We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Malorie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Malorie to your Saves list
Coconut Malorie
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 59th Street on the Bay, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful; the lobby was well-kept and carpet throughout the hotel had just been replaced. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay and Fagers Island and offered spectacular sunsets! Bed was comfy, as was the couch. The bathroom was very spacious, we just wish there was a fan to help displace the steam. We also enjoyed the fitness and billiards room. Overall, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    39
    39
    45
See reviews for
52
88
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totowa, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

From the outside, the area is not maintained well. Construction all around. When we arrived and walked inside, it looked very nice. But once we walked to the elevator we noticed that things were not looking so good. The brass is all tarnished and has not been polished in forever. We took the elevator to the 3rd floor and when the doors opened, there were no rugs. Renovations, Ok I can deal with that, but as we walked to our room our shoes where sticking to the floor as if we were stepping on gum, we see the painters with the radio on and very polite.

We get to our room and it seems kinda hot, so I tried to turn on some air but it did not work (air conditioner is shut down for the winter), could not control the heat at all. The furniture is falling apart and the dresser in the bedroom has only one handle to open the drawer and the headboard is cracked. Now to the bathroom. The bathroom is outdated and the shower area has mildew building up. The bedroom phone does not work and you can only get a good WiFi connection in the bedroom only. The remote only works to change the channel but you have to get up to turn the TV on and off. The sofa is covered with a couch cover and it has stain on it. Seems like the maintenance department is not doing their job.

We spoke with another guest and asked them for their opinion and the look she gave us was disappointing. She was not happy. She complained about something in her room and no one came to fix it.

Its Friday night, they should wrap it up soon right?. No not until 8:00 pm and the echo and the voices could be heard everywhere through our walls. Now its 7:30 pm on Saturday night and the renovations are still going. It seams to me that this hotel does not take into consideration that people are here to enjoy a vacation, not deal with renovation all weekend long. Especially after hours.

The staff is very nice and really cant complain about them. They were very helpful with our questions.

If I knew renovations were being done, we would not have booked here. Dont get me wrong, I know this has to be done, but 7 days a week and have to deal with the environment of it. Not for me.

Room Tip: Bay side is the best view and the sunsets are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Coconut Malorie several times during the 90s and thought of it as the best of the best in Ocean City. Big rooms, great service, and we could walk to Fagers Island, where we enjoyed the nightlife.

Fast forward to 2014, on our annual January trip to Ocean City, we thought we'd spend a bit more than usual and go back there. Unfortunately, it did not pan out well. The rooms, while still large, had not been updated at all since our last visit, save for the TV which probably dated back to 2002 and didn't work. The fixtures in the bathroom were rusty and dated and the toilet barely flushed. The mattress was uncomfortably firm as well. The sliding door to the balcony wasn't very tight and we could hear the wind quite loudly. It was pretty disappointing.

However, things got worse when the hotel lost power (seemed to be confined to two blocks of OC) during some rain. Then it started raining in our hotel room around the sliding door/window I mentioned above. To top it off, we heard LOUD banging and voices down the hallway, which we thought was maintenance working on something, but when I went into the hallway, I learned it was a domestic situation where a guy was busting up the room and the police came to haul him away.

The weather, power outage, and police acticity was NOT the hotel's fault, of course, although it made our choice clear that we needed to go somewhere with power, working tv, that was quiet and not raining in the room. The front desk clerk was understanding and agreed the reverse the charge, although I will be very relieved once I see the transaction clear. We went back to Holiday Inn Express, which is very nice, accomodating, and less expensive with breakfast included.

Room Tip: I would actually recommend another hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hope mills, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just met our family half way for New years / christmas at the Coconut Malorie, just arrived home yesterday. All of our rooms were very nice! Comofortable! quiet! (well besides us and our family i think at times we were pretty loud) All the staff was very nice, even house cleaning! The stay was great! We had a large family there and it went wonderfully!!!!! NOT ONE COMPLAINT. NOT ONE BUG. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN and they dont make pizza so that might have been an issue someone had with whoever they ordered from who delivered! :( loved our stay thank you coconut malorie

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We came to this resort the weekend after Christmas for our daughter's birthday. Great time, but the rooms need to be updated and the maintenance staff needs to be aware when people are in the room instead of just barging in w/out knocking!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel thanks to some leftover RCI points. The lobby was very nice and decorated for Christmas. Our room was clean but needed updating. The carpet in the bedroom showed signs of wear, and the tile in the rest of the room was old and needed updating. There was a musty smell to our room which was cured by opening the patio doors for a few minutes. The heat/air did not seem to work so our room was in the mid-upper 70s during our stay. The walls are very thin - we could hear the people in the room next to us and even hear their conversations. The water pressure in the shower was not great. However, the water was nice and hot. The "kitchen" consisted of a refrigerator, two stove top burners, and a microwave. There were place settings for four which was nice for morning breakfasts and snacks. The deadbolt on our door did not function. When I mentioned it to the front desk clerk, he told me they were supposed to automatically lock after the door was shut?

WiFi signal was average in our room. Internet did not work at times during peak hours, but was good when most people are sleeping or not in their rooms.

We also were charged a $35 "cleaning fee" because we used RCI points. It probably would've been cheaper to just book a room at the hotel rather than use RCI points after the RCI booking fee and the cleaning fee.

A few updates and some TLC is needed, but our stay was comfortable and we enjoyed our weekend in Ocean City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We did an off-season weekend stay on our way south. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the lobby was nice. However, the rooms were not well-maintained or clean.

We took a studio over a 1 bedroom because the 1 BR only had a queen bed, while the studio had a king. On the way to our room, we killed a cockroach in the hallway.

It was less then I was hoping for: poor water pressure in shower, grungy floors, loose fixtures, musty smell, and broken doors & curtains. Overall, the place is dated and a bit shabby. Also had to put up with noise from late night partiers at the Fager's Island bar next door.

On the plus side, the coffee in the lobby was good. :)

If you have a choice, look elsewhere. Otherwise, it'll do in a pinch.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Malorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Malorie

Address: 200 59th Street on the Bay, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Malorie 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Malorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Malorie Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Malorie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.