We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, great view but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Elkridge, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice, great view but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Was told at time of reservation there were screens in the sliding glass door and it was a private balcony. NO to both. I was very disappointed with that. However the room was nicer than many I've stayed in and the view was wonderful. The staff was nice, but my room was not ready at 4:00 and the second day the maid did not get there until late in the afternoon. Worse thing was there were only 2 laggauge carriers and both were broken. YOU NEED A LEAST 5 WORKING LAGGAUGE CARRIERS FOR 5 FLOORS. It took my husband 5 trips to loads us up. Also parking very tight. But I would still recommand this hotel to others (if they did not have a thing about screens and private balconies like I do)

Room Tip: Ocean FRONT 4 or 5th floor. best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Valued guest, our apologies about the mis communication on the screens which is why we gave you a percentage off your stay. The Oceanfront balcony's do have dividers and are quite private considering you cannot see any other guests in their rooms, nor can they see you. So we are a bit perplexed as to why one might not consider our balconies private.

The rooms at the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn are some of the nicest accommodations in Ocean City and we do pride ourselves in our higher standard.

Your luggage cart comment has been noted and we have currently added several more bell carts for guests to use. We are truly sorry it took your husband so many trips to get your luggage to the room.

Thank you so much for being our guest, and thanks for recommending us. We can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
100
52
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn with my girlfriend for a quick trip to OC in July. We stayed on a Saturday, booked the room two days in advance and paid $200 + tax. This place was a great deal. You get the amenities of booking a full apartment but at the cost of a regular hotel room. It's all one big open layout, but you get a mini kitchen with a fridge, freezer, stove, microwave, kitchen sink, counters stocked with all the necessities, and a counter for prepping food and drinks. We also had a nice balcony with great views of the Ocean. There were two very comfortable beds and a nice bathroom.

I saw a few other reviews about problems with A/C but we did not experience any. It was 100+ degrees during our stay and our room was nice and cold. We even had to turn the A/C down to low it was pumping out so much cold air.

The Location is on 45th Street, so a very easy walk to the OC party spots... Seacrets, Macky's, etc. and it's an easy 10 minute ride down to the Boardwalk. The hotel is practically on the beach, which makes going back and forth from the beach to the Hotel very easy.

Last note, the customer service was excellent. Janet greeted us when we arrived before check in time and stored some of our drinks until our room was ready so they didn't get boiling hot sitting in our car. I hope to make a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Room 208 is an Ocean View room, not an Ocean Front room, but does have a great view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Wow, you really did get a great deal! We like to think that the kitchen is a bonus since many of our guests like to cook on vacation. Its nice to go out but its also nice to have the option.

Thanks for confirming that the A/C works properly, even in a heat wave!

One of the best parts of our hotel is its proximity to the beach. You are right, you can just walk out of the hotel and right onto the beach access. Sometimes people don't believe how close we really are, and since we only have 60 rooms, the beach is never crowded(but look in front of any of the large r hotels on either side to see what were talking about). This is something a lot of people may not consider when booking a hotel - the quality of the beach is sometimes one of the most important aspects of staying in Ocean City.

We thank you for your informative review and can't wait to have you as our guest again in the future!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a great view and we sell them at a discounted rate! They do go quick though, so make your reservation sooner than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here with two of my close friends for our senior week, not so close to the boardwalk, but nothing a short drive or bus didnt fix. It was tucked away just enough to enjoy the peaceful beach and close enough to enjoy the "party" and activities in O.C Our room was tidy and we had a little kitchen complete with stove and oven that was perfect and saved us a ton on food (I specificaly asked for the kitchen but the extra 10$ a night was worth it). The staff was nice and always answered any questions we had, Jan at the front desk greeted us and was so helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for staying with us on your safe and memorable senior week. Congratulations on your accomplishments in graduation. Thanks for the great review, we hope you choose to stay with us next time you want an escape to beautiful Ocean City MD.

We can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful view of the beach clean room. No need to look anywhere else this is the place to stay. We will definitely be back. Thank you all for an awesome vacation

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear valued customer, thank YOU for the excellent review! We will always do all we can to make sure your vacation is one to remember. We hire great staff and make sure everyone extends a warm smile on your vacation. We can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Thanks for staying with the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Staff were accommodating and friendly. No complaints about that at all. However, our room,s ac was not able to cool down our room on a 90 deg weather, really uncomfortable and muggy...airconditioning is one of the most crucial reasons for staying in a hotel and enjoying a vacation....one of the staff provided us with a fan upon request which was somhow helpful but i didnt pay for a fan over a poorly workin ac....it was colder in the hallway we wanted to crash there...roon ac needscto be updated...again tnx to the guy who gave us the fan. Also when we checked in, the room smelled like burnt "mexican" food or something....i suggest a pkug in glade shld be in every full efficiency room to help oust the smell of food from the previous occupants. Febreze maybe? The housekeepers shld spray the room to make it smell clean for the next occupants who saved hard earned vacation money for a supposed enjoyable stay in an inn called atlantic ocean.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear customer, we absolutely understand your complaints about the Air Conditioning. You stayed during a severe heat wave where the heat index was well over 100 and unfortunately the room units can only do so much. Your complaint has been noted and we are investigating the problem to make sure each unit is clean, running well, and has enough coolant to work properly - there should have been no reason the hallway was cooler than your room.

The rooms are sprayed with cleaner and disinfectant when they are cleaned and apologize if a previous guest left the room smelling of food. Unfortunately the plug in air fresheners are a terrible fire hazard and we have decided long ago to avoid them.

Thanks again for being our guest, we hope to see you again in beautiful Ocean City Maryland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerhill, Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was a great hotel!!! For my family it was a great location. I have an 8 and 5 year old and this was perfect. Nancy, at the front desk was awesome, very helpful and very polite. We had an oceanfront room and the view was beautiful. The room was neat and clean. I without a doubt, stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for being our guest, and thank you for the positive review! We will be sure to let Nancy know of your kind words. The pictures you took were also fantastic! We can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, and I was extremely satisfied! You can't beat the incredible views from the ocean front units. The rooms were very clean, and the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and very professional! You can't beat the location, it's far enough away from the boardwalk that it's a very family friendly safe feeling hotel, but it's close enough that everything you want or need is within a few minute drive! They even have free beach chair rentals so you don't have to pack your own! My daughter and I took advantage of the pool just about every day we were there. We'd spend mornings on the beach, go site seeing in the afternoons, and then head to the pool in the evenings. I will definitely return to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn for our family vacation in OC MD next year!

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront unit on the third floor. The view was absolutely spectacular, and it was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We know we're doing our jobs right when our customers return year after year. We work hard, so you don't have to. We think that our location is the best in Ocean City since its on an great beach north of the boardwalk and south of the high rises. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Thanks again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel under new ownership and management for Summer 2009! Located directly on the beach with ocean front rooms & balconies. Newly renovated rooms include flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses, Fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Hotel amenities include outdoor pool, post-checkout changing rooms, complimentary coffee, book & game loans, and a positive smiling staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Atlantic Oceanfront Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.