We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolger Center

Save Saved
You added Bolger Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolger Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potomac
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Exceptional Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

In the 11 nights I stayed at the Bolger Conference Center, I only encountered the most friendly, gracious, and helpful staff....from the custodians and maids to the front desk and chefs at the restaurant. The grounds were beautiful, food was excellent, and even the exercise equipment well maintained....if you are in the DC area you must stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and recommending us. It is delighted to learn that you had a great long-term stay with us at the Bolger Center. We are very happy to know you liked our ground, food and fitness center and found our staff friendly, gracious and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    63
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
64
24
27
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purdue-Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for a two day conference, where obviously the point is to work, not enjoy time off. The rooms are quite small (10 x 12?) as are the bathrooms. Kind of like some European hotels. No special amenities. Same with the Stained Glass Hall (obviously a former chapel) where we held our workshops. I will say that the Internet wifi was quite good. Breakfasts were plentiful if plain, but with made-to-order omelets. And grits. One great feature was a plethora of umbrellas left the doors as it rained the entire time we were there. There was a very loud band (old guys playing Doors) in the bar, which seemed out of place for this quiet retreat (but since it's a separate building from the sleeping quarters, no harm).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. It is nice to learn that you liked the varieties of our breakfast buffet and complimentary WIFI. The live band was for a special event – a fundraising for Breast Cancer Charities of America. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bolger Center in Potomac, Maryland. What a pleasant stay I had! I normally stay in the District. At the Bolger Center with its serene grounds I had the opportunity for reflective calm between meetings. Yet, I was never isolated and transportation to and from the District and the airport was excellent.

The staff was very pleasant and the room was exceptionally clean. The window opened, a true miracle! I recomment the center to anyone holding a group meeting in the DC metro area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Bolger Center and sharing your experience with us. We are very glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed a quiet and calm time between your meetings. It is nice to know you liked our ground and found the room exceptionally clean and staff pleasant. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Came to DC for the first time in 20 years. Took the metro, and was picked up by relatives who'd never thought of the place. Fabulous grounds, great beds,please staff. GREAT BARGAIN.
Found it on Tingo. Thank you TINGO!
I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a suite for a fabulous weekend rate! Thank you TINGO
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and recommending us. It is great to learn that you liked our grounds and beds and found our staff pleasant and helpful. We look forward to your return if travel brings you to this area!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just returned from a social event held at the Bolger Center and were a bit disappointed. Our party was spread out throughout the facility and not near each other. We had a room on the first floor, which is more like a basement, and seemed a bit dated. Room was large enough, but then bathroom was tiny, with no counter space for all our stuff.
The event was also disappointing. Bar staff poured beers into tiny glasses and wasted most of the rest of the beer. Melted ice watered down mixed drinks. At the actual event, we could not get coffee because we were out in the hall at the moment they came by and asked. Then never checked backed again.
I'm sure this was an expensive event, and don't feel their service was up to the quality expected.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. We apologize that our staff services did not meet your expectation. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from my third conference at the Bolger Center. Once again, the atmosphere, hospitality and professionalism of the staff and fantastic food continue to impress. Beautiful, well-maintained grounds, free (!) parking and comfortable meeting sites make this a first class place to hold business conferences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and recommending us. It is great to hear from a loyal customer. We’re glad to learn that you found the staff friendly and professional and liked our food and grounds. We look forward to your return for your next conference or your personal trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed here 5 or 6 times and appreciate what a great value it is a little more each time. The Hotel/Conference center is situated on a nice park-like setting with a 1.5 mile walking trail around the grounds and through the neighboring woods. Easy parking, easy access to Routes 270 and 495. Shopping nearby. Buffet style food at dinner is very good and the breakfast with omelett station, fresh fruit, made to order waffles, real home made oatmeal and some very cool egg dishes, free coffee and juices is off the charts excellent and worth way more than the $12. Rooms are clean, efficiently laid out. I upgraded to a suite which was a modest increase in cost and really affordable - sitting room with couch, smallish desk, wet bar, frig. Staff is extremely friendly and welcoming - everyone from the front desk to the bartenders to the staff in the dining hall and the valet and maintenance. 10 minutes or so from the closest Metro stop and then about 35 mins from that stop to DC on the Metro.

Not 5 stars because it is not the Ritz but if you are looking for a clean, convenient location, nice grounds, free parking, good food and friendly staff for an affordable price can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if avaialble - not a big cost increase if available when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for being a Bolger loyal customer and taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay and found the hotel clean and location convenient for you. We are also very glad to know that you liked the buffet dinner and the varieties at the breakfast and found the rooms clean and staff friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Address: 9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolger Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.