We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Boardwalk to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   507 Atlantic Avenue @ 5th St & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Uhrichsville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Just returned from a 5 nite stay here. This place is in desperate need of updating. When we booked the room they only had 1 oceanfront room available & it was a smoking room. We don't smoke but booked it anyway. We have stayed in smoking rooms at other hotels with no problem. The room did have a lingering smell of smoke but it wasn't that bad. It did though reek of booze!!! The balcony was kinda dirty with ashes & soot. The room itself wasn't to bad, just needs updating. The walls & furnishings were pretty beat up. The beds & pillows were very clean & comfy. The bathroom was small but clean. The kitchen was okay. We never used it much. Just the fridge. We reuse our towels & don't really like the maids coming in everyday so I can't really say much about the maid service other than they left us alone unless we asked for someting. The front desk help were always polite & helpful. The cont. breakfast was just that with really good coffee, juices, cereal, muffins & fruit. We ate from there twice. The value was great @ $134 a nite. The location is spectacular. Kite Loft is right next door & they have fun activities & competitions during Sunfest. Overall this motel is average. We would only stay again if they do some major updating. We will be trying someplace else next year.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast, customer service, comfy beds
  • Disliked — Old beatup rooms, dirty balcony, room had odor of booze
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    68
    40
    18
    6
See reviews for
76
56
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here; you get what you pay for. At first, I was dismayed that our "ocean view" room meant we had to lean over the balcony railing and look to the left to see the beach. The view straight off the balcony was of the building next door- and we looked directly into someone's room! Since we were only there for 2 days, we decided to stay put.

Resigned to keeping the curtains closed most of the time, we again turned our attention to the beach. Now we focused on the many kites tethered outside the Kite Loft next door, plus a lively beach volleyball game in progress. What fun! And for the first time, we did not have to drive anywhere- the 5th street location is central to many things.

Now the housekeeping part: the stove light bulb was missing, the bathroom vent and hairdryer filter were filthy, there was a theater ticket (Ratatouille) from July on a kitchen chair, a piece of dried-up processed cheese was on the kitchen floor, and a cup of cigarette butts in some sort of yellow liquid sat on the balcony of our non-smoking room. And the room phone didn't work (we had cells, but needed to call the front desk- had to walk down).

OK, I feel better now :) Back to the good side: the front desk guys were nice, this hotel had a wonderfully warm and not-too-chlorinated indoor pool (it was aptly described as "a womb"), and they had a terrific continental breakfast with lots of good coffee, fruit, cereal, muffins, and a waffle iron with plenty of pre-mixed cups of batter. Yummy! All in all, a good stay for a lower-budget hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Indoor pool, continental breakfast
  • Disliked — The view, housekeeping
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

Great location! Maids were very courteous as was the rest of the staff. Breakfast wasn't bad for continental- you could make waffles and there was plenty of coffee. Priceline deal was pretty good. Room was what I expected for the price and for a room with a "street" view we had a pretty good view of the ocean! Will stay here again as the location was one of the best on the boardwalk. Indoor pool was great and outdoor wasn't bad either!

  • Liked — Right on boardwalk!
  • Disliked — balcony could be a little more private- better partitions between rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

The location and view was the highlight of this hotel. We were on the 5th/top floor, and had an excellent view of the ocean and boardwalk. The rooms had small refrigerators, which was nice. The room had a strange odor – a mix of BO and fruit spray smells. We paid $245 after tax and everything, which I guess is the going rate for such a superb location and a room with 4 adults. Overall, everything seemed a little dirty and it is impossible to remove the sand from the carpet and nooks and crannies. I would stay here again if I could get a better rate. Next time I will try to booker sooner to get a better rate.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We were looking for a nice hotel close to the boardwalk to take our son on an overnight trip for his 18th birthday on June 6 - June 7.

Based on the location & price, I would give this hotel 10 stars for price, location, & features. Bathrooms are a bit small but then again you just need to shower & clean up in there!!! The shower was "made bigger" by having the bowed shower rod/curtain, which is a great feature.

We had two very comfortable queen beds, a small fridge, microwave, & a decent size balcony.

I would & will definately stay here again & have no reservations about recommending it to my friends & family.

The staff was vert friendly & the front desk was quick to fix a rate issue with me with no problems or arguements. I wish I had gotten the guys name so that I could give him the proper credit for keeping a customer satisfied.

  • Liked — Size of room & location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom but who really cares about that???
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed here May 28, 2007 through June 1, 2007. We had an oceanfront room with balcony. The room was very nice! The beds were very comfortable. It had a kitchenette with 2-burner cooktop, fridge,
microwave, toaster and all pots and pans and utensils. The balcony was a good size covered balcony. The bathroom was a little small-but not too bad. Front desk was very pleasant. We had no issues whatsoever! The free breakfast was very nice-they had waffles, toast,
english muffins, bagels, muffins, danishes, cereal, milk, coffee, apple juice, cranberry juice and orange juice. This was our first time staying here and we will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

American owned and operated, this was very nice for us. EVERYONE there was very nice and accomidating. We had stayed at a hotel prior to this night and it was awful, it was so nice to have fast check-in and local help who new the area and where able to point us in the right direction. Even the rooms not on the ocean side were very scenic. I will for sure being going back there every year and may even bring the whole family.

  • Liked — indoor pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — go you'll love it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Address: 507 Atlantic Avenue @ 5th St & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Comfort Inn Ocean City
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Ocean City Md
Ocean City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.