We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Robert Morris Inn

The Robert Morris Inn
314 North Morris St, PO Box 40, Oxford, MD
410 226 5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Inn is beautiful inside. We had breakfast on the front porch and it was terrific. We even got a 15% discount for staying at Sandaway B&B

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear BillyG07506
Thank you for visiting our historic Inn. Breakfast out on the terrace, overlooking the Tred Avon is a great start to any day. Delighted you enjoyed it and thank you for sharing.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    51
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Hospitality plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We found ourselves in last minute need of a place to stay and had the good fortune to stumble upon kindness that is rarely seen these days. My husband and I will be patrons for life! The inn is lovely and hospitality could not have been any better. The food smelled delicious and we were very excited to try the specials as described by the chef. Due to an unfortunate situation we were not able to stay for dinner, but we will certainly be making reservations as soon as possible. I believe in karma and for that reason I believe great things are about to happen for The Robert Morris Inn!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Alyssa E
It was a pleasure to meet you and we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scenic and historical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

You have to have at least one meal outdoors at this historical place, once the home of Robert Morris , signer or the Declaration of Independence, and visited by George Washington.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
We thank you for visiting our Inn and for sharing with fellow travelers. Outside dining here is a bit special here and this July and August has seen perfect temperatures.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton md
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Depressing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Old and feels like it. The restaurant is dark but not charming. The wood was really awful and on top of that, the service was bad. All in all, we came out very very depressed at having spent a lot for a terrible meal. In Oxford MD.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for visiting our Tavern and sharing your comments. Had we been aware on the night we would have done more to make you comfortable. There is nothing faked about our Tavern it is very old, authentic and unique and as such we can appreciate that that is not for everyone. Try us again in the winter when our two fires are roaring.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Chow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The dinner was excellent and the restaurant was cozy and comfortable. The service was right on. You could choose to sit outside or indoors where it was cool.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Bill F
Many thanks for your kind words and delighted you enjoyed your experience at our Tavern. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Robert Morris Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.