We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant; exceeded our expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Oak's Restaurant

Tall Oak's Restaurant
1541 Colony Rd, Pasadena, MD 21122
(410) 255-1438
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 92 restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant; exceeded our expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent caribean trout special , portions not too large, had room for dessert...a fantastic creme brulee. Clean and nicely refurbished Pasadena classic. A nice menu with many choices. Highly recommend trying this upscale restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    21
    13
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great food. Great hostess/host station. Food is simply yummy and delicious. They have very attentive servers and the newly renovated area is gorgeous!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First Time Won't Be The Last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had seen mixed reviews but decided to give it a try and we are so glad we did. From the appetizers to dessert, everything was excellent. It rivals the more expensive restaurants we have been to. We had the BBQ oyster appetizer and the crabmeat flatbread appetizer. Both were delicious. The prime rib was so tender and flavorful and was every bit as good as some of the $40 prime ribs we have had elsewhere. The horseradish cream sauce complimented it well. The asian pasta was a special and was also excellent. Finished off the meal with creme brulee dessert which was as good as the rest of the meal. Our server, Pam, enhanced the experience with her excellent service. The prices are very reasonable in our opinion. We used a double take coupon which the restaurant offers on a regular basis and is such a great deal. For $15 you get a $30 certificate. We will definitely go back! Thanks to the new owners for bringing Tall Oaks back in such a wonderfully different way! It's a great new addition to the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was disappointed a few years back when "Windows On The Bay" in Pasadena, Maryland closed, because 2 of the best young chefs in Maryland were running the kitchen. One of those chefs, Dennis Walz, has re-surfaced at Tall Oaks Restaurant on Colony Road. This is a very difficult restaurant to find if you are not from the Pasadena area, but believe me, it is well worth the search.

"Windows" was known for some very innovative dishes. They had the best cream of crab soup and Norwegian salmon I have had anywhere. The same unique food quality can now be enjoyed at Tall Oaks. The wine list is good and the prices are very reasonable for the level of food quality and the area.

The wait staff on my 2 visits was average. Even though the food is exceptional, the reality of the area is what it is. The restaurant is in an older building but has been remodeled from the previous Tall Oaks.

If you want a meal that can match or exceed the food quality at any of the best restaurants in Maryland, find this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I made my first visit to this neighborhood institution since its total renovation by a new owner/chef. The renovation is total and attractive but has made the dining room small and very crowded. My party of five included two children, who received huge grilled cheese sandwiches beautifully browned and nongreasy,along with perfectly seasoned fries, apparently made in house. This order off the children's menu would definitely appeal to even adults. My order of Chesapeake chicken -- a chicken breast stuffed with ham, crabmeat and spinach, was on the small side but well presented and delicious. I chose my sides from the classic menu, that gives a nod to favorites from the old Tall Oaks. The German potato salad was disappointing and will be to any lover of this dish. It consisted of very thinly sliced potatoes mildly seasoned with what appeared to be chives and undercooked bacon. There was no vinegar flavor whatsoever. The stewed tomatoes were, well, stewed tomatoes. I ordered mango sorbet for dessert and received a dish containing chunks of flavored ice. After gamely chipping away at it I gave up and the waitress took it off the bill. The other adults in my party were happy with their mahi mahi and steak salad and, especially, the creme brulee. Service was attentive and the basket of small, hot rolls started the meal nicely. ZI'll be back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Oak's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tall Oak's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Oak's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Tall Oak's Restaurant to your Saves list