We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Plaza Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Plaza Inn to your Saves list
Paradise Plaza Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just checked out from our 3 night stay at this hotel. Check-in was very easy. The location was great, and at first glance this hotel looked like it was going to be a great place to stay. But after being there our first night we thought about switching to a different hotel. The beds were horribly uncomfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor right over the boardwalk. When we first looked out the balcony door, we quickly discovered the boardwalk had been torn up (obviously this is NOT the fault of the hotel, and the city is working on replacing the boards). What we did not anticipate was the fact that we were woken up by construction equipment right outside our balcony at about 6 or 6:30 in the morning. Obviously the hotel management knew this construction was going on, and a little forewarning would have been nice. The hotel did not seem crowded. Perhaps they could have placed ocean front guests up on higher floors.

In terms of the rooms themselves, the beds were horribly uncomfortable, we kept getting woken up every time the heater kicked on (VERY loud), the shower curtains invade what little shower space you have (perhaps moving the shower rods out a tad or placing curved shower rods would help with this). The safe in our room was out of service. It looked like maybe the guests before us locked the safe while it was open because we could not get the doors to close. This meant we had to take medicines and all valuables out to our car every time we went out. We did tell the front desk clerk this on Saturday morning, and by the time we checked out Monday morning it still had not been fixed. The desk clerk who checked us out this morning (Monday) graciously removed the safe fee from our bill even though we did not ask. We thought that was very nice on her part and we appreciated it. As far as housekeeping went, we were not impressed. They removed the bath bar we had by the sink for washing our hands, and did not replace it until we asked for it the next day. Some of the towels and bed linens had stains on them which a guest doesn't want to see. Our toilet seat had some kind of a mark or stain on it that was there for the duration of our stay. Maybe it was a permanent mark or stain, but I did not want to get close enough to find out. Additionally the bed skirts in the room were very wrinkled which seemed a little sloppy. The balcony left a lot to be desired as well. Sunday we stayed out of the room for much of the morning and afternoon hoping to have the room cleaned, and then when we needed to rest and housekeeping finally appeared and knocked on the door, we just asked for towels and soap. Another issue we had was with the 9th street taphouse restaurant, which is the restaurant located at the hotel. Their winter menu was extremely limited, and of the 3 appetizers on that menu they did not have a single one. We went to go have a drink there Sunday at maybe 3:30 or so (not exactly sure of the time) and were told the restaurant had just closed. From what i understand, the hotel does not own or operate the restaurant, but as the restaurant was one of the reasons we chose this hotel we were disappointed. I do understand that with it being off season perhaps staffing is not at normal levels. I would assume that some of these issues could be due to the offseason time period. Even considering that we still spent our hard earned money and took time off of our jobs to get away for a quiet romantic get away, and the hotel did not live up to that for either my husband or myself (and despite our complaints, we are not hard to please) We had actually contemplated leaving early. Not sure about whether we would stay here again. The hotel looked so promising. I guess perhaps we would have to get a very very good bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Your review sounds almost identical to the previous one so I am not going to rehash and go over the same issues that I previously explained except for one. After talking to the construction crew on the Boardwalk, work was to be completed in front of the hotel by the 8th of March but with this recent storm it may have affected the time of completion. Even with the short delay, it will not doubt be finished by St. Patty’s Day weekend. I do however still want to apologize for the inconvenience as I can understand how disappointing it was. Regarding the safe, I honestly can’t understand why it was not attended to in a timely manner as we had a maintenance person on and it takes all but two minutes to open the safe for a guest. I’m sorry for that and was glad to hear that the front desk clerk refunded you the safe fee. The stains on bed linens and towels are unacceptable and have been addressed. My Executive Housekeeper and I took a look at the toilet seat; the mark was actually a small spot where the enamel was worn. That seat has been replaced. I also want to apologize for your experience in the TAPHOUSE. You are correct in mentioning that it is the “off season” and the hours and service are not typical of the other 9 months out of the year. Their normal schedule will resume St. Patty’s Day weekend. I am personally disappointed that your stay was not up to your expectations let alone ours. We value and appreciate all of the reviews we receive on TripAdvisor and the issues you encountered our not typical. Hopefully one day you will give us another opportunity.

With Hospitality,

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    180
    59
    40
    69
See reviews for
233
182
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

One of best hotels that I have ever stayed in. Excellent views, excellent service. The room was tremendous, 2 rooms, jacuzzi, on top of boardwalk...perfect. Will definitely be back for longer stay.
Thanks Tim for letting us check in early. Awesome
Steve G

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that we seemed to meet your expectations and even more pleased that you plan on returning for even a longer stay sometime in the future. Although our check in time is 4PM, if we can accommodate our guests by getting them in early, we are certainly going to do our best in doing so. Unfortunately in the summer, this is often very difficult to manage. We look forward to your return visit.

