We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Plaza Inn to your Saves list
Paradise Plaza Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Carver, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were only here one night on our way to Florida and stopped by to see the horses at Assateague. We were upgraded to ocean front at no extra cost . It was a nice, clean room wit beautiful views of the sunset on the ocean as well as the boardwalk.
We had breakfast downstairs and were treated very well and the food was great. Hopefully, coming back on our way south in September. Thank you !!! Great and informative staff at the front desk.

Merci

Room Tip: Oceanfron the way to go !!! Couldn't download pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for stopping by on your way down south. I hope you were able to see some of the wildlife when you were at Assateague Island. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied and enjoyed the accommodations and were able to take in one of our beautiful sunrises! We certainly do hope to see you again in September. Enjoy Florida during this cold northeastern weather. We all envy you.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    221
    64
    43
    70
See reviews for
281
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Cozy lobby, with large, spacious, beautiful rooms upstairs. Very clean, with terrific amenities, also including bathrobes (but no continental breakfast, bring your own; attached restaurant closed on weekdays during winter). Wonderfully comfy beds. Spectacular views of the ocean, sunrises, and beach below. In mid-winter, everything was so quiet and peaceful, almost ethereal. Excellent winter rates. I could've stayed here until the summer season begins, and I will certainly be back this winter/spring when my work brings me to the area once again. Thank you, Paradise, for everything.

Room Tip: If you're a solo- or couples' traveler(s), try to get a room away from the large, corner sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so glad that you enjoyed everything and you had such a good time. We appreciate your business and kind words. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This month, my boyfriend and I booked a trip to Ocean City just to get away. We like traveling to the beach in the winter, when prices are cheap and there are no crowds. We booked an ocean front room and, for the money, I think we got a good deal. We typically wouldn't go anywhere near the boardwalk in the summer.

The hotel is older and a bit run down, although it looks as if they are working on some updates. I am surprised that it is rated as high as it is. It makes me wonder what the hotels below it look like!

Sofa - tattered, worn, and dirty
Coffee table - one leg was wobbly, so we were afraid to put anything on it
Desk chairs - also wobbly, we were afraid to sit on them
Beds - I thought they were comfortable. They are soft, so those needing firm support may not be happy.
Kitchennette - functional
Balcony - two chairs (one was pretty old/dirty), no table, chipped paint on balcony, rusty doors
Fridge - functional, though it almost tips over when you try to open it
Bathroom - pretty clean, although the showerhead was pretty gross

The maid did a nice job of cleaning each day but used a pretty powerfull deodorizor that gave me a headache. We had to leave the balcony open to air the place out.

Also, they give you a coupon for the Taphouse downstairs. You'll have to check out my review on that one. Stay away!

Overall, I wouldn't come back unless I found a really great deal. Please note there is no fitness room, and the elevators are slow. It wasn't an issue for us, but I bet it could be pretty crazy in the summer.

Room Tip: Go with ocean front, not ocean view, the higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience from your most recent visit. We appreciate your business. You’re absolutely right; winter at the beach can be an economical time to visit as well as very relaxing. We have always felt that we offer one of the best price values for your money, for an oceanfront hotel. I am the first to admit, we are a 15 year old hotel, we are not the shiniest or the glitziest but we do have a great staff and clean rooms. If that is what you are looking for, I would suggest the Hilton or the Holiday Inn but be prepared to pay for it. We are aware of the need to replace some of our sofa beds. That should be completed by mid April. The furniture issues, we are addressing during the winter/spring when we are not as busy and we can complete these needed projects. I’m glad you found the rooms clean and apologize for the deodorizer that was a bit overwhelming. I am sorry you didn’t find the $10 per day credit in the TAPHOUSE restaurant useful and although I am not sure of your issues, I can honestly say, since last summer, yours is only one of two complaints that have been brought to my attention. Although it is leased out to a third party operator, I still like to be aware of issues they may have. We do try to offer and provide additional amenities and services the best we can but we are a fairly small hotel with limited space for a fitness center and additional elevators.

