We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 Year Class Reunion *** This was the perfect place to host our event!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Hot Deal
Ranked #30 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“15 Year Class Reunion *** This was the perfect place to host our event!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I hosted our 15 year high school reunion at the Clarion. Kay Windsor & staff were wonderful!! The hotel & staff could not have been more accommodating! To save money on our event we decided to have our reunion on the same night that “On The Edge Band” was playing in the club area. We enjoyed drinks & our own music around the pool area & were granted use of their bar area. The hotel assigned 2 employees for our event & they made our affair so personal! The cabana rooms here are worth the extra money! We ordered food off the dinner menu as well as room service in the morning. I have not one thing to complain about! The staff exceeded our expectations in every way possible. We had a total of about 40 guests attend the event & everyone commented on how much fun they had. Thanks again Kay & Clarion Staff!!

Room Tip: Cabana rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the Clarion Resort to host your reunion. We agree that Kay and the banquet staff do outstanding work; thank you for recognizing that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    175
    89
    42
    27
See reviews for
182
113
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hughesville, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently was married to the love of my life in Ocean City this pass September. The wedding was held at a condo complex so the majority of our guests stayed at the Clarion. Our experience was nothing short of Fantastic!!! The rooms very spacious and accommodated our guests perfectly, especially some of them who decided to stay four to 6 deep lol. The rooms were very clean and the Clarion also gave us a nice group rate since most booked in advance.

******************************* HOTEL STAFF WAS AWESOME************************************
As a dog owner again were very pleased to see that the clarion is a dog friendly hotel. Most hotels that are "dog friendly" usually just allow the dog to stay but are horrible.. for example if your dog barks when left in the room, most hotels will just call and say you need to come get the dog and if it continues then they will kick you out of the hotel. So the day of my wedding I ran into a house keeper and explained that he was going to be barking and I will not be able to come back, she immediately said let me see what I can do, after a couple minutes she called my back and said for me to bring him down, The staff watched my schnauzer the whole night until we came back, they took him for walks in the private hotel owned dog park and everything!!! We couldn't be any happier with our experience and will only stay at the clarion in the future!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We're glad to have been a part of your wedding experience, and are happy that you and your guests enjoyed your accommodations. Best of luck and happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came to Ocean City without reservations and just saw the rooms available sign.. Clarion is a good name so we decided to try a room. We couldn't have gone to a better place if we'd tried. We got an end room on the 12th floor. Beautiful views of the ocean. The balcony is tiny and too small for chairs but it offers one fantastic view. The room had a large king which is comfortable and wifi and cable. There's also a microwave, small refrig/freezer and coffee maker. The room was clean. We stopped at the hotel bar for some wine and beer I had chicken quesadia and my husband has jumbo shrimp. It was absolutely delicious and the bartender was friendly and enjoyable. Later that night we ate at the on site oceanfront restaurant Horizons. We both had NY Strip which was so tender and cooked perfectly. It is October so I imagine this place is packed during the in season, if I lived in the area I'd come here for a great steak dinner out anytime. The next day we decided to try out the indoor pool, fitness center, sauna, steam room and spa. The fitness center is great two rooms with enough equipment for anyone. the other fitness room had the weights and many other weight machines. We had everything to ourselves, the spa was hot relaxing and clean. The steam room was like nothing we've ever tried before. The eucalyptus steam room was being worked on. The pool was just the right temperature and on a different level then the whole spa fitness area which is nice. All in all this place is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed, but I doubt we could afford the in season prices not that it hasn't spoiled me now for other hotels. There's a bar area in the pool area and also outside beach front. These areas were of course closed with time of year but this is probably the hottest place to be on the beach during the summer season and I can see why. Thanks Clarion for a fantastic couple days.

Room Tip: I loved our room, it was at the ocean end on the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We're very happy you had a great time with us. Check out our website to see the different specials we offer. You may be surprised at how affordable a summer vacation here can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and had a blast! Hotel has a ton to offer. I loved sitting on there private beach getting alcohol served to us and listening to the live bands!! Definitely would stay here again!! Every room has a wonderful view of the ocean. Ocmd was over all a great place to vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again soon. We're proud of the renovations we've done since you were here last, and we'd love for you to see them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stay here once a year in the off season and never have any complaints. Some of the rooms are a little dated but I think they are working on renovating. The pool is nice and the Thanksgiving and Easter buffets are very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We're happy to report that not only have we started guestroom renovations (60 this year, and the balance in the next off season); but we are in the process of redoing our lobby. Pictures of the remodel can be found on our facebook and instagram pages. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Clarion Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Rooms were dated, musty smelling, the too familiar bathroom sink and shower did not drain. Poor/ slow wireless internet service. Had to move furniture to find outlets for charging. However, the convention center for meetings was very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We appreciate all of our guests' opinions, and to that end, I'm happy to inform you that we have been busy making many renovations this winter. We are in the process of redoing the lobby, and 60 of our guestrooms. The balance of guestrooms will be completed in the next off season. Please visit our facebook and instagram pages for photos of our progress. Thank you for your patronage and we hope you visit up again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a corvette event and we were not happy at all. The parking was insane, the hotel booked a wedding event the same time as the convention. When the group came back almost all the parking spaces were taken up by the wedding party. The food that was prepared by the hotel was overpriced and DRY. At $30.00 a person the fried chicken should have been falling off the bone, instead it was dry and mostly wings, the breasts were cut up into small pieces that were hard to find. For dessert we had cupcakes. This hotel will not get my hard earned dollar anymore.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I'm sincerely sorry that you didn't enjoy staying with us during the convention this year; we always enjoy hosting the group. We do have a satellite lot across the street for extra parking, with a crosswalk a block away, which we encourage people to use for their safety. We did have a wedding here that same weekend, with more than half the attendees staying overnight with us. We appreciate all of our guests, and the groups that trust us with their patronage.

I do hope that you let your server know the pieces of chicken you had were too dry for your tastes. Regarding the food, to be clear, the approximation of $30 was for an all-you-can-eat buffet that included the Maryland Fried Chicken, but also included Spicy Steamed Shrimp, Maryland Crab Soup, Baked Ziti, a Starch, Vegetables, Rolls and Butter, Coffee, Hot Tea, Iced Tea, and Assorted Desserts. The figure also included gratuity.

I do hope you will reconsider and stay with us again when you come to town. Whatever your decision, we wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion
Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#25 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.