We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fabulous Relaxing Environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oyster Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast
44-46 Connell Road, Oyster Bay, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Oyster Bay B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Fabulous Relaxing Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed a the Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast in December 2011(travel date in this review does not go back far enough) and have been promising to write this for over a year. Better late than never I guess!!!! Myself and my husband along with our two daughters 17 and 21 went to Australia for a very special holiday and I have to say that Yvonne and Frank helped to make the start of that trip very special. What a wonderful sight to wake up to, beautiful still waters at the bottom of the garden, you could be anywhere, the sound of the birds singing to wake up to, along with the most wonderful of breakfasts to enjoy, take a dip in the pool before breakfast if you desire. Yvonne and Frank were perfect hosts and we enjoyed many a conversation about life in Australia and recommendations of where to visit. Frank even went out of his way to take us in his car to the train station so we were able to make the absolute most of our days in Sydney, even offering to collect us late at night, way beyond what we expected. We really felt reluctant to leave such a welcoming, peaceful environment but still only a train ride into Sydney. After a very long flight I would not have wanted to be anywhere else. Just sad that I did not write this a year ago.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Angie,
Great to hear from you --Hope all is going well for your family. Thank you for thinking about us we really appreciate everyone's comments.
It is very peaceful here & yet only a 25-30 minute train trip to the city. So hassle free Many more people are discovering the hidden gem --the Sutherland Shire --so close to Sydney but with so many different attractions of it's own --Kurnell --Birthplace of our Nation , Aboriginal Heritage & Whale watching .The Royal National Park Cronulla Beaches to mention a few Have a great year
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Clean quiet B and B in suburb of Sydney. We chose as convenient for airport. Hosts very welcoming . Safe parking in driveway. Very peaceful and we had a great night's sleep. Communal breakfast table which is great for meeting other guests. It felt as if you are in someone's home rather than your own space. Ideal for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Queen room does not have en suite - private bathroom down corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments-it is always very helpful for our prospective guests to view these Our Queen room is our smallest room & it has a queen bed but just like our other rooms it overlooks the pool & the Georges River so it has great River views. We also have a Guest's lounge & dining room downstairs as well as a large patio with tables & chairs beside the pool so we always say that no-one needs to stay in their room --
Also we are close to the Airport but far enough away not to be affected by the noise
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Oyster Bay B&B for four nights and Frank & Yvonne did all they could to make our stay welcoming and comfortable. We can only reinforce the many tributes paid to them in these reviews and add that when leaving for the airport at an unsociable 3.30 am, Yvonne graciously made sure she was there to bid us a cheery good-bye! That is above and beyond the call of duty and characterises their approach to their excellent work. Thank you both!

Room Tip: The Spa Room has the most amazing view over Oyster Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Gerald & Ros,
So great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us .. We always are interested in our guests' stories & yours in particular as we have been to Bath & it brings back great memories. The biscuits were terrific & we were interested in the story behind their making. .
We always say We don't need to go the the World as the World comes to us .
Many thanks -- hope to see you in Australia again sometime .
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A gorgeous quaint bed and breakfast situated on the river, in a quiet peaceful suburb for a getaway from the city! Frank and Yvonne were so lovely and great hosts, providing us with advice and making our stay very comfortable. We had the smallest room which was cute and homely. Awaiting us was homemade delicious truffles, slippers and dressing gowns. Our bathroom which we didn't share, was just down the corridor and had a very nice shower. Breakfast always set us up for the day ahead, courtesy of Yvonne's cooking and Franks delivery. They showed us to macadamia nuts on the terrace, they had hand picked from their tree for us to enjoy overlooking their swimming pool and beyond that the river. We had a take away one night and Yvonne was quick to give us plates and cutlery. Frank took us down to the canoe where my partner and I went out on the water for the morning. Was just sensational! They made a real effort to make our stay special. Our favourite place in NSW!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Kirstie,
Frank & I are so pleased that you enjoyed going in the canoe. It really is very peaceful out there. especially early morning or late afternoon! We are always striving to make our guest's stay as memorable as possible so we really do appreciate your feedback
Many thanks.
