We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
1777 Reisterstown Rd, Lbby, Pikesville, MD 21208-1500
410-837-0033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Pikesville
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hooks Lane
Description: Expect nothing less than an extraordinary meal and first-class service from one of the most outstanding prime steak houses in the world: Ruth's Chris Steak House. Among the most distinctive dining destinations in the area. At Ruth's Chris Steak House your service will always be first class-attentive but never fussy.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this place is the greatest-best food best service .The wait staff is most attentive.the pork chop is the best I had ever had anywhere.The onion rings are the closest to Burks which were the best ever.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expensive, but well worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My firm has it's holiday dinner here each December. We've never been disappointed!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Oh, the beef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Yes, this is a chain restaurant; and yes, some might find it a bit pretentious; and yes, it certainly is quite expensive; but, oh the beef! It's easy to forget what a perfectly cooked prime meat steak is like when you have been dining on choice, and this Ruth's Chris is the place to go to re-awaken your appreciation for beef as it should be eaten.
The sides too were excellent, as were our desserts.
Some recent ratings of this restaurant have criticized the waiters. My suggested solution is to ask for Al as your waiter, and then to follow his flawless advice.
As we were about to enter the restaurant, without reservations, we saw a sign saying jeans were not permitted. Ignore the sign; we were cordially welcome notwithstanding our jeans. True, we were seated at a table in a section that appeared to be for for the lower crust and/or those with babies, but I am sure that the food was of the very same quality as in the areas occupied by those decked out for the occasion.
The cost of our dinner will preclude frequent visits to this restaurant, but when the need for superb beef overcomes us, we will gladly make our way back to Ruth's Chris.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waiter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The waiter was very rude and the food was not good at all and very expensive!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced - Terrible Service - Poor Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Another horrible experience at Ruth Chris Pikesville. Three strikes and your out. First time had to wait over an hour with a reservation. Manager offered nothing - not even a drink. Second time ate at the bar side and service was so bad the waitress left in the middle of the meal and no one was left to cover the area. Had to get up several times to get anyone to wait on us. Finally had to get check at the front desk. Management didn't even apologize. Third time we were seated in bar area (people we went with wanted to use up their gift certificate or we would not have gone back). When the manager checked mine he said it was expired and they will not honor it. When I showed him it did not expire he simply threw it back at me. We all got up and left. Will NEVER return, not even for free. To say the manager was RUDE would be an understatement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.