility and not near each other. We had a room on the first floor, which is more like a basement, and seemed a bit dated. Room was large enough, but then bathroom was tiny, with no counter space for all our stuff.
The event was also disappointing. Bar staff poured beers into tiny glasses and wasted most of the rest of the beer. Melted ice watered down mixed drinks. At the actual event, we could not get coffee because we were out in the hall at the moment they came by and asked. Then never checked backed again.
I'm sure this was an expensive event, and don't feel their service was up to the quality expected.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. We apologize that our staff services did not meet your expectation. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Address: 9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolger Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.