We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncaring Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bolger Center

Save Saved
You added Bolger Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolger Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potomac
Urbandale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uncaring Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bolger 3 nights. Went to the front desk about a problem at the hotel. The staff acted as if they could care less. I emailed the Hotel a few days later and was told by employee (Sherry Bauer) she was out of the office and would respond when she returned. Never heard from her. Pop machine in building C, steals your money. The sink in the Bath Room is very small with no place to set your toiletries. Made it difficult for the other half to get ready. Another issue is the parking. There is one parking lot for several buildings. They put us in a building that was as far away as possible. Meals are served in another Building, a distance away. So if you stay there, Make sure you bring your tennis shoes.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room close to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Bolger Center. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. We apologize for the lack of response. We would like to assure you that we take your feedback very seriously. There are 5 parking lots at the Bolger Center. Parking lots number 3, 4, 5 are close to the hotel rooms. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    63
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
64
24
27
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stumbled on to this Hotel by the internet. We were coming to the A T & T Nationals and we figured we would give this place a shot. We were not disappointed at all. The grounds were amazing the room was great and although we did have an issue with some out of control guests, we spoke to one of the waitresses and she took care of it immediately. I call this place a resort not a hotel and we plan to visit again next year and bring alot of friends with us. We found a great price from Easytobook.com and were very pleased. A side note we didn't know that the hotel provided a FREE Shuttle to the gold tournament that alone saved us over $60.00.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for such an excellent review on our hotel and services. We’re thrilled to learn that you had a great stay at the Bolger Center during the tournament. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends next year!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at The Bolger Center for a conference. The 83 acre campus was very nice. The facilities were great. I enjoyed the .5 mile jogging trail that ran through the woods. The grounds are full of gardens with small plaques identifying each plant and tree.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We’re glad to read that you found the rooms clean and bar spacious. We hope you will come back and stay with us again during your next trip to this area!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a great place for a conference where its important to keep everyone on campus. The beds a good, the rooms clean, and the bar is spacious. The rooms can be small, but they don't lack much. The only drawback for some will be the distance from any attractions. They do have a shuttle in the evenings to the mall or the Bethesda Metro Station, but other wise you are limited to strolling the expansive grounds for entertainment.

Room Tip: Do not book one of the single rooms. They are the smallest hotel rooms you will ever see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am a high-income and high-functioning individual and have been for more than 30 years. In all of my travels to many parts of the world and staying in very high-priced resorts and other venues for my professional responsibilities in medicine - I have never experienced a place like the Bolger Center. The property is beautiful, well maintained, and humble. The staff are helpful and respectful. If you want luxury, the Bolger Center is not for you. If you want to be treated to an extremely beautiful property, integrated with its natural surroundings (a deer came within 10 yards of me while I was doing my Tai Chi outdoors in the morning), that is affordable, peaceful, and relaxed, then you will love this place. I was there in June, it was green and lush. It was almost magic. The food is OK - I am mostly vegetarian - it is not gourmet, but it is well made and nutritious, and there was always fish and plenty of vegetables available. The coffee was excellent and plentiful - I have the hardest time with this in most hotels, since I enjoy coffee throughout the day. Coffee was always available - free - along with free bottles of water.

Room Tip: The whole property is quiet - I stayed 4th floor in the Osgood Building and it was perfect for me, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

So this property is owned by the postal service. The grounds are large and lovely, the exterior is nice, room very comfortable, bath small. After reading reviews we went with the two queen room figuring it would have more space and it did!! also had a little second room with a desk and couch. bathroom is tiny with no place to put your travel bag so had to put that on the desk.
Room was clean, beds comfortable, lots of pillows, two tvs (not many channels but who cares).
Free parking, free wifi - both musts for me. we didn't eat there but had a drink each night in the pony express bar - get it - postal service.
The property is well located and lots of restaurants near by.
The check in was easy but the desk clerk either was confused or really didn't want to help when we asked how far a certain local restaurant was - it was 2 miles away.
She also instructed us to park our car in the lot then bring our bags in. The check in area is in the middle of the property and the rooms are in semi attached buildings. Our building was directly behind the check in and the lot was really 2 buildings away. She should have just told us to bring the bags in and then park. This is part of the reason didn't give this more stars.
I would stay here again and again. price was amazing, prepaid with booking service. Everything else in Bethesda was twice the price and charged for parking. Because this is really in Potomac it was easy to get to and get in and out of. We were playing golf nearby so it was perfect

Room Tip: we were on the second floor - elevator is slow so use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here for work several times a year for the past seven years and it's bar none the best value and location into DC area. No beltway traffic, beautiful grounds and very friendly and accommodating staff. I think it's the best kept secret in DC!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Address: 9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolger Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.