We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Plaza Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Plaza Inn to your Saves list
Paradise Plaza Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I fully agree with the other Reviews emphasizing the fantastic location and the 'can do' attitude of the Paradise Plaza staff. We particularly appreciated Ms. Flora, the housekeeper on our 8th floor as she went out of her way to accommodate us. The full ocean view from #803 was fantastic! The ocean sounds (combined with the BEST beds ever!) enabled the best sleep imaginable.

We also loved the breakfasts at the Tap House restaurant. The hotel's 10 dollar coupon is a great deal for those looking for an extra bargain!

Thank you Paradise Plaza!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad to hear that Ms. Flora took care of you. She is definitely a very attentive housekeeper and always has our guest’s best interests in mind. We do get a lot of positive feedback on the TAPHOUSE and the savings with the $10.00 coupons. I am glad you were able to take advantage of them.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    172
    56
    40
    68
See reviews for
226
170
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose this hotel based on it's location and an available off-season package. We were greeted warmly at check in and told we were upgraded to the Marlin Suite for no charge. That gave us a lovely suite with a living room, dining area,jacuzzi tub, 2 tvs and 2 balconies (1 oceanfront and 1 bayview). With 2 small children, the extra room was fantastic. Our room was clean and updated. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable with down comforters. We encountered many of the staff throughout our ins and outs and each was friendly, smiled and spoke to our children. We were unable to get the jacuzzi to work and called the front desk. The girl was extremely friendly and said she would send maintenance up to check it. He arrived in less than 2 minutes and took care of the simple breaker that had tripped. The only inconvenience was that 1 of the elevators was broken so the other was always busy. But I don't hold this against them as it happens in the best places. Our location was right on the boardwalk by the 9th street public bathrooms, which was great having 2 children. It was a 1 mile walk to the pier end and we could easily see and visit all the boardwalk attractions that we love. We ordered breakfast from the Taphouse (in-hotel bar/grille) and thought the food, though slightly pricey, was good and it was nice to not have to take the kiddos to a restaurant. It was a great stay and I only wished we had been able to stay longer. Can't wait until next September!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I am glad things worked out and we were able to upgrade you to one of our Marlin Suites. Unfortunately that does not always happen but on occasion, for various reasons it works in someone’s favor. I’m glad you found the room more than accommodating. I appreciate your understanding about the elevator as many people don’t always see it as a mechanical inconvenience that we have no control over and it takes an elevator company to repair it and not our own maintenance staff. If we could have fixed it “in-house”, we would have. We also look forward to your return next September.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location is great,room was clean,pool was small but clean. And a little too quiet,some music out there would be nice and then one day while laying at the pool this compressor starts up puffing out some smoke then just loud noise. Didn't know how long that was going to last so we left the pool area along with the rest of the people and the 2 crying little kids. Later to find out it's a backup energy source, maybe it's just not a good spot for that.

The day we arrived we got a room on the 2nd floor and when we went out on the balcony we noticed the black mold out there which they say is from the rain(it's carpeted ). maybe that carpeting should be removed. We went to the desk, they were very nice about it and were given a room on the 5th floor that was very nice. Oh and only one elevator was working most of the time but they did have someone servicing it. Things happen.

All and all except for a couple things it was pretty good.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front with a microwave and frig but remember to bring utensils. Ocean front is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I think the music out by the pool is a good idea and will try to make that happen next season since the pool is just about ready to close in another two weeks. I apologize for the back-up generator. It is scheduled to “fire up” every Tuesday for about 15 minutes and is there specifically in case of an emergency power outage. We have heard a number of comments about that so I plan on scheduling that earlier in the morning, approximately a half hour before the pool opens. I think this will help eliminate guests being startled by the noise and puff of black smoke. We have addressed the 2nd floor patio flooring and plan on replacing the carpet this winter with an epoxy floor finish that should be much easier to maintain and eliminate any dirt or discoloration. Thank you for understanding the elevator situation as it was beyond our control and we did everything we could to get it operational as soon as possible. I do hope that you will consider staying here again sometime in the near future.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just wanted to say this hotel was great the people at the front desk were very polite and helpful. The staff was friendly. We ended up in a handicap accessible room really wasn't that bad not a big deal expect for the fact we were right across from the laundry room and could hear the music at times and sometime talking it was ok though. The elevator took a long time we had to use the steps sometimes but during check out your staff did apologize and said the other elevator was broke. The beds were super comfy and we had a good view for it being a partial all and all our stay was GREAT thank you so much and I will hopefully be back and will suggest your friendly hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging the staff as being polite and helpful as that is one area we have concentrated on and sets us apart from other hotels. I am sorry that you were in the room across from the laundry room and if you were disturbed. I have made the staff aware that they need to be more conscientious if guests are on the same floor as the laundry. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. As I previously responded to another review, we did have an elevator issue a few days over that 9/11 time period, which has since been corrected but admit it did take a few days to get it repaired. Unfortunately we were at the mercy of our Elevator Company. Thank you for recommending us every chance you get.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Overall we agree 100% with the recent, detailed Review by "Angie R"!

