We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the beach, but maybe not perfect for families.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the beach, but maybe not perfect for families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I'm actually staying here now with my husband and three small children. We originally checked in to another hotel, but had to leave there..that's a different review. Anyway, the staff is incredible, the room is great for our needs. There was no iron or ironing board and we were told there'd be a DVD player and there wasn't, however; with one mention to the staff and the items were delivered. Still debating whether or not I'd return based on the following reasons: 1. late night drinkers above and next to us the first night that woke my 15 month old several times crying, of course. 2. The girls above us continually going in and out of the room and hearing the sliding glass door all day and into early morning hours. 3. The couple having sex on the balcony above us... Really??? I'm just glad the kids were already in bed. 4. The smell of pot and the coughing from the floor right above us. Again, glad the kids were asleep.
So hotel good, but it'd be nice if families were separate from the other crowds... Not too happy about that. Kind of making me uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the great review! The clientele you experienced are not our norm here at the Atlantic. We do apologize for the loud guest next to your room, we would have been happy to go to the room and kindly ask the other guest to keep the noise level to a minimum had we known. Our hotel The Carousel on 118th st. caters to families more than any other hotel in Ocean City. Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
100
52
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The mildew on the ceiling in the living room area should have given us a clue! Very run down and poorly managed. Not enough parking and the employees could care less. The clock and coffee pot didn't work. And neither did the replacement clock. They gave me a 12 cup coffee pot and 4 cup coffee, (when the maid decided to leave to some, which was only twice during our 5 day stay). And the same the soap and shampoo for the bathroom. The beds were not made, just comforter thrown on top! They gave us dish soap and dish rag, but no drying cloth. The sound on the TV kept going in and out. A family member in another room had a tv that didn't work at all and it was replaced with a 13 inch tv!!! The lone ice machine couldn't keep up with the demand. It really is a shame for a place with such a great location to be so poorly handled. We go to OC every summer and I will guarantee we will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear concerned guest, we're sorry your accommodations did not exceed expectations. As we are direct oceanfront, the amount of humidity from the ocean can sometimes make it possible to encounter mildew. Although mildew is not a common problem, we do take it very seriously and have a professional cleaning company service any areas which may need attendance.


We would have been happy to provide you with more soap, an extra towel, or coffee if you had simply asked a member of our friendly staff.

The flat screen TV's are fairly new and should not have had any issues, and we do apologize if your particular model had malfunctioned. We are going to make a point to have additional units on hand for such an occurrence.

Thank you for your review, we hope you have a great trip on your next family vacation to beautiful Ocean City, MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here in late August and had a nice visit. The room & beds were comfortable. The hotel is in a nice location and has a nice beach area right in front. Having a refrigerator & kitchenette was convenient for drinks, milk & juice for breakfast. TVs and furniture were updated.

The room had some minor drawbacks with a broken door handle & lock in the bathroom. Ceiling fan in bathroom was hanging precariously. Maid service was just so-so as we had to change toilet paper rolls, and no new soap for the bathroom during the week. The outdoor shower had a large accumulation of wet sand that had built up over days if not weeks, making it hard to wash off your feet after returning from the beach.

Both the 45th Street Taphouse Restaurant & Bar & O.C. Steamer's Restaurant were located a block away and we enjoyed them both. Clambake dinner @ O.C. Steamer's was fantastic, and we loved the Taphouse for "Grapefruit Crush" drinks at the outside, bar that had a great band and beautiful sunset view of the bay.

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel, and would stay here again,

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms had great view on the balcony. Try to get a room on the 3rd floor or higher, for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for staying with us and thanks for the great review! We have worked hard so you can enjoy your OC vacation. We have a great location and a great staff. Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valatie, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my first trip ever to Ocean City, MD. I researched a lot of hotels and for the week that I was going this was the best value. I think I got a better deal then some people. I booked in June 2012 and stayed from July 29th- August 3rd, 2012.

The hotel is located right on the beach, 45h Street. It was nice, little dirty out there but I guess it is expected. I liked how the lifeguard gave safety speeches and called people out of the water to hear them.

The hotel is right on the beach bus line which made it easy for traveling up and down the main street. It took about 10-15 minutes depending on traffic to get down to the Boardwalk by bus.The hotel was average. We were on the 3 floor and had a side balcony for a view of the ocean which was fine. The rooms were clean and had a kitchenette. We used the fridge for our drinks etc for the beach. The hotel was older and the halls were painted blue and yellow. The elevator door was fast to close. You had to be quick getting in and out or the door would close on you. Anyways, We were there just to sleep and shower. We were mostly at the beach. The pool closed the early, so no night swimming. I did see the guy checking the pool daily.

There was coffee and juice in the mornings, but we went to Layton's and to a little place just down the street called Satellite. So, don't; expect anything big in the lounge area.

