We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Take 10%
Ranked #36 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn. The hotel is right on the beach. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was very happy & would stay here again. Our room was clean & had everything we needed. The small kitchen was perfect for our family as we had our 3 year old daughter with us. The air conditioner worked great in our room. Housekeeping did a great job keeping the hotel rooms clean & fresh. The location was perfect. The hotel is close to all of the restaurants & shopping. You do need to drive to the boardwalk though.

We stayed here in July 2012. The beach was not crowded in front of the hotel & there was a lifeguard right there. There was also a beach chair & umbrella rental stand right on the beach. The hotel also has beach chairs for there guests to use. This was a bonus for us. We will

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, and thanks for the great review! We work hard to make sure your vacation is one to remember. We thank you again for being our guest and we cannot wait to have you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    31
    15
    14
See reviews for
91
50
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Right on the beach, with nice beds. We definitely slept well. The room was clean with nice carpet and small kitchenette. Restaurants and shopping close by, but a long walk down to the boardwalk where you can pick up the tram to take you down to all the action.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear valued customer, thanks so much for being our guest! We pride ourselves on quality assurance, and go the extra mile to make sure you and your family are well accommodated and comfortable. We can't wait to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family and I love vacationing in Ocean City, MD. We stayed here from July 21-24, 2012. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the view from the balcony was beautiful. There is a life guard stationed on the beach, right in front of the hotel, which made swimming with my 6 yr. old grandson less worrisome. From the moment of our arrival, until check out, we were provided with everything we requested, from extra pillows and blankets, to a late night band-aid request. Janet and Adriana, thank you both so much for making our stay such a pleasurable one. We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, as the sand dunes block the view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for the awesome review of our hotel! We're so glad you chose the Atlantic Oceanfront for your family vacation! Janet and Adriana have gotten nothing but positive reviews and we are fortunate and grateful to have them on our team.

The lower floors are Dune Level room types and although they are the same quality as the Oceanfront rooms, the price difference is significant.

Thanks again for being our guest, we truly do appreciate your kind words and can't wait to have you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here this past May 2012 with some friends for the annual Car Show Weekend, staying from Thursday to Sunday. First off the location is perfect, right on the beach, i'm a sucker for staying ON the beach so I was very happy with the view! We had no issues checking in our room as it was already ready. We had a top floor room so the view was awesome. The room was clean and comfortable and our AC worked great, though it was only in the low 80's all weekend. The room/furniture looked recently updated and the beds were super comfortable. Everything in the room worked fine, the only issue we found in our room was that the shower head was kind of loose, not attached completely to the wall, but it still worked. Whenever we go to OCMD we try to stay as close as possible to Seacrets, and this was only two blocks away from it which was perfect. I was completely satisfied with my stay here and we will be staying here again next May for sure, I highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear valued customer, thanks for the stunning review. It's always a pleasure to hear how satisfied our customers are at this quaint property. We have recently updated the rooms and re modeled our guest lounge and front desk. Our rooms are definitely some of the nicest in Ocean City, especially the Oceanfront rooms. Check back in the off season for great rates and stay tuned for promotions and specials for the 2013 season! Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had an unfortunate booking incident (fraud scam) and found myself looking for a place to stay with my family while in Ocean City. My friend contacted Janet at the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn and she was more than helpful. She was able to find us a room on short notice and saved our vacation. The room was nice, had a private balcony and a full kitchen. The bathrooms were clean and we had a great view of the beach. She was extremely understanding and accommodating and worked to find an available room for us. I have already recommended this property to relatives. Thanks Janet!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor. I believe the 4th and 5th floors have private balconies. The others app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear valued customer, thanks for the great review! We're truly sorry to hear about the fraud but happy to hear that we could help you get nestled into your vacation accommodations here at the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn. We work hard to make sure your vacation is one to remember! Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again!

PS Stay tuned in the off season for promotions for the next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked early in March for a Dune level oceanfront fully realizing we would not be able to see the ocean, but, we did not want to worry about our 16 month old possibly falling off a balcony. As expected no ocean view, but, was disappointed that the rooms are still elevated and have railings preventing direct access to the beach unless you are athletic enough to hop over an approximate 3.5 foot railing with yet another 2 or so feet to go before hitting the ground. Also, all doors except the main entrance are locked at 10PM. This is not unusual for hotels, but, what is unusual is there was no option to unock the other entrances via room key necessetating an extra block walk and treking sand through the lobby.

Check-in at 4:00PM was crowded and check-in was slow given it took about 15 minutes to check-in the 4 parties ahead of us.

On the plus side, I've stayed in probably 8-10 other hotels in Ocean City and the only one nicer was the Hilton which is literally 3 times more expensive. The hotel was remarkedly sand free given it is beach front; I saw housekeeping using the largest, loudest, most powerful vacumn i've ever seen to clean the hallways daily.

The kitchen was just the right size for our needs. The bathroom was kept clean but there were signs of mold developing between the door frame and the shower; again not suprising in an oceanfront property but it will need to be dealt with before it spreads.

As stated in the title, it is a great midtown location, about 10-12 blocks from Jolly Roger Amusement Park and only 3 blocks from Seacrets, not to mention easy and inexpensive bus service to the inlet and boardwalk areas.

Overall, I give this hotel 5 stars based on Ocean City standards. In a non beach areas it would probably be around 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear valued customer, thanks for the great review! We do keep all our doors locked after 10pm for security purposes, not that Ocean City is at all unsafe, but we like to maintain a higher standard. Additionally, the doors that we do lock are about 50ft from the lobby(which is staffed 24-7) so this safety feature is not an inconvenience.

Thanks again for the great review. Sign up for email alerts on our homepage and receive promotions and specials directly to your email. Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Export
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We usually stay at the Carousel most years but were given a very good rate at this satellite property. There were some minor inconveniences: luggage carts were in an atrocious shape, parking spaces were slightly tight, and our air conditioner though maintaining temperature, made a loud sound from sloshing water. But aside from those minor things, our view of the ocean was a ten, the location and proximity to the beach were also a ten, the staff was exceptional, the rate we received was fantastic. If we get an offer similar to this in the future, it will be my new "go-to" place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest, thanks so much for your great review! We are happy to say we have brought down better luggage carts to this property so when you come back you wont have any trouble moving right into your room. Stay tuned for more promotions in the future. You can sign up for great deals on our website, check our social media or reference the specials page online for great deals and events!

Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel under new ownership and management for Summer 2009! Located directly on the beach with ocean front rooms & balconies. Newly renovated rooms include flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses, Fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Hotel amenities include outdoor pool, post-checkout changing rooms, complimentary coffee, book & game loans, and a positive smiling staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Atlantic Oceanfront Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.