We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Is Where The Heart Is, But The Bistro Is A Close Second” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artful Gourmet Bistro

Artful Gourmet Bistro
9433 Common Brook Rd, Ste 102, Owings Mills, MD 21117
(410) 356-2606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Artful Gourmet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Owings Mills
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lakeside Blvd.
Description: Artful Gourmet Bistro is a casual eating spot serving imaginative and excellent cuisine.
Owings Mills, MD
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Home Is Where The Heart Is, But The Bistro Is A Close Second”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Coming back from a trip out-of-town our 1st stop was the Bistro. This time no entrees just salads, or sandwiches. Food was excellent! Service matched the food with a pleasant review of specials before we settled in to order. The main room has deep colored walls and now one wall has as a highlight a group of frames. So maybe someday art will fill these frames too. Set back from the street the Bistro relies on word of mouth and provides a great neighborhood place that welcomes you back home. Had we ordered from the specials list the $ signs given in this review would have gone up a notch. Nice wine list and bar drinks, but we are from the diet coke and ice-tea drinkers so can't comment about that much.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The restaurant doesn't advertise much and unless you have heard about it, you might miss a wonderful dining experience. It's located in a small shopping area surrounded by condos.
This restaurant is top notch in all respects. It's fairly small, intimate, dark red walls with many paintings.
Clean white linens, sparkling silver and glasses set the mood. Each table has a bread basket filled with homemade rolls. The wait staff is knowledgeable, courteous and professional. Our waiter suggested that he bring a sample of soup for me to taste to ensure I would be pleased with it. The salads were fresh, gourmet in every way. The entrees were delicious. I recommended the lobster crabcake dinner. Beautifully presented, little to no filler and excellent taste. Another diner ordered a seafood medly in a vodka sauce with huge shrimp, lobster, scallops and clams. The veal marsala was wonderful, also the filet mignon.
Seek out the Artful Gourmet!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent entry salads, sandwiches and originals dishes. Overall a great place to eat with friends. Walk up service in the front of the restaurant, but they serve your order at the table. There is table service in the bar area and anise seating area in the back which can be reserved for private events. The outdoor seating area is very nice when the weather cooperates. I have been here for lunch and dinner both with friends and business associates. I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food here could hardly be better. My first visit I had a ravioli appetizer that I couldn't get enough of - an intense blend of complex flavors. Then a filet that was better and more tender than anything I've ever had at Ruth's Chris. The service is friendly and efficient, and the ambiance is elegant enough without being over done. They also seem to have a friendly bar, and it is isolated from the dinning room to maintain a composed eating experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Like the bar area. The happy hour is good. I am vegan and that is limited here but I still go for the overall atmosphere. The price is fine. The service is good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artful Gourmet Bistro also viewed

Owings Mills, MD
 

Been to Artful Gourmet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artful Gourmet Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.