I guess my only complaint would be the room service. We came back from the beach at 5pm and our room was not even done yet. I took at shower around 5:20 and it was room service. So, after my shower I went downstairs to let them know I am ready for them and they were like house cleaning is done for the day. We had this happen 2x where our room was not done and we are already coming back from our beach day. I over heard people at the pool saying the same thing. I think basically all they did was change towels and make beds.

The bed was ok but the other bed kind of sank in the center. Least the TV was updated and was a 32in and flat screen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn. The hotel interior has been newly renovated as of this year and the rooms have new furnishings as of last year. The bed's are one year old and the bed spreads are all brand new. We do apologize about the room service and will certainly be working hard to tighten up our operations. Stay tuned this Winter for great promotions on your next vacation. Thanks again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We've been coming to OCMD since the early 80's and this was by far the most disappointing trip ever!! The hotel was grossly overpriced (we paid over $1400 for 4 nights, the "condo" with "separate" bedrooms was nothing more than an oversized hotel room that certainly didn't have any of the amenities that a condo would have, the cable was out most of our trip, which normally wouldn't be a problem except that it rained most of the trip, we had to actually call housekeeping to ask them to bring clean towels. They would take the dirty ones, but not replace them. They have more rooms than parking spots and that was confirmed by the security guard who works the lot at night. They actually called us on Saturday evening to move our truck, but had no where for us to move it to, so we refused! So then we were afraid to leave the property for fear that we would return and not have a place to park! In addition, this place is located on 45th street and the only thing that is really within walking distance with a 9 & 6 year old was Seacrets (for lunch), otherwise there is nothing around here. As I explained to my 9 year old, when we pay over $1400 for 4 nights, we have a certain level of expectations that tend to be slightly higher, and this place failed miserably!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear concerned guest, we are sorry you felt your stay was less than adequate. Our suites do offer a separate bedroom with a king bed, TV and furniture. These suites have an additional room with two queen beds, full kitchen, dinner table for four and are much like a one bedroom condo; pictures and descriptions are available on our website.

The Comcast issue was resolved ahead of schedule and was a city wide problem. There is nothing the hotel could have done better to resolve this any quicker.

We are truly sorry the weather was inadequate during your stay, this can most always put a damper on your experience.

Unfortunately we do only offer one parking spot per room. We did add 6 spots over the winter but we can still only guarantee one parking spot per reservation. There is plenty of parking in the surrounding areas around the hotel.

The location is in a great area with many family friendly restaurants closer than Seacrets, and within walking distance. The 45th st village is just a few blocks away along with Belly Busters as well. Within a few mile radius one can easily reach all the most popular attractions of Ocean City including Jolly Rogers, Trimpers, the Boardwalk and Northside Park, mini golf and more, without the hustle and bustle or price of staying downtown. This is why our midtown location is so attractive to vacationers.

The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn is priced well under other hotels in our competitive circle and we do pride ourselves on quality assurance. Were sorry the issues of Comcast, weather and mis-conception about surrounding attractions put a damper on your vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place was amazing and I would definetly recommend staying here and plan on returning next year. The staff at the front desk were kind, curtious and always willing to help in any way they could. The rooms were beautiful with a nice size kitchenette, seating area & wonderful balcony(side view) with a view of the ocean and bay. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff did a wonderful job. The hotel is located on the beach which was a plus. The beach was beautiful and well maintained. Also parking was always available which was another major plus. Looking forward to booking my next trip to this wonderful hotel. 5 stars *****

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor. No noise and amazing view of the ocean and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldan, Pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the beach front rooms, and the view and the room were unbelievable. It was only a few feet from the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean. My only complaint was that they were not great on providing helpful info. The check in and check out times could not be found on the site or in the confirmation email. They were posted on the front desk when we arrived, but I had to call a few days ahead of arrival to find out. The pool was kind of small, and closed at 8, which also wasn't posted any where. It would have been nice had the sign said when it opened and closed, but oh well. Other than that the pool was great. The location was also amazing. Everything you need was in walking distance. It was a little expensive for my taste, but it is the middle of the summer and right on the beach. It was absolutely worth it though, and I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thank you so much for the great review, and thanks for choosing The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn as your vacation destination! We pride ourselves on our great staff and fantastic location. Our apologies about the check in/out times and the information requested has been added to our website. We do encourage guests/future guests to contact us via phone or contact form on the website to request any information. The size of our pool is comparable to other hotels in the area. Thanks for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel under new ownership and management for Summer 2009! Located directly on the beach with ocean front rooms & balconies. Newly renovated rooms include flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses, Fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Hotel amenities include outdoor pool, post-checkout changing rooms, complimentary coffee, book & game loans, and a positive smiling staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Atlantic Oceanfront Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.