Our group had four eighth-floor, ocean-view suites (802-805) and we loved the quiet, cozy, roomy and comfortable suites with the BEST views on the Boardwalk! We were most impressed with the comfortable beds and nice comforters! The Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. We only wish the owner would give the hotel management the funds to make the necessary upgrades and improvements, particularly the need to replace one of the two ancient elevators which was inoperable for most of our stay. Fortunately our group (including two 87 year-olds!) was all able and willing to climb the eight flights of stairs to get our daily exercise! We hope to make a return visit and we highly recommend the Paradise Plaza!

Room Tip: Highly recommend any of the suites #802-805
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that your group had from what it sounds like, an enjoyable stay. I am sure the ocean views were quite a bit different then the views you experience in Arkansas! Unfortunately we were experiencing some mechanical problems with one of our elevators during your stay, which lasted a few days but it does appear it has been fixed and just in time for the busy “Bike Week” weekend. Kudos to the two 87 year olds that “tackled” the stairs for their daily exercise. I wish more of our guests could have been that energetic during the unintentional disruption and inconvenience. We too hope that you make a return visit and appreciate any recommendations that you might offer although I doubt many people from Arkansas have the opportunity to get to Ocean City! We will however look forward to anyone you can send our way.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first stay at Paradise Plaza and we had an excellent experience and a great 4 night stay. First of all let me say that this is the BEST location on the boardwalk. Everything is within walking distance and we didn't move our car the entire time but it's far enough up that you can get away from all the noise and crowds on the lower streets. It is right across from the public bathrooms which is great if you plan to spend the entire day on the beach. They give you $10 vouchers for the Tap House Restaurant for each day of your stay which can really help with the budget. The Alaska Stand is right on the corner and is a great spot to get food and drinks while on the beach (they also give you a plastic cup and the refill is only $1.50, also really helps the budget as drinks can get to be more expensive than you think)

Our room was clean and we were lucky to get two balconies and had amazing views of the beach and the bay from the side deck. The room had tile floors which I loved because you didn't have dirty carpet that held all the sand. It was also very spacious and the Jacuzzi tub for two was a great special edition and we used it every day to relax after a long day on the beach. This hotel isn't overly fancy but for the price you can't beat it. The beds didn't look the greatest when we got there, they're not big and fluffy like you find in some of the more fancy places but the linens and pillows were very soft and the beds were actually quite comfortable. The hotel seemed to be packed but the room was very quiet, couldn't hear anything from the neighbors. The AC was a little noisy but I like that, it helps me sleep. Ours kept a steady temp and kept us comfortable.

The pool is tiny and in the parking lot but it was kept clean. We don't go to the beach to get in the pool so this wasn't an issue for us but if you like to spend time at a pool I wouldn't recommend this place. And yes parking is limited but HELLO PEOPLE, this is Ocean City and they can't help that space is limited.

Overall, if you're not a hotel snob and you want a great location at a great price and a clean room this is the place to go. The views are beautiful, the staff is friendly and the location is prefect. We will definitely will be repeat customers of Paradise Plaza for years to come and will be planning our trip for next year soon.

Room Tip: The balconies are not private so if you can get a room on the end you won't feel so crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and looking at things realistically and honestly. I am the first to admit that we are not perfect, we will make mistakes and sometimes there are issues we have little or no control over. Yes, we would love to have a larger pool that is not off of the parking lot and a larger parking area in front of the hotel that is convenient for our guests but despite this, we have a number of things going for us; location, clean rooms, great views, hospitable and friendly staff and an excellent price value. Your positive comments are what we strive for and I am confident that overall, we do deliver the majority of time. Thank you for being a repeat customer and we look forward to your return next year.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We had our first family vacation this year and stayed at the paradise plaza. I was a little weary at first sight but 2definitely not disappointed!! I have twins under the age of 2 and they were very accommodating with them. We enjoyed our stay, may I suggest the jacuzzi rooms!! Awesome! Loved our balcony on the boardwalk best part of all! We were on the 5th floor and the sights were phenomenal! Definitely would suggest this hotel to friends and family!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others! As always, we appreciate your recommendation to friends and family! I hope if planning a future family vacation, you will consider Ocean City and the Paradise Plaza once again.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Plaza Inn

Address: #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#18 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most ideal and premium located hotels in Ocean City. Sitting on the Boardwalk with a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean. Souvenirs, shops, burgers, ice cream and candy, all located on property! Grab the boardwalk tram or the city bus located on both sides of the hotel. An outdoor swimming pool, an in house restaurant and a customer friendly staff. Park your car and experience the entire beach resort by foot. It can't get any more convenient. From your private balcony, enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean from the water, seagulls, suntan lotions and the food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Plaza Ocean City Md
Paradise Plaza Inn Ocean City Maryland
Paradise Plaza Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Plaza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.