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Md
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

PPI is one of our favorite hotels in OC. It's always clean and the staff is accommodating. We requested an additional bottle of body lotion (BTW, all provided toiletries are Bath & Bodyworks brand!) and were given 5 of them!!

Try to get an oceanfront room...the views are awesome!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am extremely pleased to hear that you are one of our loyal customers and that you return on a regular basis. I am even more pleased that you find the hotel to be consistently clean and the staff friendly, two of our main goals. Thank you for your continued patronage!

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I spent a great time with some friends there. Staff was really friendly and helpful.The room was really clean and the linens were very comfortable. Also, the view of the ocean from our balcony was wonderful.I took a lot of great pictures there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for spending your Holiday with us! I hope you all had a great time. I am thrilled to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful and more importantly that the rooms were clean and linens comfortable. We definitely have a number of rooms that you can get some great angles for pictures. Maybe you can post a couple on Trip Advisor for our hotel? Thanks again for visiting us in the off season. Hope to see you as a return guest.

Happy New Year!

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I took our 3 girls to OC for New Years and had a great time and I highly recommend the Paradise Plaza. Our rooms (2 connecting rooms) were outstanding and the beds, linens, and pillows are top notch - great nights of sleep and that's saying a lot for New Years Eve. Staff went out of their way for the hotel guests with wine and cheese and party favors in our rooms. We've stayed before during the summer and you can't beat the location on the beach ... can walk to the inlet and the public restrooms/showers for after beach rinsing are right there. A no-brainer to stay ...

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms were ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Happy New Year to you and your family! Thank for making us part of hopefully a memorable R & R getaway. I am sure the two rooms with connecting doors helped with traffic and facilities with all those women! I am pleased that you slept comfortable especially being away for a few days and as you mentioned on New Year Eve! That is often not the most ideal time to travel with kids especially with extracurricular activities that can take place all night long. We were fortunate this year as I had only heard of one minor incident. I am glad you were able to take advantage of some of the little extra Hors ‘D Oeuvres and beverages that we provided at check in. Thanks again for staying with us and do keep us in mind for the summer because as you said, our location only gets better during prime time when everything is open and you are trying to shop, eat, swim and get as much exercise in as you can!

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was not expecting this! Paradise Plaza went way above my expectations this time! I arrived after Christmas to a lobby decorated so beautifully will lights. The staff was a breath of fresh air, and we got checked in so quickly! Our room was large, very clean and had comfortable linens that I wanted to take home. Bathroom had bath and body works soaps which I also loved. But most impressively, was the champagne glasses, champagne, keychain and NYE favors given out to each room for when the ball dropped. My fiancé and I headed out for dinner and the lobby was filled with balloons, a champagne fountain and cheese and crackers. I thought it was all such a fun thing to do to celebrate the new year and thought it was all so generous considering how inexpensive a room was over the holiday. My only criticism would have to be that the taphouse restaurant in the hotel was closed on two of the days we planned on eating- but it is understandable considering most places were closed through winter. Overall, grade A stay for this hotel- will be back as usual.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Another New Year’s Eve partier! I loved to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you were actually impressed with some of the extra things we did to go out of our way to surprise our loyal customers. Naturally we always try to maintain our clean rooms and strive to have a pleasant staff. I do apologize for the 9th St TAPHOUSE as it is leased out by a third party and we have little control over their decision to open and close. Unfortunately they were supposed to be open for breakfast and dinner/late night all 4 nights but that obviously wasn’t the case. As you mentioned, it is not that uncommon for winter businesses to change their hours depending on business or lack of it. Thanks again for your continued patronage and we are pleased to have such a loyal guest as you are. Happy New Year!

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This has been the greatest place to stay. Its been a year and a half since I've stayed here but it was a great stay. Staff was very sweet very excellent customer service. Rooms were very clean. The only thing that I didn't like is that they don't offer specials for customers that stay more than three days. I think if you stay 4 or more days you should at least get something a free breakfast, a drink, or at least a voucher for the restaurant. But its a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after so long. Glad to hear that the staff and rooms were more than accommodating. You will be happy to know that we will be developing some summer “packages” for multiple night stays and that last summer we started giving a $10.00 credit voucher to each reservation for each day of their stay to be used in our restaurant the 9th Street TAPHOUSE. It has been very well received and we certainly do plan on continuing that in 2013. I hope you plan on returning this year and will be able to take advantage of some of the changes. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Tim Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Plaza Inn

Address: #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most ideal and premium located hotels in Ocean City. Sitting on the Boardwalk with a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean. Souvenirs, shops, burgers, ice cream and candy, all located on property! Grab the boardwalk tram or the city bus located on both sides of the hotel. An outdoor swimming pool, an in house restaurant and a customer friendly staff. Park your car and experience the entire beach resort by foot. It can't get any more convenient. From your private balcony, enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean from the water, seagulls, suntan lotions and the food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Plaza Ocean City Md
Paradise Plaza Inn Ocean City Maryland
Paradise Plaza Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Plaza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.