We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Disappointed by Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bolger Center to your Saves list
Bolger Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Disappointed by Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived on a cold day last April and were bowled over by the picturesque surroundings of the Bolger Center. Some of the most beautiful cherry trees were in bloom around the property. The room was neat and cosy. Ample wardrobe space. The towels were arranged beautifully in the bathrooms. The food at the Pony Express was pretty good but healthy options were really limited. However the lady who served us was really friendly and helpful.
The problems we faced was the room cleaning took ages and required a lot of phone calls. The manager told us that the rooms don't get cleaned if we are in the room. On the first day, we specifically left the room in order to get it cleaned after calling for someone to turn up, but no one had come to clean it. Finally someone came to clean it at 3pm when I was in the shower and had locked it (since I had a child in the room). Came out of the bathroom and told the cleaner to come back in 10 minutes and she very rudely goes "my God, my God!". Then she doesn't turn up at all and it's almost 4. I go out of the room and see she has turned the sign (clean my room) the other way to "do not disturb". Called up the reception once again to report that the said cleaning lady had not turned up after I asked her to come after 10 minutes. They get back to me asking me about the sign on my room. Obviously the nasty lady had gone and reported it as " do not disturb" after turning it the other way round! Anyway, she turned up later at 10 minutes to 4 and cleaned the room in a huff. Did not enjoy this experience at all and on almost every day of our week long stay had to follow up with the reception in order to get it cleaned! I suggest that they get separate signs for "clean" and "do not disturb" so that chamber maids who want to go home early don't sneakily change the signs again.

On the good side is the fact that there is a self service laundry room and free shuttle service to Montgomery Mall. The iced fruity water in the reception area is a treat. The girls in the reception area were also really polite and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAinColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at our hotel. Guest satisfactions are always our priority. We’re so sorry for all the inconvenience and unpleasant experience regarding the housekeeping service. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team to improve our services. Thank you for the good reviews of our front desk and restaurant staff. We hope we can have another chance to provide you a better experience.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent value when staying in the area. Standard room quite small but comfortable.
No room service.
Very pleasant cafeteria style dining room. Many selections.
Did not have time to use pool or fitness facilities.Stairmaster at ice machine alcove.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcm276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel. It’s delighted to read that you pleasant experience at the Bolger Center. We’re glad you like our dining room and the variety of selections. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back when you travel to this area again and hope you will have time to try the pool and fitness center!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is very beautiful. Staff are friendly. Girls on Reception desk are polite and friendly and care about customers. Shuttle bus will take you to metro station and mall so it makes it easier.
Aircon was not working properly during our stay but Reception staff sent us electric fan and it was ok when weather was good. Other than that everything else was great.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at our hotel. We’re glad to read that you found our front desk staff friendly and polite. We’re sorry for the inconvenience due to the air conditioner issue. We hope we will visit us again for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is lovely with beautiful landscaping. (Some of the more unusual plantings are even labeled.)

The staff was great. When I needed extra towels, etc. the maid was accommodating and representative of the overall top-down helpfulness and pleasantness.

There was a dispenser in the lobby with fresh lemons, fresh ginger, and lemongrass and water; we really liked that - refreshing and different.

It was quiet and smoke-free.

The beds and linens were excellent and scent-free.

Overall, a very positive experience.

The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was exceptional
in quality and choices.

Room Tip: If you have any issues, ask to change. We were initially assigned a room on Level 1, and asked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms. S. Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel! It is great to read that you found our staff helpful and liked our landscaping, services, buffet breakfast and guestrooms. We hope you will come back when you visit this area next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Upon our arrival, the room we were assigned was so bad, we went back to the reception to ask to change. The room was very tiny, and had no window, except for a small corner window.
The hotel is outdated and overpriced. Breakfast was expensive, but had a good selection of goods.
Overall, it is not a hotel I would recommend at all.
Staff was nice, though.

Room Tip: Upon your arrival, ask for the largest room available in your category. And make sure to ask a brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florence g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We’re sorry to hear that our guestroom didn’t meet your expectations. We hope you will have a better experience when you stay with us next time.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Basic rooms are very small, more like dorm rooms than a hotel. If you can find a good orice on one of the online booking services, I recommend opting for a suite. Staff is very helpful.Food is adequate. This is a learning center more than a hotel in a very nice neighborhood.

Room Tip: Find a discounted suite. It is the size of a normal hotel room and a sunny corner location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We’re sorry the guestroom didn't meet your expectation. We’re glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and liked the food options. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potomac
2.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
4.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#3 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Address: 9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing