We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great every time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Oak's Restaurant

Tall Oak's Restaurant
1541 Colony Rd, Pasadena, MD 21122
(410) 255-1438
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 93 restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have been several times, once for lunch and two other times for dinner. I have had great food and service. they have a great appetizer that is crab in little pastry shells, forgot the name of them but I love them! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    21
    13
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not sure if we would go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Got there on a Saturday evening around 6:00pm. They need a bartender who knows how to mix drinks. Our server was Carla who was very nice and we did hear the specials. They looked like they had enough wait staff, management out front and boys to clean off the tables. The problem I believe is in the kitchen, they may not have enough staff back there. This was the first time we have been to Tall Oaks since new management took over. The restaurant has been updated and looks nice and the prices are reasonable. The food is no where near as good as the old Tall Oaks. They say they have kept some of the old Tall Oak recipes, the stewed tomatoes were always a favorite of mine and what they serve now is not the same. They were OK. I ordered the sauteed spinach and it was quite horrible. I had my husband taste it and he said he thought it was sour as in spoiled. I told Carla and she thanked me for the info. I ordered the stuffed shrimp which were good and my husband had the blackened prime rib which he said was good. The presentation of the food was good but a waste of time if the taste doesn't match up. We also had to wait 20 minutes to get our change. Just "good" food does not say we will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food pretty good, service pretty bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After being seated, we waited about 10 minutes before the hostess came and tried to take a drink order, but she had no idea what we were talking about when it came to our drinks. Within two minutes after that, we had two servers come to our table telling us they were going to be our server. Not a good start. It does not appear the servers have sections, but work on a rotation system that has them running all over the restaurant waiting on tables. We never heard about the specials and two servers had no idea what the sauces were that are served on the veal. The food that came out of the kitchen was good, however. I had the pork chop and my wife had the Veal Maria although we had to send back her dinner because they prepared it with the wrong sauce. We enjoyed both dishes. The bottom line about this place is they need a manager who can properly train the servers on how to wait on tables. My wife and I were called "guys" by each person we encountered. We were given red wine glasses with white wine. It just seems like the servers are running around with no direction. The prices are very reasonable. This is a casual restaurant, most of the clientele were wearing shorts. Don't think we will go back since we aren't in Pasadena very often. This restaurant could be so much better if someone would put in the effort. If you aren't too picky about the service you receive, you will probably like this place. It was crowded when we got there (6:30), but after that group cleared out, the place was pretty empty. Maybe the service improves when there are less people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Some food good, service spotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went to this restaurant around 6:30 and were seated immediately. They were mabe 1/2 to 3/4 full. Our waitress wasn't very attentive and seemed to be more worried about her other tables when taking our order. She actually stopped mid-order and went over to the other table to deliver food. Ordered 1/2 doz oysters. Took forever. One of the owners came out to apologize and said that the kitchen got 'slammed'. When the oysters came out, they gave us a dozen. Nice touch. But the oysters were some of the smallest I have ever had. I ordered a stuffed shrimp entree which was very good. My fiance had a pasta dish with shrimp. There were only 4 small shrimp in the dish. He wished he had ordered mine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just had a great meal at Tall Oaks. It was our first visit and we can't wait to go back. The rosemary grilled chicken was great, as were the fish tacos and burger. Try the shaved onion appetizer. The onions were lightly battered and not greasy. Lava cake and the (I think it was called)" chocolatastic cake " were also a hit. Very reasonable prices and the service was very attentive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Oak's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tall Oak's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Oak's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.