We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Take 10%
Ranked #38 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Lost Creek, West Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My friend and I wanted an inexpensive place to celebrate our 60th birthdays for just a few-days' get-away. We want something clean, reasonably priced, on the beach, and within walking distance of food, music, and bars. We got all of this for a price we couldn't beat! Even though we were not beach front, we had a great view of not only the beach, but the bay and the beach access. We had a balcony with great views and people watching all rolled into one! We didn't have to move our car because we could catch the bus if we wanted right on the corner. The place is not a 4-star resort, but our visit was absolutely perfect for us!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach access side have great views of the beach, bay, and people-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear OC traveler, thanks so much for choosing The Atlantic as your Ocean City beach accommodations! As you mention in your review, we are close to great dining and a ton of great local attractions and nightlife. We work hard to make sure your vacation is a great one, and we are always improving in every way we can. Thanks so much for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again for your next beach vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    67
    32
    15
    14
See reviews for
91
51
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hopwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I must say after reading some of the negative reviews I can't believe they are about this place ! We had booked our 2nd stay there, then got to reading some of the reviews, well we packed prepared with cleaning supplies and bedding. Upon arrival our oceanfront suite was ready for us, the office staff were very friendly. Our suite was clean, refrigerator was already cold, air conditioning on and the view was fantastic. During our 5 day stay the Staff was very accommodating to any and all of our requests. The location is perfect and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are planning on cooking take a knife and kitchen towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your kind words! We work hard to make sure your vacation is one to remember with exceptional accommodations and a superior guest experience. We hope you had an excellent vacation and we look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wanted an affordable two-day trip the beach on August 28, 2013, Check-in was available when I arrived which was terrific. The room smelled stale when I opened the door. The place is in need of an upgrade the decor. I had a great view of the ocean and a short walk to the beach that wasn't crowded.

Overall, it was a good stay. Also, I had dinner delivered from Belly Buster restaurant and it was really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn for your beach vacation! In the past two years we have updated the carpet, beds, bed spreads, added flat screen HD TV's, added a guest lounge and continue to update and upgrade every year. We are always continuing renovations in the off season and are excited to show them off during your next stay. As you noted, we have great views and a great location, additionally, we are a great destination in the Fall and Spring as well. Thanks again for your review, we can't wait to have you again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we arrived , had a quick check in. I was surprised that the Frig was as big as it was , that the stove had 4 burners and a oven. Beds were comfy , pillows comfy. table with 3 chairs.. The sliding glass door was stuck and the person came right away to fix which he did. I wanted to see a different place to stay so only here for 1 day... wish it was more !!!!!!!!!!!!! Definately would stay again !!!!!!
Con: No hairdryer in bathroom...

Room Tip: side room closest to beach... and rooms above second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn for your 1 day getaway! As you had mentioned our rooms are quite spacious and contain full kitchens and a lounging area. We have a great location and amenity package. Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The good: the location was great in a fairly quiet stretch of ocean beach front. The staff was polite and helpful. The ocean front room was a pretty decent size with a small kitchen and full size refrigerator.

The bad: One of the things I look most forward to staying ocean front is to sit out on the balcony in the evening listening to the sound of the ocean while enjoying some beer or wine. If you like that too, forget about this place because the business end of the rooms AC unit is located on the outer wall right on the balcony. You could hardly hear the ocean over all the racket the AC unit makes. I guess this may not be a problem in the fall or Spring but we were here on a hot Summer day and the room warms up very quickly without the AC unit operating. The second issue was that each balcony has an incredibly bright flood light that stays on. I tried to find a switch to turn the damn thing off but could not. It's a shame because there was a full moon while we were there and the light was just very annoying and unnecessary. I felt like I was in the parking lot of the local seven eleven trying to enjoy the sights and sounds of the ocean in the evening. The last bad thing was that upon entering the room you could detect a foul smell. I guess you get accustomed to it because I only noticed it after leaving then re-entering the room. I would not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review! We do apologize for the light and the AC unit but we hope the quality of the rooms, staff and location made up for any discomfort you may have experienced. We also apologize for the smell said to be experienced, we shampoo the carpets regularly and deep clean as well, this should have not been an issue. If our room inspectors detect any issues with the rooms they call in a carpet cleaning company to address the issue. Thanks again for being our guest, we hope you give us another opportunity to earn your business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floral park, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Ocean City and spent three nights here. I loved the location -- steps from the beach, minutes from the boardwalk, and close to restaurants and shops. The room had a kitchenette, so we were able to make our own breakfast and save a few $$. Front desk was super-friendly and supplied free beach chairs to take to the beach (you can also rent umbrellas and boogie boards for a small fee on the beach). I loved sliding the patio doors back at night to hear the waves crashing on the beach. Parking lot's a little tight, but we never had a problem finding a spot to park each day. We had a 'ocean-side' view, so we weren't facing the water, but being on the top floor, we still had a decent view of the beach and water.

A few cons: The bathroom was small and could use an update. It also wasn't cleaned very well during our stay, but the rest of the room was fine -- in fact, the room smelled very clean and fresh each day (not musty or moldy). The kitchenette could use an update as well. Also, the sliding glass doors were a little difficult to slide open. I also wish the property had central air, as the humming air conditioners make it hard to listen to the surf at times.

For the money, I think it's a great value for families.

Room Tip: Try to get an 'ocean-front' room for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review and thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your vacation special! With full kitchens and a separate guest room, our beachfront suites are similar to that of a one bedroom condo. We do admit that parking is limited, but free street parking is often available when the lot is full. Your comments about our bathrooms have been noted and we will bring them up during our next capital improvement meeting.

Thanks again for all your kind words, we look forward to having you as our guest again in beautiful Ocean City, Maryland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice location on the beach. Ocean front view was nice. Not to far from boardwalk. Front desk girls were polite and friendly. Very clean rooms. I was happy and surprised our room was ready earlier then normal check in. We would come back to this place again. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for staying with us at our beautiful mid-town location and thank you for your great review! Although we only guarantee our rooms to be cleaned and inspected by 4pm, we often times have rooms available sooner. We hope you had a chance to enjoy all the Carousel Group Vacation Package has to offer, and made your way up to 118th st. to enjoy free family photo night, live entertainment and more! Thanks again for your review, we can't wait to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel under new ownership and management for Summer 2009! Located directly on the beach with ocean front rooms & balconies. Newly renovated rooms include flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses, Fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Hotel amenities include outdoor pool, post-checkout changing rooms, complimentary coffee, book & game loans, and a positive smiling staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Atlantic Oceanfront Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.