We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Oceanblock

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Oceanblock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Oceanblock
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   145th St. & Coastal Hwy., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #40 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel, although we are frequent travelers to Ocean City. The hotel is close to the beach and the beach was much less crowded at this location than it is down by the boardwalk. On the positive side, we were able to eat breakfast outdoors by the pool. Food was good, but not inexpensive. Waiters and waitresses were friendly and polite. The front desk staff was a completely different story. We had a problem with our cable TV and although it may not have been something the hotel could fix, when I expressed frustration that my children were very disappointed about a show they wanted to see, I was told very curtly that they would "get over it." Housekeeping made one of our 3 beds only, and we had to go and get our own towels, sheets, blankets, and pillows. The shower alternated between scalding and freezing, regardless of what time of day it was turned on. Broken glass was by the pool one morning, presumably from someone throwing it there the night before. Staff had to be told twice before it was cleaned up. Noise from the Tiki Bar went on late into the night. Most definitely value-priced, but you give up a lot for the savings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
50
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our 4th time staying at this hotel. This year was not as good as last. The front desk staff has changed and the new people are not friendly, helpful or professional. Our room was not as clean as usual and the maid service each day was new towels...that's it. The pool deck has become dirty and our balcony was filthy. At check out I provided a list of comments and was given a dirty look. We were on the 2nd floor with the pool view. This is a very noisy location. I would stay on the top floor if I ever go back. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor is best for the least amount of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Hotel room I stayed in was on the 4th Floor and was adequate.
From the Balcony of the room had an obscure view of the Ocean.
Had my 5 year old son with me and he liked being able to see the ocean from the room balcony.

The Ice Machine was located on the ground floor inside the parking garage.
The "Tiki Bar" was just that and thus the crowd that attracts was around.
Was there on Friday Night and the Band they had that night was loud and intrusive to the quietness one hopes for at a Hotel. And lasted until around 10 Pm.

For the price to lay down and rest was a good deal and was just a quick walk to the beach so would stay again despite the concerns mentioned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side to get away from the TIKI Bar Noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenson, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We recently stayed a week at this hotel and were very pleased with the friendly staff and hotel accommodations. We had a great view of the beach and the bay from our room (421). You could even see the Fenwick Island Lighthouse.The hotel is very quiet, close to the beach, and within walking distance to many shops and eateries. Must go to "Grab and Go Tacos" if you love Mexican! The room was clean and comfortable with a nice kitchenette. Just the right size for a family of five although it would be nice to have a small table on the balcony to eat on.This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Close to the beach with a pool and affordable for those who want to stay at the beach without breaking the bank! We did not eat at the restaurant or go to the bar so I cannot comment on that. We did go to the pool some at the end of the day for a change from the beach which was nice. I had read many of the reviews before arriving here and have found from our experience that this hotel, although is not perfect, was a great value. We will be back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed two nights in August, and it was a very pleasant experience. We don't usually go to OC during the summer months, and had a hard time finding something we could afford. We had a clean comfortable room, enjoyed the pool one afternoon, and ate our breakfasts at the restaurant. A short walk to the beach, Fisher's Popcorn, and the Fenwick Lighthouse. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, and we loved the location. The rooms are large, with a small kitchenette, sitting area, and table with chairs. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The north side was very quiet, away from the music and noise of the Tiki Bar, music, and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers, ny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place definitely had more pros than cons but overall-most afforable place if you want to be near the beach. The only major complaint I have is that I was charged $7.50 per room for a safe I did not use! My family of 6 had two rooms for 5 nights. After returning home, I called about the charge for the safe ($15 in total) and was told that there was a sign in the lobby upon check-in stating that if you don't want to use the safe, you must tell the staff. Really...after driving a long way, I have to look for a sign or I will get this outrageous fee. Not acceptable!

The housekeeping and front desk staff were extremely polite and helpful. The kitchen area could be cleaner but I feel that it is because the staff has too many rooms to clean.

As for the beds, the mattresses were old but ok. The only thing I didn't understand was that you had to ask for the pillows, top sheet and blanket for the sofa couch.

The best part of this place was the walk to the beach and the restaurant. The waitresses were extremely friendly and the food was delicious and reasonable. The only item we didn't like was the nachos. They just dropped a glob of half melted cheese on tostitos and they were not worth the money.

Finally, the pool would be a good size IF people didn't come from the beach and swim here. I truly feel that the lack of supervision allowed people who weren't staying here to use the pool without getting in trouble. The week we stayed was extremely crowed.

As far as the boardwalk goes- this is not near the boardwalk which we didn't mind but if you want the boardwalk it is at least a 1/2 hr drive.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with one room facing the pool and one facing the driveway. If you aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family has been coming to OC for over 22 years and had a very good experience at the Econolodge. We were greeted by very friendly staff which started the stay on the right foot. the housekeeping staff was excellent especially our new friend Laverne , a kind hearted and warm person who made us feel like we were staying with friends rather than a hotel. The rooms were clean and the walk to the beach was fine. The restaurant on the first floor has one of the best breakfast menu and the prices were fair. The kitchen made our stay easier. Wil stay here again

Room Tip: The odd number rooms are not on pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Oceanblock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Oceanblock

Address: 145th St. & Coastal Hwy., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Oceanblock 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Oceanblock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanblock Hotel Ocean City
Econo Lodge Ocean City
Ocean City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Oceanblock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.