We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Take 10%
Ranked #37 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Ottsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much fun!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our first vacation in years. Everything was walking distance the room was great. The beach was steps away. No crazy, loud people. I was able to escape from my teens to the tiny crab shack across the street to have a beer and some outstanding little necks and crab legs with my husband and of course bring some back for the kids too. The place was great overall, the only problem was the parking, if someone parked wrong in their spot you were stuck trying to figure out where to park for the night since the front desk can't help you other then to tell you to park at the hotel next door for a fee (that was crazy, I almost lost it) then he managed to sqeeze us in a corner till morning (must have been the look on my face that helped him figure it out). The other issue for some people would be the fact that the pool is not attached to the hotel. We did not care since the beach is steps away but someone with small children may mind having to cross the parking lot entrance to get to the pool. The entire staff was also very nice and respectfull. We all had a great time and we will go back.

Room Tip: You will not be able to see the ocean from any room on the fist floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for choosing us for your first vacation in years! Our quaint hotel is located right next to the 45th st. Village which has a ton of great restaurants. Belly Busters is also a great option which is also just a 5 minute walk away. Unfortunately our parking is limited to one car per room stay, and August is one of the busiest times of the year so we do apologize for any issues which you may have encountered. We pride ourselves on great staff and it makes our day when our guests compliment us on them! We certainly do hope it doesn't take you years to go on another vacation and if you choose to come back to Ocean City we would love to have you as our guest once more! Thanks again for staying with us on beautiful 45th St.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    67
    32
    15
    14
See reviews for
91
51
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful, room was bigger than expected, location perfect. We wish we did not have to leave. The room had a small stove, a refrigerator, and a really nice little deck. This was an impromptu little fishing trip and we will certainly return. Janet at the front desk was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your great review! We hope you caught a couple keepers, you could have had a fish fry in the kitchen in your room! We had a great time last Summer and can't wait to re open in the Spring. Thanks so much for being our guest in beautiful Ocean City MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our 3rd year to Atlantic OceanFront Inn in Ocean City, Maryland and once again it was nice, and relaxing stay. It was an extra surprise to see how they have made some changes for the better! The staff was very professional, friendly and polite. They went out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our room was excellent which was an Oceanfront Balcony View!! The only problem I had was that of the hallways having musty mildew odor. Other than that our stay was nice and would go back again next year. Thanks Janet for your kid words about my son's stay!!! See you next year!!

Room Tip: Rooms with Oceanfront View on 5th floor are the Best Rooms to have!! Beautiful Beautiful Veiw Ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear valued guest, thank you so much for your positive review! We are always making positive improvements to our rooms and hotel. PS That's a great room tip! Thanks again for your review, we look forward to having you as our guest again at our quaint oceanfront hotel on 45th st.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had planned our trip since May of 2012...couldn't wait to get away and relax. Our Motto for the five days was "No Husbands, No Kids, No problems!" and that is exactly what it was. No problems. The room was great ocean front view, the staff was so polite and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We plan on staying here again. Just not during bike week. We were greatful that our hotel was tucked back in off the main road because we didn't hear the bikes, like we did when walking on the main street. Carina and Janet thank you so much for your help and information and getting things we needed ie extra towels because of the 5th person there and the sheets for the pullout sofa! See you again :)

Room Tip: Planning ahead and booking ahead saved us. We walked in the lobby and overheard a couple and the rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We love you motto! Bike week is definitely an interesting time of year! We are so happy you ladies had a great vacation and we cannot wait to have you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is now a hidden gem in Ocean City. The new ownership has made it a very affordable hotel with a great ocean view, and an attentive, friendly, professional staff. Janet at the front desk is especially good, helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear satisfied guest, thank you for your great review! We have made some great improvements since undergoing new management in 2011. We understand the economy may be tough on your vacation budget which is why we have worked hard to maintain an affordable room rate. Thanks again for all your kind words. We can't wait to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My family of 4 just finished a 3 day-2 night stay at the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn. The location was decent, most staff was friendly, but the accommodations were terrible! We rented an ocean front room with a king bed in a seperate bedroom and a queen bed and sofa bed in the other. The sofa covers were soiled, sand was visible on most furniture surfaces, the bathroom sink was half way torn off the wall, the bath tub/shower was rusted in most cracks and corners, the stove had a burner that wouldn't stay down, and the door separating the living areas looked like it had been punched in. In addition, we had to walk thru the bedroom to access the other living area which defeated the idea of privacy. If we used the sofa bed we had to sacrifice access to our ocean front balcany. The main door to our room was difficult to open and close. This was a very disappointing experience and a rip off for the money! Although we made the best of our trip as could, that meant staying out of our close to $350 a nite room/suite...never again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear valued guest, we're sorry your vacation did not exceed expectations. Those rooms have been remodeled recently with new furniture, beds, carpet, paint and flat LCD TV's. Seeing as though our property is directly on the beach, it is possible to encounter some sand in some of the rooms. The sofabed placement was put in place with the assumption that one would probably not use the bed until later in the evening when people would be going to sleep and no longer using the balcony. The suites do only have one separate bedroom, which is completely private, we do not advertise these as having 2 private bedrooms. We hope your next trip to Ocean City exceeds expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great experience at this perfect oceanfront hotel this past Labor Day weekend. We stayed in an oceanfront efficiency with 2 queen beds on the 2nd floor. The view over the ocean in the mornings and during the full moon made this special location worth every penny. The check in process was extremely quick and easy, the room was clean, very private and large with all of the amenities plus a small kitchen. We checked in on Friday, intending to check out on Sunday, but we were having so much fun that we decided to stay another day. When we made our request to add a night to our stay the front desk was extremely flexible and accommodating. We didn't even have to switch rooms! Our room was only steps to the gorgeous beach and it made the walks back and forth so convenient. The hotel pool was small, but warm. very clean and not at all crowded for a holiday weekend. We enjoyed a dip for a change of pace from the beach. Janet at the front desk was pleasant, humorous and very helpful with all of our questions and requests. We absolutely loved this well located gem of an oceanfront hotel and it will be our new go-to property when we stay in Ocean City. Thanks so much for a wonderful holiday weekend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn for your vacation destination this past Labor Day weekend! We do our best to accommodate our guests, and yes, we like to say that we are located directly on the beach! We are so glad you had a great stay and will be staying with us again! Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel under new ownership and management for Summer 2009! Located directly on the beach with ocean front rooms & balconies. Newly renovated rooms include flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses, Fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Hotel amenities include outdoor pool, post-checkout changing rooms, complimentary coffee, book & game loans, and a positive smiling staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Atlantic Oceanfront Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.