We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Douglas, MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Typically we stay on the boardwalk, but a friend I traveled with has stayed here in the past without problems. Needed something cheaper, so here we come! Reservations were booked online and was a smooth as can be. Got a good rate which was almost half of the boardwalk hotel. Check in was smooth, although they do have a late 4pm check in time. Driving 400+ miles I do like to leave early for less traffic, so that means arrival early and you have to wait if your room isn't ready yet. I found this site after booking and got nervous after reading some of the negative reviews. I got up to the room and eveything looked fine, clean, and in place. During the stay, housekeeping had the rooms made up early and quickly. The food at Lennys was great. We ate there more than we expected since we liked it, the price was reasonable and the serving size was plentiful. The nachos, chicken fingers, and burgers were great. Todd the bartender, who I think was just starting there made an awsome Long Island Iced Tea. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay. The other positive comments you read here I did experience. The staff was very friendly, front desk at check in/out were very social, and walking by the staff or meeting them in an elevator they always greeted. I wish I could remember their names to give them the credit they deserve. The only complaint I do have is with housekeeping. Whoever cleaned the rooms the first few nights was very tight on soap and shampoo. Once one is opened, it should have been replaced with another one. That didn't happen. We found ourselves chasing some down a few times. Towards the end of the week, someone different must have been doing the cleaning since everything was filled properly. Even the toilet paper end was neatly folded back. Overall, it was a nice place to stay, with issues to really complain about. I would have no problem coming back and staying there again!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrissA1, Gail Lawn, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate you taking the time to do so, and hope to see you on your next visit to Ocean City. Even if your just passing through, stop by Lennys Beach Bar & Grill, we'll keep a seat open for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    215
    108
    47
    29
See reviews for
225
138
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

I have stayed at the Clarion for the past 6-7 years during the Bar Convention. There is a reason that we (I personally have no part in that decision) return every year. Service is very good. My family always stays in a condo next door but is owned/managed by the Clarion and these are way, way more than adequate. The decor is hotel chic as opposed to what you may expect renting an individuals condo, but it is very comfortable. Problems are dealt with promptly when they occur. Pools are filled with kids having fun. The beach is out the back door. Restaurant is pleasant. Drinks are cold. It is the beach and the hotel does not pretend to be a Mandarin Oriental. So, the costs are reasonable, rooms are clean, food is good, now if they could just control the weather!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrissA1, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We enjoy having the State Bar convention here and hope you do not out grow our facilities.

Thank you for your patronageand we hope to see you next year and we will do our best to guarantee Sun Shine.


Gail Lawn
Clarion Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brick nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed here for three days...a great experience...the beach bar was a blast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrissA1, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We like happy guests. Our beach bar is open every day till Labor Day with live bands.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel was awesome. Indoor and out door pools along with a private beach. The bartenders and serves will come around and take your order while you are lounging by the pool and they are very friendly. Every employee that walked by me smiled and greeted me. The room was big and had a microwave and mini fridge so we could bring our own lunch meat and snacks and saved money that way. They also had live bands inside and out that were great! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrissA1, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy that you found our hotel to be awsome and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Gail Lawn
Clarion Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed for just one night on Memorial Day weekend on a lark and were so happily surprised to discover this gem of a getaway resort. Indoor and outdoor pool w/hot tub. Chaise lounge bar and food service. Steps to a beautiful beach. Clean, large very comfortable rooms. Reasonably priced gift shop. Top notch seafood and prime rib buffet followed by a fun live band that played every request we had. We danced the night away. Best of all was the very friendly BUT excellent customer service from every staff member we encountered. And PET friendly.

Well done!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrissA1, manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you when you next visit Ocean City. We have live bands seven days a week, inside and outside, during the summer months, plus our famous seafood buffet. So ccome on down and dance every night away.

