We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prost!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prost

Prost
1195 Jacob Tome Memorial Highway, Port Deposit, MD 21904
(443) 731-1889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Port Deposit
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Prost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a reservation for 3 adults, mid-week. We were greeted warmly and seated promptly. The German family owner-operators have created an atmosphere that is classic simple German, with lots of wood; could be anywhere in Germany. Service was excellent, friendly and attentive. Great selection of beers and a long list of very good German wines at reasonable prices. We tasted 4 wines before choosing! Food was excellent, though a little dry. Wiener schnitzel, fish, red cabbage, spaetzle, German potato salad. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perryville, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Auf Deutschland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Found this gem when my neighbor recommend it. Amazing authentic German foods, HUGH beer selection imported from Germany, and they have a great Springfest every year with music, food, beer, kids activities, and prizes. Ich liebe dich Prost!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ach du Lieber Himmel,what a twist on German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

One of our party was really hot for Sauerbraten so we headed for Prost. Quaint,clean and the a german motif to the nth degree. The sauerbraten, I thought was a bit too sweet and the meat could have been a bit more tender. The Weiner Schnitzel was cause for debate. I said That I thought the veal was a frozen patty, 5 others disagreed, but the rest of the dish was well prepared. The Spaetzle and dumplings were great side dishes. The Bier selections which our very pleasant waitress, Jenna, suggested were fantastic, including a non-alcoholic brew for the non-drinker in our group. But the star of the show were the pretzels OMG they were unbelievable. I would drive from my home state of NJ just for these warm,crusty and salty gems,over and over again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So So German”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I made a recent visit to Prost and I was disappointed. My wife is a picky eater and went because I like German food. It was a trip not worth taking and will not in the future. I won't even go into what we had as it is not worth the effort.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not good German food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My son ordered Jaeger Schnitzel. Arrgh. The pork cutlets were of the frozen pre-breaded variety, topped with a blah gravy (canned?) with very little mushrooms (canned). The spatzle on the dish were fine. I had a goulash that tasted like it had Chief Boyardee sauce. Menu said it was brown and spicy but this was red and plain. Again, spatzle was fine. My wife had saurbraten which she said was typical of most places (including Silver Mining Company) but nothing special.

All-in-all, not much of a German restaurant. Having spent twelve years in Germany, I could have excused some things but when it was so obvious that it was NOT homemade sauces, cutlets, etc., for which I think there is NO excuse. Especially since "it ain't cheap".

I am surprised at some of the other reviews but I guess everybody has a different idea of what good food tastes like.

Will I go back? No.

Do I recommend it? NO.

But, if you've never tasted good German food, be my guest...just don't ask me to join you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prost also viewed

 

Been to Prost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.