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were 5 adults travelling to Sydney for a wedding in November. We needed at least two rooms and the Oyster Bay B&B was perfect. Rooms clean, spacious and well equipped. The property owners were lovely gracious hosts and the property itself boasts a beautiful location right on the water. The breakfast was home made, plenty of options and very generous in size. We would recommend to anyone looking for an alternative to a hotel / motel in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Roger & all of the Family,
Thank you for your kind words about our B & B . Frank & I do try to make everyone's stay as memorable as possible & so it is very encouraging to have some feed back. Hope your trip back to Melbourne was a very safe & happy one . Have a great family Christmas & we hope 2013 is a great year for everyone
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights with my wife in mid-October. Very nice house on a no through traffic street in a residential neighborhood. The house was clean. The grounds well kept. Guest rooms are upstairs, Frank and Yvonne apparently live in part of the first floor of the house. We stayed in one of the bedrooms facing the rear of the house which included a bath and closet. Television, a refrigerator and pot to make tea were in the room along with a king size bed.
Frank loaned us a power adapter since our equipment from the US would not plug into the Australian outlets.
Both Frank and Yvonne were very helpful in giving advice on sites to visit and had a large library of information on local sites.
Breakfast was available from 6:30 to 9:00. The request was that we specify which of the breakfasts, continental or English, we wanted the following morning and the approximate time. I had the English breakfast. Eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, toast, coffee, orange juice. Very good and very substantial. I am happy to report that my diet has returned to moderation now that I have returned home.
We did most of our travel on Sydney's excellent train/transit system. The Jannali station is 3 km from the property. We rented a car in part because I wanted the challenge of driving on the left, but it is very possible as demonstrated by some others staying at the property to use only the train and bus without large inconvenience.
Robert, the ticket agent at the Jannali station proved to be a great help in selling us exactly the transport passes we needed. Great to see an employee working for a public transit system that takes it on himself to be such a great ambassador.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your comments--we really appreciate our guests taking the time to let prospective travellers know how you enjoyed our B & B . Frank & I try to help guests as much as possible to make their stay here a memorable one .The Sutherland Shire has so much to offer travellers with beaches, The Royal National Park & lots of Aboriginal Heritage just to name a few !!
Safe Travelling
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the middle of August - a large group of friends and relatives from different continents and countries. Frank and Yvonne were extremely friendly and accommodating all our needs. The views from all the rooms were beautiful, breakfasts satisfy all the tastes, even more! Beds with electric blankets. All the rooms equipped with free wifi. We were feeling really comfortable and homey there. Once Frank even helped to start our car in the morning.
Everything is good about this hotel and we would highly recommend it. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Spa room is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Elena,
Thank you for your comments. We really enjoyed having your family here.--they were always so happy!! Frank & I hope the Wedding went well and everyone enjoyed their time in Kangaroo Valley.
Also how were the Whitsundays ? It is great to experience different parts of Australia. We hope to see you in Australia again.
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44-46 Connell Road, Oyster Bay, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Oyster Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oyster Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Oyster Bay B & B is in the Sutherland Shire, 25 minutes by train south of the Airport & the CBD in a very tranquil area.We have three rooms --our King Spa room, our King Ensuite ( goes into two King Singles if needed) & our Queen room with their own Bathrooms.the King Spa room has a spa bath. All rooms overlook the pool & the Georges River have King or Queen Beds, 106cm or 81cm TVs & DVD players, fans, fridges, FREE wireless internet,tea making facilities, Homemade Biscuits & Liqueur Chocolates.There is a Guest's Lounge & Dining room downstairs, a very large patio with Tables & Chairs, a canoe to paddle around the Bay, plenty of Gardens to wander about & FREE off street parking on our circular drive. We also provide a complimentary four course Breakfast of a fruit platter, cereals, juice, tea,perculated coffee, toast, jams, With a choice of An English, Smoked Salmon with poached Eggs on Muffins or Ham(off the Bone ) & poached Eggs ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list