With Hospitality,


Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was me and my wife's third time coming to Paradise, and I must say, it just gets better and better. The room's are very clean, the location is perfect, and the staff is excellent. We're definitely coming again. Thanks so much Tim.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you! We certainly do appreciate your business and return patronage. We are very fortunate to have such a strong repeat customer base and we do try to constantly make changes for the better and most of all, maintain clean rooms. I too think our staff is excellent and most of them know how important it is to me and the success of this hotel. It is something we constantly strive for and address with not only our new hires but also our dependable, stable employees. Thank you for letting me and others know that we are on the right track.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight at Paradise Plaza Inn last Sunday. Since we went to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, we decided to reserve the Honeymoon Suite. The suite was beautiful with great views of the bay from the living room balcony and ocean views from the bedroom balcony. We were very surprised at the size of the bedroom balcony. The rooms were nicely furnished and very comfortable as well as being very clean. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Congratulations on your 40 years of marriage! We are very pleased that you decided to spend it with us and appreciate your kind review. I am glad that you found the staff hospitable and hopefully made you feel at home. We look forward to your next visit and best wishes for many more happy anniversaries!

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at this hotel to celebrate valentines weekend. I can't begin to express how wonderful our stay was. My husband booked the valentine package when he booked our stay and I ll tell you it was fantastic. Our total bill was $343 that included..the marlin suite room 802 top floor ocean front with two private balconies on the boardwalk! When we entered our room there were 1 dozen of beautiful white roses. A large bottle of champagne with two champagne fluted glasses. A large heart shaped box of chocolates. Two robes, bath and body work toiletries. We had a nice size jacuzzi tub. Kitchenette, living room and separate bedroom. In our check in packet was $20 coupon to use at the taphouse which is a restaurant/bar right inside the hotel. A $40 dinner voucher good at a number of restaurants in ocean city, which we used ours at the bonfire which was delicious!! Our hotel provided us with a very romantic horse and carriage ride right outside our hotel!! We had such a great time. I would recommend this hotel any day of the week. Thank you to all the staff for such wonderful hospitality! We lll be back next year!!

Room Tip: Marlin suite was fantastic! Room 802. Oceanfront top floor! Breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other potential guests. The staff and I are so grateful that you took the time to do so and certainly are pleased that you had such a memorable stay. We look forward to your return visit and hopefully you won’t wait till next February to return.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit Point
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hubby and I went for a quick overnight get-away on 1/11/14. Found Paradise to be one of the few hotels open. Read reviews, all were good and price was good so decided to stay. Room was clean. Very cute. Balcony was nice! Although the view was non-existent on Saturday when we arrived... totally Mother Nature's fault, it was gorgeous Sunday morning! Front desk staff was very nice! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you gave us the opportunity to be your host. You are right, this time of year we are one of the few hotels open at this end of town and this time of year, weekends only. Fortunately we are gearing up to re-open to 7 days a week starting Valentine’s Day and President’s Day weekend. I do remember the weekend you were here and the weather couldn’t have been more UN cooperative. Fortunately it did clear up for you on Sunday morning so you could enjoy the fantastic view from your room. I hope you too will become one of our faithful repeat customers.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel
Dunes Manor Hotel
#2 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#46 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#15 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Plaza Inn

Address: #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most ideal and premium located hotels in Ocean City. Sitting on the Boardwalk with a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean. Souvenirs, shops, burgers, ice cream and candy, all located on property! Grab the boardwalk tram or the city bus located on both sides of the hotel. An outdoor swimming pool, an in house restaurant and a customer friendly staff. Park your car and experience the entire beach resort by foot. It can't get any more convenient. From your private balcony, enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean from the water, seagulls, suntan lotions and the food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Plaza Hotel Ocean City
Paradise Plaza Ocean City Md
Paradise Plaza Inn Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Plaza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.