We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rodeway Inn Oceanfront
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Oceanfront to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29th St. on the Ocean, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Came here as a family, hotel on beach is about the only good thing about it. The elevator to go up almost cuts your arm off, it is so quick to shut and it doesn't stop. We asked for a crib for the baby and they brought a crib from like 1990? It was rocking back and forth unsteady about to collapse with a mattress 3 times too small for it with holes in it! I called and asked for a new crib lady was cranky about it but said they would look. Kid came with new one still not good but better than what had earlier, but decided it was unsafe and didn't put baby in it. The Air conditioner had mold clearly all over it, it smelled bad in the room. Very small. Thin thin walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    52
    35
    18
    17
See reviews for
49
40
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location being close to the ocean. Great price in the off season. Hotel room was very run down. Not very clean. Nice indoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

You can't beat the location. It was so nice to park your car and leave it there for a few days, as it is walking distance from many things. However, at the rodeway, nothing seemed to work correctly from the start. We booked an oceanfront room online, only to be told upon arrival that our room wasn't available, due to an issue with our credit card (not my fault...just a technical glitch). I had received no email or any other notification of the problem. The manager was quite rude about it, but at least there was another room available. So we ended up with a room in the motel building, but the bright side was the cheaper rate. The elevator is dirty and a little scary. The building is in serious need of upgrade. Cleaning is shoddy at best. We received a 6am wakeup call that we did not request! On the 2nd day of our stay, both of our key cards mysteriously stopped working. When I took them to the desk, I was told it was probably my fault, because I surely kept them next to a cellphone or credit card. As it turned out, the batteries in the sensor had died, which they did replace promply. The air conditioner was on its last legs and was caked with dust or some mystery substance...it did not keep the room very cool. We had a lot of difficulty getting & maintaining a wifi connection. Two out of the three lights didn't work. But I do feel with a little effort & some basic upgrades, along with some lessons in customer service, this hotel has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I just spent 4 days @ Roadway Inn and had a great experience. The room over looked Baltimore Ave. which was quiet compared to Coastal Hwy. We enjoyed the traffic and tourists going by. In the over night hours we never heard any noise. Our housekeeper did a fantastic job on the 2nd floor. And the cont breakfast was plentiful. The office staff was friendly. And for the money we received a lot more than we could imagine at this busy time of year. We plan to stay here again. And pass along the good word as to where to stay while visiting OCMD. I can't say enough about our Roadway Inn experience. But I'll stop and hope you get the idea.



  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

The room was absolutely disgusting. There was hair everywhere, on the microwave, on the tv, pubic hair on the toilet and on the pillow!!!! Something sticky and brown was on the shower and on the bathroom floor. Something had splashed all over tv and the cleaning crew, if they even exist, didn't think these were important items to clean. We called the front desk to inform them of the room's condition and they sent someone up. We showed him all of these issues and we asked if the room had actually been cleaned. His response was "it should have been." We requested the dirty items be cleaned and the sheets changed in front of us and he said "or I could just give you your money back." Really!? We drive far to get here and there are no other rooms available on such late notice. We just requested again that they just adequately clean the room. He said he would send someone else to do it and we are still waiting a half an hour later....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

2nd stay at this hotel and very pleased with everything. Stayed overnight with the wife just for a quick getaway and it was very enjoyable. Got down early able to park the car at the hotel and use changing rooms to use beach before checking in, so we saved on parking meters. Was able to leave car again after checkout to do same. Centrally located downtown 29th so it's close to the boardwalk. Nice oceanfront rooms with balcony. Staff was very good. The only thing I would fault them on is the breakfast, very minimal selection. Would use place again

Room Tip: never stayed on street side but oceanfront rooms with balcony above 1st floor both times have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I booked online and the bill was $77.34. When I checked out. The bill was $82 something. They has charged me for miscellaneous and safe warranty. I asked them what was those charges for? They gave me an example for miscellaneous (electricity). So, I said, Isn't that part of the room rate? The safe warranty charge. They can't give me a good explanation either. They said those are valid charge. They said they are done talking about it and I told them I'm not done talking. They told me to leave or they will call the cops. I said. "go ahead, call the cops". The cops showed up and told me to leave. If you want them to call the cops on you, be my guess and stay at that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Oceanfront

Address: 29th St. on the Ocean, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Rodeway Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.