We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible seating, overly raw steak, crabcakes come with the shell pieces inside!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BackFin Blues Restaurant

BackFin Blues Restaurant
19 S Main St., Port Deposit, MD 21904
410-378-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Port Deposit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible seating, overly raw steak, crabcakes come with the shell pieces inside!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Called for reservations for 5 people. Arrived on time and were seated next to the front door (35° outside) and had a great view of the entire kitchen operation. Placed our orders and the waitress came back to tell us the sides we ordered were "86'd". It was 7pm and they opeded at 5....must have had a run on sweet potatoes at 6. My short ribs came out spongy and raw (had to be sent back to the kitchen. Three people at the table ordered crab cakes and they ALL had shells in every other bite. The fifth meal was a veal dish and it was bland to say the least. We requested more rolls and were brought a basket with 2 rolls in it for 5 people. Definitely will not return....not worth the $200.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Deposit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5-STARS all the way! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've tried this twice so far and was impressed both times. Service was excellent, food was wonderful and perfect, decor was elegant and friendly. It was the first time EVER from all my dining experiences, that the chef actually comes out and greets us personally, what a treat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Deposit, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been eating at Backfin Blues for a couple of years , and LOVE the food and the atmosphere , We have never been disappointed and look forward to going back soon !!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Incredible, Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've eaten here several times and every time I've gotten the Stuffed Shrimp. Call me a creature of habit but I love it. The place is small buy cozy. My only complaint is that the tables are very close together and I'm tall so I always feel somewhat cramped. Service is always very good and the chef/owner typically visits each table to check on you - which is a very nice touch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrettsville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband & I've have had dinner there 4 times. The last time we went was Saturday 1/5 for his birthday. He had one of the specials, which was veal and langostino; the langostino was mushy and when we let our server know, he did nothing to make the issue right. Perhaps it was because the chef was not on site that night. The service was not up to par this evening also.
While the veal was good, the portion was pathetically small, once the bone was removed. We don't mind spending money on a good dinner but our last dinner there is likely our last dinner there. Being on their mailing list, we didn't even redeem the birthday dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BackFin Blues Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Deposit, MD
 

Been to BackFin Blues Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackFin Blues Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.