We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Disappointed by Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bolger Center

Save Saved
You added Bolger Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolger Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potomac
Colombo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Disappointed by Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived on a cold day last April and were bowled over by the picturesque surroundings of the Bolger Center. Some of the most beautiful cherry trees were in bloom around the property. The room was neat and cosy. Ample wardrobe space. The towels were arranged beautifully in the bathrooms. The food at the Pony Express was pretty good but healthy options were really limited. However the lady who served us was really friendly and helpful.
The problems we faced was the room cleaning took ages and required a lot of phone calls. The manager told us that the rooms don't get cleaned if we are in the room. On the first day, we specifically left the room in order to get it cleaned after calling for someone to turn up, but no one had come to clean it. Finally someone came to clean it at 3pm when I was in the shower and had locked it (since I had a child in the room). Came out of the bathroom and told the cleaner to come back in 10 minutes and she very rudely goes "my God, my God!". Then she doesn't turn up at all and it's almost 4. I go out of the room and see she has turned the sign (clean my room) the other way to "do not disturb". Called up the reception once again to report that the said cleaning lady had not turned up after I asked her to come after 10 minutes. They get back to me asking me about the sign on my room. Obviously the nasty lady had gone and reported it as " do not disturb" after turning it the other way round! Anyway, she turned up later at 10 minutes to 4 and cleaned the room in a huff. Did not enjoy this experience at all and on almost every day of our week long stay had to follow up with the reception in order to get it cleaned! I suggest that they get separate signs for "clean" and "do not disturb" so that chamber maids who want to go home early don't sneakily change the signs again.

On the good side is the fact that there is a self service laundry room and free shuttle service to Montgomery Mall. The iced fruity water in the reception area is a treat. The girls in the reception area were also really polite and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at our hotel. Guest satisfactions are always our priority. We’re so sorry for all the inconvenience and unpleasant experience regarding the housekeeping service. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team to improve our services. Thank you for the good reviews of our front desk and restaurant staff. We hope we can have another chance to provide you a better experience.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    63
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
64
24
27
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent value when staying in the area. Standard room quite small but comfortable.
No room service.
Very pleasant cafeteria style dining room. Many selections.
Did not have time to use pool or fitness facilities.Stairmaster at ice machine alcove.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel. It’s delighted to read that you pleasant experience at the Bolger Center. We’re glad you like our dining room and the variety of selections. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back when you travel to this area again and hope you will have time to try the pool and fitness center!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is very beautiful. Staff are friendly. Girls on Reception desk are polite and friendly and care about customers. Shuttle bus will take you to metro station and mall so it makes it easier.
Aircon was not working properly during our stay but Reception staff sent us electric fan and it was ok when weather was good. Other than that everything else was great.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at our hotel. We’re glad to read that you found our front desk staff friendly and polite. We’re sorry for the inconvenience due to the air conditioner issue. We hope we will visit us again for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is lovely with beautiful landscaping. (Some of the more unusual plantings are even labeled.)

The staff was great. When I needed extra towels, etc. the maid was accommodating and representative of the overall top-down helpfulness and pleasantness.

There was a dispenser in the lobby with fresh lemons, fresh ginger, and lemongrass and water; we really liked that - refreshing and different.

It was quiet and smoke-free.

The beds and linens were excellent and scent-free.

Overall, a very positive experience.

The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was exceptional
in quality and choices.

Room Tip: If you have any issues, ask to change. We were initially assigned a room on Level 1, and asked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel! It is great to read that you found our staff helpful and liked our landscaping, services, buffet breakfast and guestrooms. We hope you will come back when you visit this area next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Upon our arrival, the room we were assigned was so bad, we went back to the reception to ask to change. The room was very tiny, and had no window, except for a small corner window.
The hotel is outdated and overpriced. Breakfast was expensive, but had a good selection of goods.
Overall, it is not a hotel I would recommend at all.
Staff was nice, though.

Room Tip: Upon your arrival, ask for the largest room available in your category. And make sure to ask a brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We’re sorry to hear that our guestroom didn’t meet your expectations. We hope you will have a better experience when you stay with us next time.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Basic rooms are very small, more like dorm rooms than a hotel. If you can find a good orice on one of the online booking services, I recommend opting for a suite. Staff is very helpful.Food is adequate. This is a learning center more than a hotel in a very nice neighborhood.

Room Tip: Find a discounted suite. It is the size of a normal hotel room and a sunny corner location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We’re sorry the guestroom didn't meet your expectation. We’re glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and liked the food options. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Address: 9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolger Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.