We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent dinner was very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Branch Restaurant

The Olive Branch Restaurant
1721 Reisterstown Rd, Ste 2, Pikesville, MD 21208-2915
410-415-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 60 Restaurants in Pikesville
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our recent dinner was very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently my sister and I had the pleasure of dining at The Olive Branch. They have quite a large menu, and the recent is a little bit on the tacky side, BUT our food was delicious and the service was great. Our waiter was very attentive to our needs allowing us plenty of time to visit while still tending to our drink refills and our needs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's Greek to Me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

2.5 years ago I moved out of the state. There is not much I miss about Maryland but for some of the cuisine. The Olive Branch is one of them. The salad and dressing is the best. Pasta and breads are likewise good. I ordered the pasta with sausage and olives, hold the olives. Asked for extra garlic in the sauce (gotta keep the vampires away). All was superb. My dining partners were hooked by the crab cakes. Better than the famous crab houses of Baltimore. Only downside was somewhat slow service and lousy parking. Friendly service, but slow. As I have been there many times, this is a hit-or-miss proposition. All in all, I love the place and would recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I celebrated by 3_ birthday at the Olive Branch. I reserved the back room for about 35 guests. The restaurant allowed me to pick out 4 entrees for my guests to choose from. The price included entree, drink, gratuity and taxes for one low price. My guests were so impressed.

The room was beautiful, EVERYONE enjoyed their meal, and the staff was so friendly, you would have thought it was their birthday too!

My party had two waiters/waitress, Keith and Shemeika. They did exceptionally well in taking care of such a large party. At the end, Shemeika even sang Happy Birthday to me. As beautifully as she sang that song, I know this restaurant is just a stepping stone in her careeer.

Whenever I go there, I always get the sausage fettucini or crab cake. You can't go wrong with either. The prices are great and the food is always plentiful.

A Great Spot for family, friends or hangout.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We always leave with a to go box! Yes!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Huge portions of yummy Italian food can be dangerous to the waistline Lol but I'll risk it. Don't let the hole in the wall exterior or the outdated decor discourage you the food is actually really good. Everything comes with a huge bowl of salad and some of the best breadsticks ever (if you order carry out they still include a box full of salad and a side of breadsticks). By the time you eat that your stuffed and the meal hasn't even arrived yet. Their chicken Chesapeake, Sausage fettuccine or combo plate Roman holiday are not only huge but delicious. And oddly they have THE best crab cakes! In Maryland! They are huge as well and very little filler definitely get them. (even if you just do carry out and run the portions and quality of the dishes are consistent

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wierd decor but good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My first impressions when entering this place were not the best as the decor is very old and it is very dark. That being said, I ordered a beer and reviewed their menu, which was very reasonably priced. I opted for their Tuscan platter, which came with a Filet Mignon, a cannelloni and some linguine topped with some jumbo shrimp. Not very authentic Tuscan, but it was all cooked well and tasted delicious. the dish came with a large salad and some bread sticks. service was prompt and very friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Branch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Branch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Branch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.