We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than most” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Plaza Inn to your Saves list
Paradise Plaza Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    172
    56
    40
    68
See reviews for
226
170
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

We checked in on Sunday, July 24 at about 1:pm. As soon as we got to the front desk they asked for our cars licence plate numbers and gave us a tag to put on the car rearview mirror. We reserved both the Dolphin Suites (they only have 2 of these rooms), one located on the 4th and one located on the 5th and both bayview. Between us was 4 adults and 7 teenagers ages 12-17. The suites included 1 bedroom with a queen bed, wet bar and bathroom and the main room had 2 queens and a pull out sofa, bathroom, micro, frig, safe, coffee maker, table with 2 chairs and lots of closet and drawer space. There is a balcony off both rooms with 2 chairs each.

Housekeeping- Housekeepers start their day between 9-10 am each morning. We were told housekeeping only comes if you put out your maid service sign which we did. They start with the rooms checking out first. My family walked in on 2 different days to find 3 people in our room cleaning. I will give our room a 90% out of 100%. The bathrooms were spotless, furniture dusted and they vacuumed everyday but they really needed to pull out the dresser and night stand and clean behind them. Each day they left us plenty of towels, 2 bottles of water and Bath and Body shampoo, soap and lotion. Our sheets were changed twice during our stay. There is a note in the room saying they will only leave new towels in exchange for dirty towels because of the rate of towels that have been kidnapped in the last few weeks.

Pool- we never used it but it is located outside the front door next to the parking lot. We go to OC for the beach not the pool so this was not an issue.

Parking- You can park in front of the hotel or across the street. We did have to park across the street one night but again this was not a biggie for us. I have had to walk further to go into the mall or food store.

Getting onto the beach- You can go through 2 of the stores or walk around the building. We never had any problems of bumping into anyone or anything.

Fire Alarm- Our first night there someone pulled the alarm on the first floor at about 11:30pm. This happened 2 weeks ago and they DID catch the person. I wish them the same luck this time. We did get to meet a lot of nice people standing in the parking lot. We made the best of this situation!

Robes- we had 4 robes waiting for us in the room. Housekeeping gave us more so each of us could have our own.

Front desk- Very nice, very helpful, very friendly......same goes for the security guards.

We will be going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

We have just returned from what I might say has been the absolute worst hotel experience we have ever had!!!!! We have stayed in wide variety of hotels ranging from Hyatt to TVA (truck stop). $500.00 per night to 64.00 per night. This was the absolute worst!! First of all....as to the facilities, they do not have adequate parking....the overflow lot is across the street and on the next corner. The reason is because the pool, although fenced in, is in the parking lot! And is 3 1/2 feet deep. It seems as though it was built as an afterthought. The other hotels that have pools in that location either have them indoors or on the boardwalk side. To go to the beach & boardwalk....you must either walk through the Dairy Queen or the Sunsations beach shop with all of your gear, and children, bumping into either tables, racks of T-shirts or people to get through or....walk around the entire building!! That's the easy part. The staff is terrible. With the exception of a few of the people at the front desk, most are quite unfriendly and some, downright Rude! At least most at the front desk greet you and say good morning or smile. Housekeeping doesn't even acknowledge you exist. Which brings me to their housekeeping....filthy! There is a sign in the lobby that states....that due to a sudden lack of towels, you will receive towels in an "as good as clean" condition as opposed to daily fresh ones. There were days we didn't even receive a bathmat to exit the shower from. The safety bar in our shower was missing...our room was dirty....we had to request the chairs for our balcony. But we were lucky....other people we traveled with had a dirty tub that hadn't been cleaned. We were woken at 7:30 and 8:30 in the morning by housekeeping playing music and chattering to each other in the halls. The best is the rude comment you receive when you ask them to be quiet. Also...if you have young kids, you make not want them to hear them threatening to whoop the other's --- if they don't get to making the beds. Any way Ocean City has very polite and nice people, but not at this hotel. Also...if you are a group and you wish to book more than one room, take them at their word...they will not guarantee to keep all together. We booked 3 suites and one room. The day we checked in ...we were told that the room was placed on a seperate floor. When questioned...the manager became indignant and said that we don't guarantee and since the room payed the AAA rate and was only staying 6 nights... there was nothing to be done. Unless of course you would like to pay the same price for an even smaller room. Yes....be aware ....there are 2 types of standards w/out jacuzzis and they cost the same. There are 2 Marlin suites and they cost the same. Anyway....as far as we know...3 of the 4 rooms our group occupied didn't even leave a tip. We are disputing our bill. $1300.00 is a lot to pay for this experience. They are also being reported to the board of health, chamber of commerce, better business bureau and AAA. Stay At Your Own Risk!!! You have been warned!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2005

I stayed at the paradise plaza on july 8th-10th. overal, it was a great time. when i was making the reservations i requested an oceanfront on the highest floor possible. they were very friendly to work with while planning my stay. when i got there, they gave us an oceanfront on the 7th floor. (the hotel is only 8 floors) it was a great room. bath & body works toiletries, clean, and comfortable. the rooms were sound proofed very well, i didn't hear any noise from the other rooms. my room was an end unit which had 2 queen size beds, jacuzzi, ocean front balcony and an ocean view patio. the patio was hugh. the hotel is right on the boardwalk and in the middle of everything. anything you need is right there from restaurants, bars, snack shops, sunsations, and a convience store right next to the hotel (which has anything you need, beer, wine, snacks, whatever.) the weather was great and the staff was terrific. i had read on a previous posting that the cleaning people would show up late to clean the rooms. i did not experience that. by early afternoon the room was cleaned. i really dont have any complaints about the hotel, the only thing i can point out is that there are only 2 elevators. only one of them will take you to the bar/restaurant, which was no big deal. i never had to wait around for the elevator. the pool is small and located in the back of the hotel by the dumpster, but i never used it because it was so nice on the beach. the main parking lot only holds so many cars, but they have another lot across the street. lastly, the first night the fire alarms went off at 4:30am and we had to evacuate the hotel for about an hour. (it really wasn't a problem either, the staff handled everything appropriately.) overall, i really enjoyed my stay at the paradise plaza. i have stayed in ocmd many times and plan on staying there again. i would definetly refer this place to a friend. (sorry about any spelling errors, i just wanted to post this over my lunch break)

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2005

One word, DISGUSTING. Upon our arrival, we come to find out that we have to park across the street because there is no parking spaces left. Then, we had to carry our luggage in because they didn't have any carts available. We paid top dollar because we wanted their jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi had patch work done to it which was evident by a huge plaster job smack dab in the middle of the tub. The rooms were small and on our last night stay, the bed smelled like beer which means that they either didn't wash the sheets or that they simple couldn't get the smell out, which in either case, it was DISGUSTING! The balcony was so small too. I am so angry over how much the cost of this terrible hotel was for what it had to offer us. This was the first time we were ever in Ocean City Maryland. We usually go to the Jersey shores. I gotta tell ya, their hotels and MUCH better there. The beach is the only thing nice about Maryland.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Plaza Inn

Address: #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most ideal and premium located hotels in Ocean City. Sitting on the Boardwalk with a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean. Souvenirs, shops, burgers, ice cream and candy, all located on property! Grab the boardwalk tram or the city bus located on both sides of the hotel. An outdoor swimming pool, an in house restaurant and a customer friendly staff. Park your car and experience the entire beach resort by foot. It can't get any more convenient. From your private balcony, enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean from the water, seagulls, suntan lotions and the food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Plaza Ocean City Md
Paradise Plaza Inn Ocean City Maryland
Paradise Plaza Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Plaza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.