We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable dinner in a first class restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
1777 Reisterstown Rd, Lbby, Pikesville, MD 21208-1500
410-837-0033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Pikesville
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hooks Lane
Description: Expect nothing less than an extraordinary meal and first-class service from one of the most outstanding prime steak houses in the world: Ruth's Chris Steak House. Among the most distinctive dining destinations in the area. At Ruth's Chris Steak House your service will always be first class-attentive but never fussy.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“An enjoyable dinner in a first class restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We celebrated a wedding anniversary with family on an early Sunday evening. We have been here many times and as always, service was outstanding and the food was great. No complaints and the steaks were delicious. Two of us ordered the petite filets and they were prepared exactly. The others ordered larger steaks and they were also prepared to order. The side dishes and the desserts were outstanding. Just order one side dish each and share. Same with desserts. The portions are very generous.
The Christmas decor was beautiful and not overdone – very tasteful. All in all, an enjoyable dinner in a first class restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They can cook a steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We live relatively close to the Ruth's Chris in Pikesville and we frequent this establishment at least once a month. Great happy hour menu and the service is what you would expect. The kitchen staff here cook the steak exactly the way you ordered it and the service is exceptional. A great destination when you and you wife just want to sit back and enjoy a wonderful meal and be taken care of. Kudos.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good but not worth the premium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I ate there last night. Service was excellent, but food and drink was spotty. Salad was about $9 and included only mixed greens, shaved onion, some small croutons and 1 1/2 grape tomatoes. Did not drink my cocktail, even after a replacement. Sides were large but only average in taste. But the steaks were very good! Have visited many Ruth Christs and this one is below their usual standards. One on Water Street downtown Baltimore is much better.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best steaks ever; deep pockets required!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

If you're in the mood to spend over $50 per person on a delicious steak dinner you've gotta try Ruth Chris; however, you can catch a discounted meal during restaurant week. The steaks are buttery and melt in your mouth. I saved a piece of filet mignon for my 17 year old son (because I felt guilty) and he hasn't stopped raving about it. All menu items are ala carte so you can run your bill up pretty quickly. Dress is business casual but I've seen diners in jeans - ugh! And please, whatever you do, don't bring young children, this is not the place for kids or teenagers for that matter.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week... Just OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This restaurant is usually pretty good... This time around, it was only OK. We got a nice booth in the lounge and ordered off the Restaurant Week menu. We both ordered steakhouse salads with blue cheese dressing, we split the Petit Filet & Double Cut Pork Chop, and both got cheesecake for dessert. My filet was definitely not as tender as I was used to having there on other occasions. It was a bit hard to chew. The salads were good and their cheesecake is always great. The Potatoes Au Gratin was undercooked and the creamed spinach was average at best...

I also noticed business seemed a bit slow as this place is usually pretty crowded. Especially during Restaurant Week... Its also very convenient that they have a parking lot which is why I prefer this location over the one in the harbor. Didn't catch our servers name, but she was very nice and attentive. Will probably return as I have had many good meals here over the years...maybe just an off night

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.