We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The River Gem BnB

The River Gem BnB
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The River Gem BnB to your Saves list
The River Gem BnB
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   407 2nd Street, Pocomoke City, MD 21851   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in the Sapphire Room for four nights. Mona and Violet made us feel very welcome and right at home, even offering to help us carry in our bags. The breakfasts were superb and over the top in quantity. The room was clean and inviting. There are some things that the room needs to be top-notch. The mattress sagged somewhat in the middle and anytime that you moved while sleeping, you gravitated to that low area. It's not the best scenario for two people trying sleep. Also, the bathroom needs a new showerhead, as the present one is old and doesn't spray well or adjust much. Then when running water at the sink, it backs up into the tub, which indicates the p-trap could stand a cleaning out. All in all, though, we would recommend the River Gem because of hospitality, cleanliness, service, and breakfasts.

Room Tip: Our room (Sapphire) was very quiet, as I'm sure they all are since the b&b is located on a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergembnb, Owner at The River Gem BnB, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the compliments on our delicious breakfasts and warm hospitality. We want you to remember your Thanksgiving stay fondly. (Indeed, had we known you had issues, we would gladly have moved you to another available room to ensure a pleasant stay.) In an effort to achieve “top-notch” status from you and future guests staying in the Sapphire Room, we have already replaced the showerhead and our plumber has successfully attacked the drainage issue (it was not the P-trap and we are glad you helped us prevent more serious damage to the house by alerting us to the problem!). Since sleep quality is important to our guests, we will be replacing the Sealy Posturepedic with another high quality mattress. We really appreciate your insight and feedback. If you are visiting relatives in Pocomoke again, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mullins, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We were traveling south and needed a place to stay for just one night. We prefer B&B's when possible and were very lucky to find this one at the last minute. We stayed in the Ruby room and had the best night's sleep in what felt like months. Then breakfast the next morning was just incredible - way more food than we could eat, but so good we wanted to eat it all! Fresh fruit, yummy warm scones, homemade granola parfait, sausage and waffles WITH ICE CREAM ON TOP!!! I must always have ice cream on my waffles from now on :)

Thank you Mona for taking such good care of us on what was a very busy day for you - hopefully we can come back and explore the area and stay with you again.

Green Features: They make their own soap, recycle, grow their own herbs.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

The River Gem B&B is a great place to stay!

We were greeted by Violet, and quickly introduced to Mona who showed us around the B&B and offered us fresh iced tea and cookies that Violet had made for us :)

The room (Ruby) was very nice and we were very comfortable. The River Gem is very green which we were very happy about, Mona and staff are very focused on reducing impact whether it be from using herbs and produce from their garden, to being cognizant of energy usage. Every innkeeper should think this way. All in all, we were very comfortable and it was really laid back and relaxing to stay here and we were happy to stay at a B&B that takes care of the environment. I unfortunately had to do some work, but was happy to have good wireless internet, which also made it easier to plan things to do in the area.

The location is really great. There is a boardwalk trail, within walking distance, along the Pocomoke River, a really nice place for a stroll and a picnic. It's a short drive to Assateague/Chincoteague, or the western shore of the Delmarva peninsula, a perfect central location. Lot's of antiquing in the area if you like that. Don's Chicken and Seafood house outside of town had great food and service. BUT don't think about going out for breakfast, the River Gem's breakfast is amazing. Trust me, I'm 6'1" 260lbs. and I could not finish the breakfast and the food served was amazing. Mona also packed some breakfasts to go for early departure days and we were blown away. I don't know how they do it, but I'm not a breakfast person and I want to go back this weekend just for the breakfast.

Long story short, this is a great place to stay. Comfortable, relaxing accommodations, fantastic breakfast, great staff, nothing to complain about at all.

P.S. - If you're going to Chincoteague, consider Daisy's Island Charters. We went out with the Assateague Explorer but that was a joke. The lazy captain parked the boat in front of some horses that were 100 yards away, sat there for an hour and a half, and drove back to the dock, probably the laziest tour experience I've ever had and for about $90. We went out the next day with Daisy's and Capt. Sandy was great, we actually saw less horses but she took us all over the island and instead of trying to sell us photos of the horses while a lame recording played in the background, Sandy taught us a lot of the history and took time to do some dolphin watching which was really cool, we had dophins all around the boat. Sharing a boat with 4-6 other people learning and seeing things the whole time is A LOT better than listening to bored, screaming, crying kids. And it cost less as well, and the boat was much nicer and way more comfortable. If you really want to SEE the wild ponies, make the hour drive north to Maryland's Assateague State Park. It's night and day, there are horses everywhere, whereas Chincoteague is very regulated with a very small number of horses isolated from where you can actually view them.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ruby, I can't imagine the other rooms being less comfortable. Off street parkin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love it! Their focus on being green is really awesome, and it's reflected from in all aspects of their B&B.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Stayed here during a road trip and loved the charm of the oldest building in town. Owner Mona is chatty and eager to please and has done a phenomenal job of making the place inviting - right down to having hot tea and cookies available at any time. It's a great base for getting crab cakes or getting into a canoe. Beware: breakfast is massive.

Room Tip: You can get a cheaper room by sharing a bathroom.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling yes; I don't think they compost. There's a lot of home baked goodies, so not too much wasted packaging there!
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We rode in the annual Seagull Century and decided to stay here because it was less expensive than other surrounding area hotels and i've always wanted to stay at a B&B. I cannot be happier with my first experience and I hope that any future stays at other B&B's will be as good as this! When I called Mona to book the room, I had explained why we were traveling and she immediately asked what would we like for breakfast (which is an integral part of a long day of cycling!). At that moment, I just thought I had hit the jackpot and could not wait to stay. The entire time we were there, it was nothing different, both Mona & Violet were accomodating, freindly and made us feel like we were at home. The house had lots of personal touches and hand made items that Mona did herself, which I thought was very neat. Overall, I had a very pleasant experience, from the charming rooms to the generous breakfasts I hope to make it a tradition and come back every year!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We chose this B and B in part because it is centrally located to several places we wanted to kayak in: Janes Island State Park, the Pocomoke River, and Oyster Bay, near Assateague Island. Mona and her daughter were exceptionally helpful in letting us store our kayaks in their garage and sending links that were helpful in planning our trip. Also, Mona checked with us more than once on our dietary preferences and cooked breakfasts that were so good and so large that we could actually save some for later! They were extremely attentive and helpful, and the house is extremely tasteful and comfortable. We are not fond of B and B's that are kitschy and filled with "tchotchkes," and the River Gem is not like that -- it's true elegance and old-time charm. This is a wonderful alternative to the standard hotel fare that dominates this region...highly recommended!

Green Features: The River Gem has qualified as a green B and B through a strict process that they comply with, which requires them, among other things, to reduce their waste every year.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We found this B&B by chance at the end of a 7 day trip, and were delighted. This is the way a B&B should be - charming, with good food and a friendly host, and little touches of charm everywhere. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Gem BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Gem BnB

Address: 407 2nd Street, Pocomoke City, MD 21851
Location: United States > Maryland > Pocomoke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pocomoke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Gem BnB 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Gem B&B resides in the historic Littleton T. Clarke House of Pocomoke City, on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. It will welcome you with the charm and grace of the Victorian era and dazzle you with zest and vitality of the current century. Sleep in one of four beautiful guest rooms and eat a home-made gourmet breakfast in the beautiful café-style dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The River Gem BnB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Gem BnB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.