We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oyster Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
44-46 Connell Road | Oyster Bay, Oyster Bay, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounted King Ensuite
Ranked #1 of 1 Oyster Bay B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A gorgeous quaint bed and breakfast situated on the river, in a quiet peaceful suburb for a getaway from the city! Frank and Yvonne were so lovely and great hosts, providing us with advice and making our stay very comfortable. We had the smallest room which was cute and homely. Awaiting us was homemade delicious truffles, slippers and dressing gowns. Our bathroom which we didn't share, was just down the corridor and had a very nice shower. Breakfast always set us up for the day ahead, courtesy of Yvonne's cooking and Franks delivery. They showed us to macadamia nuts on the terrace, they had hand picked from their tree for us to enjoy overlooking their swimming pool and beyond that the river. We had a take away one night and Yvonne was quick to give us plates and cutlery. Frank took us down to the canoe where my partner and I went out on the water for the morning. Was just sensational! They made a real effort to make our stay special. Our favourite place in NSW!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Kirstie,
Frank & I are so pleased that you enjoyed going in the canoe. It really is very peaceful out there. especially early morning or late afternoon! We are always striving to make our guest's stay as memorable as possible so we really do appreciate your feedback
Many thanks.
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were 5 adults travelling to Sydney for a wedding in November. We needed at least two rooms and the Oyster Bay B&B was perfect. Rooms clean, spacious and well equipped. The property owners were lovely gracious hosts and the property itself boasts a beautiful location right on the water. The breakfast was home made, plenty of options and very generous in size. We would recommend to anyone looking for an alternative to a hotel / motel in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Roger & all of the Family,
Thank you for your kind words about our B & B . Frank & I do try to make everyone's stay as memorable as possible & so it is very encouraging to have some feed back. Hope your trip back to Melbourne was a very safe & happy one . Have a great family Christmas & we hope 2013 is a great year for everyone
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights with my wife in mid-October. Very nice house on a no through traffic street in a residential neighborhood. The house was clean. The grounds well kept. Guest rooms are upstairs, Frank and Yvonne apparently live in part of the first floor of the house. We stayed in one of the bedrooms facing the rear of the house which included a bath and closet. Television, a refrigerator and pot to make tea were in the room along with a king size bed.
Frank loaned us a power adapter since our equipment from the US would not plug into the Australian outlets.
Both Frank and Yvonne were very helpful in giving advice on sites to visit and had a large library of information on local sites.
Breakfast was available from 6:30 to 9:00. The request was that we specify which of the breakfasts, continental or English, we wanted the following morning and the approximate time. I had the English breakfast. Eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, toast, coffee, orange juice. Very good and very substantial. I am happy to report that my diet has returned to moderation now that I have returned home.
We did most of our travel on Sydney's excellent train/transit system. The Jannali station is 3 km from the property. We rented a car in part because I wanted the challenge of driving on the left, but it is very possible as demonstrated by some others staying at the property to use only the train and bus without large inconvenience.
Robert, the ticket agent at the Jannali station proved to be a great help in selling us exactly the transport passes we needed. Great to see an employee working for a public transit system that takes it on himself to be such a great ambassador.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your comments--we really appreciate our guests taking the time to let prospective travellers know how you enjoyed our B & B . Frank & I try to help guests as much as possible to make their stay here a memorable one .The Sutherland Shire has so much to offer travellers with beaches, The Royal National Park & lots of Aboriginal Heritage just to name a few !!
Safe Travelling
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the middle of August - a large group of friends and relatives from different continents and countries. Frank and Yvonne were extremely friendly and accommodating all our needs. The views from all the rooms were beautiful, breakfasts satisfy all the tastes, even more! Beds with electric blankets. All the rooms equipped with free wifi. We were feeling really comfortable and homey there. Once Frank even helped to start our car in the morning.
Everything is good about this hotel and we would highly recommend it. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Spa room is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Elena,
Thank you for your comments. We really enjoyed having your family here.--they were always so happy!! Frank & I hope the Wedding went well and everyone enjoyed their time in Kangaroo Valley.
Also how were the Whitsundays ? It is great to experience different parts of Australia. We hope to see you in Australia again.
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our plane was delayed and we didn't get in until nearly midnight on a Friday night - but still Frank and Yvonne were so welcoming when we finally arrived ...and even upgraded us to a bigger room. Bed and electric blanket were divine - and when we woke up the next morning, we couldn't believe the view from our window (see attached). We both wanted to stay for ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Meagan,
Thank you for your great comments. We do try to make our guests feel very welcome in our home away from home. You will be pleased to hear that we have just won the Small Scale Accommodation Awards for the Sutherland Shire 2012 & are finalists in the Greater Sydney Tourism Awards which are announced on the 27th July at a gala dinner at Doltone House in the Shire.
Have a great Day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights there in early May. The water view rooms are large and very well equipped including free wifi. The residential area is quiet and very scenic. The breakfasts were great and they were very accommodating to our special requests. We toured the Royal National Park and the local botanical gardens while we were there and enjoyed both immensely. It was less than 3o minutes drive from the Sydney Airport and was one of the main reasons we picked this B&B as we had a late arrival. I would stay here again just for the hospitality and the rooms even if it was further from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you Arvid for your review--we always try to help our guests have a memorable stay at our B & B . We have just become WINNERS of the 2012 Sutherland Shire hosted Bed & Breakfasts Award.which is a great thrill to us .Our efforts have been rewarded.We hope you enjoyed your cruise back home
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at this B and B during a business trip. Hotel lodging in Sydney is very expensive and often cramped. Plus most hotels charge for the breakfast meal, wifi access, etc.
To say the least it was a huge success. I had somewhere I could do work from (the dining table), free wifi and a hot home cooked breakfast. Plus the view is fantastic. The location isn't bad either. It's about a 30 minute train ride to Sydney Harbor as well. You can zip down there pretty easy by hoping on two trains and the hosts explained all this too me. I hope to be back in Sydney often and the first call I make will be here.
Instead of spending money for a hotel, think twice. This B&B hands down beats any hotel in Sydney. I've traveled around the world for work and this would be in my top 2 accommodations.

Room Tip: They have a room with a hottub/etc. See if you can get that room, esp if on business as there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnepaton_11, Owner at Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Mike,
Many thanks for your kind words -that is what we hope to do --make our B & B a haven for travellers who come here for various reasons. It gives Frank & I great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here in a relaxed atmosphere very tranquil but close to everything!!We believe that travellers need a very comfortable bed, a very substantial Breakfast & pleasant Hosts.
Hope to see you here again soon
Regards,
Frank & Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44-46 Connell Road | Oyster Bay, Oyster Bay, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Oyster Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oyster Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning 4 STAR AAA RATED Oyster Bay B & B is in the Sutherland Shire, 25 minutes by train south of the Airport & the CBD in a very tranquil area.We have three rooms --our King Spa room, our King Ensuite ( goes into two King Singles if needed) & our Queen room with their own Bathrooms.The King Spa room has a spa bath. All rooms overlook the pool & the Georges River have King or Queen Beds, 106cm or 81cm TVs & DVD players, fans,heaters fridges, FREE wireless internet,tea making facilities, Homemade Biscuits & Liqueur Chocolates.There is a Guest's Lounge & Dining room downstairs, a very large patio with Tables & Chairs, a canoe to paddle around the Bay, plenty of Gardens to wander about & FREE off street parking on our circular drive. We also provide a complimentary four course Breakfast of a fruit platter, cereals, juice, tea,perculated coffee, toast, jams, With a choice of An English, Smoked Salmon with poached Eggs on Muffins or Ham(off the Bone ) & poached Eggs ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.