We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chestertown, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed a weekend in early February and found the staff was very helpful and the room was very nice. We also found the restaurant was very nice and the food was good. I purchased this weekend at a silent auction during a Maryland Fire Chiefs Golf Tournament. I would like to THANK the ownership for your participation in the tournament.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
On behalf of the owner and the management team, you are very welcome for our participation in the tournament, and we thank YOU for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    208
    104
    47
    29
See reviews for
222
131
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here after purchasing a Groupon Getaway deal. The deal we bought was for a room with two double beds. It was a bit of a disappointment to stay here. We stayed in room 1601. When we got to our room, we checked out the beds. The beds were covered in something that felt like crumbs or sand. We decided to just brush it off instead of calling the desk. The room itself was average at best...the balcony is more of just a ledge with a railing, so if you're afraid of heights, I would suggest not going outside on it. The balcony was also very small...no room for a chair, and only two people can be on it at one time, if standing sideways. The heater/ac unit had massive amounts of condensation on it. There was also gum stuck under the counter in the bathroom, and the electrical outlet in the bathroom did not work. It would have been nice to have been able to dry my hair with the hair dryer since it was only in the 30s outside. When we checked out on Sunday, I told the woman (Valerie) that the electrical outlet was not working in the bathroom, and she just kind of shrugged it off. The beds and sofa were also very uncomfortable.

I guess one positive was that even though it is a pet friendly hotel, we did not hear any barking during the entire stay, nor did we see any hair or messes on the floor. We did see a man let his large dog pee all over the wall outside of the main lobby door, which then spread unto the main walkway leading into the hotel. The only noises we heard were those of screaming children outside our room on both Saturday and Sunday morning around 7am, which we found sort of odd since our room was all the way at the end of the hallway.

I would suggest spending your money somewhere else.

Green Features: I didn't see any of these practices done myself, but I applaud them on trying to be environmentally aware.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I'm sincerely sorry for the issues you encountered and that you were unhappy with your accommodations. The room you were in is being renovated the week of April 6, 2014. Balconies off the hotel rooms are called standing balconies, and they offer a view of the ocean to one side, and the bay to the other; they are always advertised as such. If you prefer a large balcony and a more direct view of the ocean, we do offer oceanfront suites next door to the hotel. I hope you'll consider returning to the Clarion Resort to experience our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I attended a conference at the Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel and was overwhelmed by the helpfulness of the front desk staff and the facilities. The conference rooms were roomy, our hotel room was nice, except that we were near the generators on the roof which was rather noisy, but other than that we were very pleased with the cleanliness and friendliness. When the conference was over we inquired about a room higher up to get away from the mechanics on the roof and were told about the condo's next door and we were able to get a great condo and the remainder of our stay was luxurious and relaxing. Definitely did not want to leave. Plan to go to this year's conference and enjoy the same relaxing time as before. Thanks Clarion!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
You're welcome! And thank you very much for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

No boardwalk but very accommodating for stitching conference I attended. Rooms were large and clean and housekeeping was pleasant. Parking is very tight but there is a supplemental lot across the street which means crossing many lanes of traffic by foot

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We appreciate your patronage and your comments. Parking can be tight at certain times of the year, but if you park across the street, there is a crosswalk one block north of the lot, which we encourage everyone to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Myself and a friend went down the ocean the day after Christmas 2013 with our dogs.
We only stayed 2 nights but had a great time. The room was nice and clean no dog odor beds were comfy pillows soft. There was sort of a balcony kind of a wedge you could step out on and see the ocean and bay side. The view of the ocean was good. The dog floors are 4th and 5th floors. There is a place to take your dogs out to relieve themselves with bags and and a place to through it away. Being off season we could take the dogs on the beach. The hotel is right on the beach with easy access. There is a small fridge, a microwave individual coffee and tea, an ironing board and a blow dryer. Our first night we ordered pizza from the flyer in the room book with info on hotel and room service etc. we both thought it was very good.
We also went to the festival of lights. You can take your dog on the tram to see the lights no charge for dogs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for the comments, and we're so glad you and your furry family enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a nice and clean hotel that I stayed this winter. We used conference facilities which is okay. There is no boardwalk near the hotel. There is a nice and big restaurant within the hotel but no coffee place.There is a pool inside too. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We're glad you were happy with our accommodations, and appreciate the post. We're five miles from the boardwalk; the town buses can take you there and everywhere in town for $1 per ride, or $3 for the whole day! Also, in season we have an outdoor heated pool right near Lenny's Bar and Grill. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Guest rooms were clean and well appointed. Well supplied each day. Food and beverage areas are amongst the best I have experienced in Ocean City. Seafood buffet is worth the visit. Live entertainment was an excellent touch. Banquet space updated

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We definitely appreciate the recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.