We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy Chinese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive and Sesame

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive and Sesame
25 Magothy Beach Rd, Ste 106, Pasadena, MD 21122-4461
410-439-3900
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 93 restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Healthy Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Olive & Sesame has an updated menu although I continue to get my favorite item every time I visit.
They continue to be the only local Chinese eatery with healthy options via their Revolution Diet menu. My favorite is the Prawns and chicken with string beans, broccoli and carrots with brown rice. There is always more than I can eat and I end up taking a box full of tomorrow's lunch. The service is always speedy and attentive without being overbearing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    10
    8
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Healthy Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been to Olive and Sesame frequently since they opened and have always enjoyed the items on their Revolution Diet menu. We prefer the steamed preparation and the availability of brown rice instead of traditional white rice. The chef is always willing to change sauces and change the hotness to suit our tastes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“scallops taste like bleach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband had a shrimp and scallop dinner in a white sauce, he asked me to try a scallop and after I tried it, said, it tastes like bleach, doesn't it? It did taste like bleach. My cat would not eat it. The shrimp in the dish did not taste like bleach. The white sauce had no taste. I ordered terriyaki tuna. The tuna portion was fine and the terriyaki sauce was ok. I was extremely disappointed that the grilled vegetables consisted of 3 pieces of broccoli, one slice of carrot and 1/2 of a small red potato. the dish cost 15.95 and should have had more vegetables. I would not go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We vomited all night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

OMG we both had that gray tuna and a scallop main dish. Both of us were up al night terribly ill. No slurp. Missed work. I will say our waiter was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you like sushi, this is the place to go. They will even make it how you like it. I like my California roll with carrot instead of cucumber and they had no problem making to to order! Yummy! We have also order carry out several times and it has always been outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive and Sesame also viewed

 

Been to Olive and Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive and Sesame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.