We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bolger Center to your Saves list
Bolger Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Toronto Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Different hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I recently attended a wedding in Potomac MD. The wedding was held at, and we stayed at the Bolger Centre.
It has an interesting history....originally a convent and then a training centre for the U.S. Postal service.
The rooms and suites are updated and have every luxury amenity, including upscale bath products, free wi-fi. great beds.
We stayed in a suite with a large living room with a pull out queen size bed. However, it was not your standard pull out bed mattress. It was from Lazyboy and included and inflatable mattress, which was as comfortable as any bed. The bedroom had a king size bed. Lots of drawer and closet space
In one of the best examples of customer service that I have seen in my travels, my son-in-law forgot cufflinks for his shirt. He asked around if anyone had an extra set.....no one did. He asked the deskclerk at the hotel who proceeded to remove his own cufflinks and lend them to him for the evening.....great service.
There was a great included breakfast in the morning....fresh omelettes, fruit, cereal, breads bacon...the whole works.
By the way, all of this was $109 per night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    74
    48
    17
    17
See reviews for
72
27
29
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel advertises a restaurant on site which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It seems that is only if they have conferences scheduled. I was offered a chance to walk to another building and eat bar food during happy hour.

There also was not any maid service in my room.

When I talked to them to complain, I was told that they were sorry.

Rooms are extremely small for the amount of money paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcdonough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Location was great, in a very nice neighborhood, yet close to everything. This is a converted convent, so all parts of the hotel are spread out. Mainly used for conferences, and other gatherings. The indoor pool is located in the same building, and directly next to the ballroom area. So, walking back to the room from the pool, you feel quite underdressed as there are many people around you in formal dress, and suit and tie. There is also a full time lifeguard at the 10 foot pool. One night we were forced out of our room in our pajamas due to the fire alarm sounding. After the 4 of us stood outside for at least 20 minutes, we confirmed it was okay to go back in. The staff said that some kid attending a party pulled the alarm as a prank. The room was small, and dorm-like, but clean. The breakfast is not free. They do offer bike rentals, which was nice. The staff was very nice, and I suppose it was a good value for the area, but it was just a little odd as hotels go.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Beautiful place for wedding & the room rates are very reasonable for guests. The free breakfast buffet is excellent.
They do have very small room. & the standard room that we stayed only have one mirror in bathroom with hospital handicap sink. The room is wheelchair accessable but we did not request it so we don't know if all rooms are like that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A recurring theme at the Bolger Conference Center would probably be centered around isolation. Located on a large, secluded, and well-manicured suburban-to-rural campus, the Bolger is not that far, mileage-wise, from Washington, D.C., but you can count on it taking 10 minutes to drive to "civilization" in Northern Bethesda or I-270/I-495 Beltway, or 30-45 minutes of (madness-inducing) city driving to get to the heart of the capital--don't stay here if you hope to rely on public transportation, there are no Metro stops nearby. Overall, the property felt like a college campus, with separate buildings for check-in, guest quarters, fitness, and dining (we did not eat at the property.) Consider that the Bolger provides "satellite" workout rooms in the housing buildings and you can appreciate the "isolation" theme.
That said, this made the Bolger the quietest property I've ever stayed at, even with the room's climate control going at full blast (the toilet flush/shower noise being the exceptions.) The room was clean, neat, and comfortable though it was not appointed quite like pictured (for one, there was no "table for two".) No in-room Wi-Fi; they have complimentary wired Ethernet that worked well (BYO wireless router?). Roomy under-counter refrigerator. Strong, hot shower. Bathroom fan only ran when the heat lamp was on. There were two climate controls in our suite: a wall mounted thermostat and a LG Neo Plasma unit which could heat or cool (be sure to flip the remote open to reveal additional controls). I was told our room was redone in December 2010. I think they probably could've made some better furniture choices (in terms of functionality) for the "sitting room" portion of our suite. (The desk was not very deep, the coffee table felt like it was going to come apart, and the table holding up the flat screen TV in the corner of the room seemed like an afterthought.) Perhaps through some miscommunication with the hotel staff when I called to reconfirm the room, when I went to open it on my first night, the sofa bed had not been made up. I contacted the front desk and an overnight maintenance worker found some sheets, though he had some difficulty locating an appropriate pillow. Still, don't set your expectations too high in regards to the sofa bed comfort. The second night, I slept more restfully on the sofa without bothering to open it up. I did not have a chance to explore any of their facilities, though would have loved to have checked out their pool, fitness facilities, and 1.5 mile jogging/cycling path.
Other notes: You can enter the facility directly from Democracy Boulevard. If you "satellite view" the property, the hotel facilities are the cluster of buildings on the west side of the property. We stayed here because it was "ridiculously cheap": our suite was half the price of one night in Bethesda/Sliver Springs. Though we did not use it, it also had its own private patio. And, for all this, it was beyond an excellent value. This conference center is a USPS training facility, managed by Dolce. This would be a great place to hide from the world.

Room Tip: Our suite was at the far end of building C; the farthest from parking. If you'd rather have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is primarily a conference center for business/academic meetings. The grounds are very nice but the rooms are small and a bit dated. It takes a fair amount of effort to drive into the city, or (my preference) to drive to a Metro, park, and take the Metro. Generally you are much better off staying closer to the city. The service is fine and dining at the Center is very average.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I liked the place. It is perfect if you are here for a conference. I would not really consider this place for a vacation. If you are here fora conference, you will appreciate the fact that everything is extremely close. I took the metro from here to downtown DC. They DO have a shuttle that will take you to the metro stop!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Address: 9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolger Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.