We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn 11/23” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Boardwalk to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   507 Atlantic Avenue @ 5th St & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Md, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn 11/23”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hubby and I enjoyed our one night stay at the Comfort Inn on the boardwalk. We like to walk so it was great being right on the boardwalk and the beach. The room 514 was clean, it is not ocean front but it was at the end of the building on the top floor so our balcony had a nice view of the ocean and we could also see the bay looking the opposite direction. They do have a free breakfast (waffles, eggs and sausage etc) but it was crowded so we decided to drive to one of the local restaurants for breakfast. The only problem I saw was that one of the queen size beds had a metal piece sticking a good distance out of the frame and hubby knocked his leg against the metal. Including tax we paid $85.00 with our AAA discount, not sure if this was the best price we could get at this time of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    82
    47
    20
    9
See reviews for
92
67
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff was very nice, place was clean, and the location was wnderful. They have an indoor and outdoor pool. They have a nice breakfast which is included in the cost of the room, making the price even better. Great place for a little get away

Room Tip: Ocean Front Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in October. The hotel is very well run. The room is clean and comfortable. The breakfast is hot and includes eggs and sausage. We did not have a ocean side room but we could easily see the ocean and smell the salt air from our balcony. The hotels is right on the boardwalk which makes for a pleasant walk after dinner. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel manager quickly corrected a misunderstanding on our part regarding a small item on the bill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Boardwalk during Bike Week 2012. This was our 1st stay at this hotel and were very impressed with the free breakfast, proximity to the beach and the size of the room. We had a two bed efficiency, ocean front. It also has two pools for guests, one indoor and one outdoor. Parking is located on the property and very simple. Located on 5th street, its still close enough to the "noisy" end of the boardwalk to walk everywere but far enough away to not be disturbing. Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful, a few of the maids are a bit cranky and slow. Our room was very clean and well appointed for a beach hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get oceanfront on an upper floor, the views are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the perfect spot for a weekend trip to Ocean City. The location and price can't be beat. Staff is great too. Very nice being this close to the boardwalk and fun southern tip of Ocean City. I didn't get to use the pool, but it was nice there was an indoor and outdoor pool.

Room Tip: "City view" is fine if you don't want to pay extra for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

OK i have not checked in and I'm confused already wen i first called I was told smoking was allowed on the first two floors then a couple days later I was told there was no first floor and its a non smoking hotel!!! I'm so confused.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is one of the older hotels on the OC Boardwalk, but it's pretty clear that the place has been renovated recently, and as hotel guests we benefit.

We checked in as a split group; my wife and in-laws came earlier than I did, and the desk clerk was understanding and, while only one of the two rooms was ready at that point, he was able to accommodate them. They arranged for the key to the other room, and a parking pass, to be simply waiting for me when I arrived a few hours later. We also got lucky in that there was a cancellation that allowed us to upgrade our rooms to the ocean-side balconies in the main building.

This hotel is comprised of more than one building, with the second building being set closer to the street than the boardwalk. The walk between the two buildings is maybe about 50 feet, so we're not talking about a huge hike, here. This second building also houses the indoor pool, which is a near-twin to the outdoor pool. Both pools have handicap access via a hydraulic chair lift (it doesn't currently appear in the photos on the hotel's website, so this must be a recent addition).

Our room--as noted above--was an upgrade to an ocean-side room, which is a nice size and has a balcony overlooking the ocean. Because the main building is next to the Kite Loft, we had the bonus view of dozens of kites which they have anchored into the beach itself. Our room had two double beds, a pull-out sofa and a kitchenette that included a microwave, mini-fridge (4 CF unit), coffee maker, toaster, sink (with dishcloths and detergent) and a two-burner stove. (My understanding is that some units don't have the stove.) Also included were utensils and plates/cups/glasses for six people, and cooking vessels. The bathroom was a little on the small side and rather oddly laid out, but up-to-date and fully stocked with the usual amenities. Other stuff in the room included the alarm clock radio, iron and ironing board, and flat screen TV with an impressive assortment of channels. Free wi-fi internet is available; we arrived "out of season" (a week after Labor Day) so a password wasn't needed, but you still have to go to a generic OC website first. In-season, you may have to get a password from the desk clerk. I didn't see any data ports in my room so I don't think wired internet is available.

Climate control is provided by a through-the-wall A/C unit. Some rooms (my in-laws') have units with digital displays and the "energy saver" mode so that the unit cycles on and off; others (mine) had an analog control and the unit remained on constantly. So in that realm, your mileage may vary a little.

There's also some space available for you to leave your beach chair, boogie board, etc. without your having to trip over it. There is a safe in the closet that locks with a key rather than the usual electronic code. Personally I'd be more comfortable with the code because it's tougher to lose, but that's a minor complaint.

Everyone in the hotel--EVERYONE, including guests and staff--was friendly and chatty, and none of our conversations with the staff felt like just so much empty noise. Most of the guests we encountered were repeat customers. In fact, the couple in the room next to us told me that they visit every year, and arrange to get the same room each year. It was a very familial atmosphere despite our only being there for the weekend.

The hotel offers a breakfast that's a small step above the usual Continental breakfast: there are DIY waffle makers on hand, and an assortment of pastries, fruit, and stuff to toast, plus cereal and a hot option. On both days for us it was scrambled eggs and sausage, and other reviews here suggest that this may always be the option. And if you brought something of your own that needed heating, there are also a couple of microwave ovens as well. There isn't a lot of room in the breakfast prep/dining area, and this led to some unfortunately self-entitled behavior on the part of some of the other guests. Because the tables were full, we opted to eat in our room. In good weather there are also a couple of tables immediately outside the breakfast area. A few varieties of coffee are also available; and the coffee is there all day, not just during breakfast time.

From a pricing standpoint, it's probably a little more than you'd expect to pay for a Comfort Inn (about $180/night), but it's in the middle range for Ocean City on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: If you couldn't get an ocean-view room when you first booked, try asking again at check-in if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#36 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#59 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel Ocean City Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#31 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#15 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Address: 507 Atlantic Avenue @ 5th St & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Comfort Inn Ocean City
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Ocean City Md
Ocean City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.