Gail Lawn
Clarion Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We really enjoyed the location directly on the beach - an immediate hit with the kids. The new outdoor pool was an added plus even though it's pretty small. Loved the live afternoon band. The food at the outdoor grill was plentiful and tasty. Some drawbacks were the cramped parking area, tiny dog park, the unfriendly front desk staff, and the excessive room rate. The rooms (beds, furnishings, bathrooms) have not been updated in many, many years and it shows very well. Was appalled that they wanted to charge me to use the fitness center. We'd return only because we can bring our 4-legged family member.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrissA1, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry you had some drawbacks. Hopefully, I can clear some issues for you.

As for parking, we do offer Free parking to all guest and free valet parking Memorial Day weekend thru September. We do have ample space to handle a full hotel plus a large lot across the street to handle any over flow.

We regret it if you felt the front desk staff to be unfriendly, and I do apologize for this. We appreciate your comment and it will be reviewed with the appropriate staff.

Regarding our rates, we are competitive with other hotels in the area that offer simular services. We do offer many specials and packages, such as our summer fling package which you can check out on our web site.

As for our Health Spa, if you noticed, is not a small room with a couple of pieces of equipment as most properties offer. We have a fully equipped exersize room, a fully equipped weight room, steam room, sauna, ecupyptis room, large whirlpool and a shower & locker area. We have a paid staff who oversee the equipment and assist the guest and Spa members.

Again, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you and your 4-legged family member on your next visit to Ocean City.

Gail Lawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

I have read several of these reviews for the Clarion and I have also been someone who has tried other pet friendly hotels in the area and have chosen to come back here summer after summer. I have to say, some of what people are saying on here is absolutely true and other things (most the negative)I haven't experienced at all. But all in all, I deal with the things that weren't perfect. I'll share what i have experienced----

When you pull into the parking lot (small, cramped-I have a large SUV) you can drive your car right up to valet to the door-- I normally don't do this if there is parking I can find, but it comes in handy on crowded days --the lot is crowded in summer....and except for a small tip for the person running to get your car-- it is free. I think this is great for this type of hotel! The decor of the lobby could be updated--but I am not staying in the lobby....so... I am not as concerned with that. The elevators on a busy check out day were very slow. on a normal day they are ok. all in all, the staff-- I can't complain about. If we asked something, they got it or answered us. We were excited to explore the hotel on our first vacation there, and we went to each of the places to check them out. In short, the indoor pool is smaller and crowded with alot of kids in summer and noisy,(a kids automated toy torpedo got stuck in my long hair on one occasion---but we had a laugh --after it was out!) lol... but its great in off season. The gym is fine, equipment is decent. Lots of choices of equipment --which is nice. The sauna, hot tub and tanning booth of which we tried out is OK- verrry humid that whole area and the hot tub is in a place off to itself-- kinda odd. I wouldnt go in there by myself and everytime I went in there, people were in it... so we never got to actually use it. My BF and I thought the steak and seafood buffet was very good for the price. The dining room a bit dated...but that's something we could deal with.....There's a little bar area in where the indoor pool is and service was minimal when we went one time. nothing spectacular...but not atrocious either.... The indoor bar was ok.....nothing major. The outdoor grill has limited hours--so we only got to use it once...as it rained when we went last time. The beach is awesome as its right outside the back... they even have a little shower stand so you can wash your feet off before coming back into the hotel.

the pet poo and pee area is very small-but adequate... my little puppy is litter box trained soooo...there is also dog park that you can register for online on 94th street i think...
I've only had one issue one time with a pet friendly room smelling like urine and i immediately called the front desk and they switched rooms fairly quickly. I feel things are "adequate" but decent, not the worst place I have ever stayed ---or the best. I don't need a huge bathroom, just one that I feel is clean. I have never had issue with the linens looking dirty--and that would freak me out. the balconys off the room are small...two people can fit comfortably...but you do get a decent side view of the ocean and the crashing of the waves...

In closing, I guess I like that the Clarion has amenities that I place value in, such as decent smelling room, clean, pet friendly, nice buffet, close to the beach, beach view, away from the hustle and bustle, indoor pool, buffet, valet, outdoor grill service, oh and I forgot beach service (limited but ok service-he could have come more often for drink refreshing,lol) There are only a few other pet friendly hotels in OC, and I wouldn't stay at them....for what I get here, I am satisfied....going again soon! Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.